We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to ao nang bars and restaurants!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J. Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added J. Hotel to your Saves list
J. Hotel
23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very close to ao nang bars and restaurants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night before we went to koh lanta. Room was very big and clean. They have a communal computer you can use which was useful as their wifi didn't work all the time. All in all I would return for a few more nights as the location was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
13
66
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here twice while visiting the Thai islands. The first time was much better than the second. The good - the rooms with a view out are nice, clean and spacious. The bad - the rooms without a view are dark, and the one we had was overpriced for what it was. My issue with this hotel is the staff - they are friendly when they want your money to book anything, or to check you in - but completely useless if you have a problem. The wifi wouldn't work for me so I asked if they could help - I was just told by the staff at the front counter that 'mine works' and then ignored. When I asked again they said the wifi works - sometimes, and sometimes it doesn't - try and use the wifi of the hotel next door!! Their attitude was terrible, the staff just talked to each other in thai and laughed about it. I wouldn't stay here - simply because if you have any issues they just don't care - for the money I'm sure there is much better in Ao nang.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

J Hotel was perfect for the semi-budget/mid-range traveller looking for basic accommodations. But if you’re looking for perfection or a “western equivalent” hotel experience, this is not your place. It’s got AC, fridge, TV. Nothing fancy, but comfortable. Great location near the beach (5 min walk) and near good street food and bars. It’s perfect for the price – We paid 900 b or like $30 Canadian.
The girl up front was very helpful and always smiling. The man (manager) was also quite helpful as his English was pretty good. We booked a boat trip and our ferry to Lanta through the front desk and both were seamless.
Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel did not have our reservation! Although we had booked through Agoda and fully paid for it. After a lot of discussion, we were offered the sister hotel J. Mansion. We had to lug our heavy baggage all the way up 4 floors as the hotel did not have a lift.

The rooms were nice and clean with all basic amenities provided. The staff were helpful and very informative. Breakfast is available at additional costs. Very close to the beach and right in the middle of the main shopping and dining area. There is a scooter for hire shop just next to the hotel.

Please note: You are not allowed to enter the hotel with you footwear. You will need to leave them at frontdesk whenever you get back to your rooms. You are allowed to carry them back only in the night once the front desk is closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in OCtober'2011. Came to Krabi for my honeymoon with my wife. The manager and his staff are all very helpful with directions and recommendations. Room is very clean, spacious and wehave the sea-view room.
This hotel wasn't really very expensive and was right smack in the shopping streets.
Very convenient to get food and to order your tours for the next day.
I will definitely stay here again the next time I go to Krabi again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, room 203.Fast and efficient check in, Rooms large, clean and well serviced.Good sized south facing balcony with sea glimpses and views of the rock formations.Centrally located and very good value for money considering AO Nang prices. Lady on reception and travel desk very helpful. No noise at all at night very peaceful nights sleep

Room Tip: room 203. very large, good sized bathroom, light, Excellent balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for five nights. Rooms are spacious, cleaned everyday and comfy. There nothing special but for reasonable price it's good. It's right in the middle of town near Restaurants, bars, markets and most importantly 2 min walk to the beach. So location is the main reason we picked here. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Hotel

Address: 23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your J. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J. Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.