We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Princeville Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Princeville Resort to your Saves list
Aonang Princeville Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Moo 2 Ao-nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE Thai set Dinner!
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Thai hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at 8-30am and our room was not ready, so we decided to go for Island hopping while waiting for the check-in time at 2-00pm. The check-in process was quite smooth, we made our booking online via booking.com.
We stayed in the family room, there were 5 of us (including kids), and the room is quite big, equipped with 2 double beds, 1 day-bed and a 2-seater wooden bench. The ambience is very much 'nusantara', I.e. mixture of Thai, Malay and Bali concept. Nicely decorated, with fresh orchids and Aromatheraphy air freshener in the toilet/bathroom. Little things that made them different from other 3 or 4 star hotel are things like fruit basket, towel bag to bring to pool, proper cloth hanger at the balcony to hang wet swimsuits. The only drawback was to climb up the staircase, as there's no lift.
Breakfast spread was good, halal and price is also reasonable, so we ended up eating dinner in the restaurant. Room service was also quite fast.
Service was good, we had a situation when one of our luggages had lock problem and could not be opened. So we called the maintenance and it was opened in less than 5 minutes.
Overall, this hotel is a good base for your holiday in krabi especially the location, very close to beach and boats to go to islands, many shops, easy access to other areas using Tuk-Tuk or taxi.

Room Tip: Request for lower floors if you have problems with climbing up staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    186
    62
    21
    8
See reviews for
50
81
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I ve stayed here with my wife n 2 kids. The room is quite old but was well decorated n furnished. The balcony, tv, fridge, bed n others are quite comparable to other hotels. The only thing is that the toilet bowl sometimes clogged but their maintenance team was quick in resolving it n its probably just happen to my room. The swimming pool was awesome.. Its hot n the water is a bit salty. It was easier to float there.

Location wise its the most strategic to nearby beach, taxi, restaurants n shops. Breakfast was good n plenty but its the same everyday, but i guess most hotels in other places are the same. Most importantly its halal for muslim like me.

I ve tried out the 4 island trips, although i really wanted to go to Phi phi island as i hv kids travelling with me. Its a short trip to a few islands n i m not really satisfied with the short duration. Otherwise the tour guide was good. Overall it was good experince for me. Also tried ATV n elephant ride.. It was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We reserved two rooms as we are family of 5 persons for 5 nights. We had request to get one room double bad and another twin and close to each other. At the beginning the lady in reception told us that not twin bad room available. But after we refused to take the room, she found the room. In one of the rooms aircondition did not work. It took them two days to fix it, when they smiling to you but not doing real effort to resolve the problem.
On other side the hotel is managed well and best location in Ao Nang. The breakfast was great and the pool is nice if you dont care about salty water.
We enjoyed it and reccomend for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went there for honeymoon.We stayed for 3nights and we did spend a great moment there.Hotel room was spacious and decorated nicely as we were the honeymooners.The food was great and i like the location.Near to the beach and souvenir shops,restaurants and many mores.Hotel offer other services such as Krabi tour,island hoping and other interesting activities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We all know its touristy area.
However, good walking street just outside the hotel property.
Lotsa pharmacy and cafes and eateries.
Very near to scooter rental and also a lot of loose tour companies to book onward trips to other part of Thailand.

An eager to please waiter for the lunch service too.
Near a happening disco near by too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter Devon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here following a last minute change to our plans.
The hotel served its purpose for us, the room was large enough and as we had our 7 year old daughter starting with us she was able to sleep on the sofa bed which kept the price down (another hotel in Ao Nang quoted us an extra 1200B per night for an extra bed - seriously?!)
The hotel definitely needs some updating, but the pool area was really nice for such a central location, and the breakfast was very good indeed - the best inclusive breakfast we had this trip, so worth paying for.
The one thing that this hotel could do to improve the experience wold be to create a more welcoming feel from the staff. Smiles were in short supply, and they would respond to requests with limited communication and little effort. Shame really, the land of smiles was lacking here.
Two tips for eating here - we had some great thai food at the very rustic and basic tiny restaurant on the left as you go out of town, it is sort if carved into the side of the street. Cheap and so tasty, we also had an excellent BBQ at the Last Fisherman on the front - at 350B it was excellent value for what we had and really good quality.
We like Ao Nang for all the hustle and bustle, but find that a few nights is all we need here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place would be just fine if it was kept up. The outside is deceptively nice. The first thing I didn’t like about this place is that we were lied to about the price. When we first inquired at the hotel, we were told that it was 2500 baht a night. As we didn’t have that much money on us, we went back to the hotel we were staying at and called from there. I confirmed again that the price was 2500 and that this would be the amount deposited to reserve the room. When we got there the next day, we were told that the price was 3500. I was understandably angry, and the front desk lady just kept repeated that 2500 was the low season price and that my friend and I must have heard wrong (we didn’t). We didn’t feel like walking around with our bags trying to find another place, so we just ate the extra 1000 baht. The whole thing struck me as shady.

Upon entering the room, we noticed it smelled very musty (think Pirates of the Caribbean ride at DisneyLand). My friend’s sinuses acted up and we think the moldy smell of the room is the most probable cause. Even the pillows stunk. Housekeeping was quick to replace the pillows when we asked. The floor had also not been swept sufficiently. My friend said that she thought her bed had bed bugs, even though I did not experience any bites on my bed.

The bathroom smells like pee and is in major need of remodeling. The shower has a lot of mildew and the fixtures had lime all over them. The shower pipe leaked and so did the seal around the shower, ensuring that the bathroom floor was soaked after the shower. The toilet handle was glued/taped on to hold it into place.

Another thing is the wi-fi, which only works 50% of the time. A call to the front desk fixes it temporarily, but it is spotty.

A more minor detail is that the lights by the bed are strictly for mood lighting and basically useless for reading.

The upsides: It is a great location; you are in the middle of everything but tucked away off of the street about 50-100 feet, so the noise is not a problem. Right across the street from the beach too.
The breakfast is decent and the staff (besides the deliberate overcharge fiasco) was very responsive.
The hotel has a very nice, clean van that will drive you to the airport for 700 baht; just about 100 baht more than an outside taxi.
The pool is lovely.

Bottom line, unless a major renovation is done, I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anybody else. It really needs an update and is way too expensive for a run down, smelly room with spotty wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Princeville Resort

Address: 164 Moo 2 Ao-nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aonang Princeville Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort situated in the midst heart of Ao Nang Beach, the beach is right opposite from the resort just cross the road! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aonang Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Princeville Hotel Ao Nang
Ao Nang Princeville Hotel
Aonang Princeville Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Princeville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.