We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, price is right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J. Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added J. Hotel to your Saves list
J. Hotel
23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, price is right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night as a stop-over on our way to the islands. Given all of the positive reviews, I expected to be more impressed but sadly, I thought that the hotel was just ok. We booked on Agoda and the price was very reasonable (about 1100B for two twin beds plus a cot). We arrived rather late (I think I had indicated 6 on the reservation but it must have been closer to 8 by the time we got there) and were greeted with the phrases "Agoda?" and "passport, please" instead of "hello." Perhaps the staff wanted to leave because it was so late but it wasn't the friendliest of welcomes (although they did take the time to show us our room and how the doors locked and they were significantly more helpful the following morning).

Our room was spacious but a bit dark and literally faced a wall! Some of the rooms across the hall looked like they had decent views. The shower did not drain properly. Otherwise, the room was clean and the a/c worked well.

The location was very convenient to get to the long-tail boats and the restaurants by the water but we didn't hear any noise from all of the commotion outside. I would consider staying here again but would definitely advise looking at the room before you take it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
15
74
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

really nice and pleasant hotel-clean and kept well ,close to the beach-spacious rooms cleaned nicely on the daily basis,very friendly receptionist and helpful owner-would stay there again when in krabi- thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Great location, clean room with balcony(+housekeeping everyday), friendly staffs, we certainly had great stay in J Hotel! Airport transfer with private van is cheap, free mineral water everyday, affordable tour packages, 10% discount from the massage center the boss recommended us to & more. One more thing I like about J Hotel is that they have the most thoughtful(probably cheapest) breakfast set ever. I was walking around Aonang area looking for a different/cheaper breakfast but I ended up going back to the hotel again for their breakfast. :o) I'd definitely stay in this hotel the next time I visit Krabi again.

Cons: No wifi.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Clean and spacious room with balcony. Nice staff. Mr Pok is very friendly and helpful, and their price for local tour is cheap.
Location is good, just few minutes away from the beach, and lots of restaurants around.
We had a very good experiencie there, no problem at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just stayed in Ao Nang for one night before heading to a more remote beach. Ended up coming into town around 11 at night...much later than anticipated b/c of bus delays. Called the hotel a few hours earlier b/c their website said the office was only open until 9. The owner was very friendly and said to just ring the bell once we arrived...no issues once we did arrive and call on someone to let us in. The rooms are huge compared to other ones we stayed in and very clean and stylish.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

50 yds off the main drag in Ao Nang. Pretty basic but a comfortable inexpensive stay,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel is right in the centre of the anang beahc strip..Rooms are comfortable with balcony.Everything works well with the exception of no internet in the roms. But is avalable by cable in the dining room.
For 400 Baht a night very hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Hotel

Address: 23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your J. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J. Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J. Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.