We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tup Island

Tup Island
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Ao Nang
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Faro, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beutiful island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recomend the 4 island babecue tour with Krabi Kingdom!
We had the trip during the afternoon, where there's not so much people on the beach (only on the first we visit, koh poda), then we had best snorkelling at Chicken island before we arrive to Tup Island! The most beutiful of the trip... then we finished with a sunset barbecue at Phranang beach... Divine landscape, with almost no one at the beach except our group! The food was really great! When we finished there was no day light, so we made our way back spotting the lights of Aonang... Worth every baht we spent and much more!
Staff were very nice and friendly!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    71
    27
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredibly crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Tup island is incredibly small and extremely busy especially at lunchtime when a lot of the tours land there. It was also incredibly noisy with boats with noisy engines passing by every few minutes. We took a walk up the small 'hill' on the island and were disgusted by the amount of rubbish on it. There were lots of plastic bottles strewn around and people appear to have been using it as a toilet!! The only good thing about the place is that you can walk across to Chicken Island at low tide. The beach there was much nicer and a fair bit quiter. The water was very clear and there were some fishes but the number of visitors to the islands has destroyed the coral and I felt quite guilty at contributing to this destruction.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is one of my favourite islands in Krabi. Not as jam packed with people compared to Maya bay beach. Here,the beach was clean and with clear turquoise water and sand so fine and powdery. There's was a snack bar here also. You are able to have a picnic under the shady trees or find a good shady spot on the rock to take in the lovely surroundings.
I noticed some jellyfish in the sea on the right (as you look at Chicken island in front of you), so I didn't stay in the water long. Didn't see any on the other side though.
There's beautiful sand pathway linking Tub and Chicken island. At low tide, you can walk across the sandbar. Just watch out for sharp corals and shells.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This island was one of my favs, at low tide you can walk across to chicken island, journey by Long tail boat is amazing and fun. Clear water filled with colourful fish that can nip! Soft white sand, the sea is like warm bath water, i dont go in cold sea. Small island with only a stand for light snacks on so it doesnt get too busy. People visit on island hops but we stayed all day christmas day and loved it.
You pay a fee to get onto the island, this helps keep the island litter free and safe. 40 bht i think it was.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very beautiful island indeed. In particular, the sand bar that connects it to chicken island is fabulous - especially as it gradually gets submerged as the tide changes. The water is crystal clear and warm. It does get quite crowded but there's not much one can do about that. Definitely worth a visit particularly considering that it is very accessible and not far from the Krabi mainland areas (I'm sure there are far more beautiful islands around thailand that are less crowded but probably not as accessible). There's reasonable snorkelling close by around chicken island as well. Tup island also has a small shack that sells drinks, beer, and some snacks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tup Island also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Tup Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tup Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tup Island to your Saves list