We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Thai Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Krabi Thai Village Resort to your Saves list
Krabi Thai Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Lydney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Having arrived at hotel after long flight, checked in and greeted with a cocktail and cool flannel which was much needed. Our rooms were interconnecting and absolutely lovely with a view of the pool. Rooms are very spacious and lovely and clean with everything you could need and was cleaned to a great standard everyday with beautiful flowers left on our beds. The pool area is great although the pool bar is quite expensive compared to town. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Yada on the reception desk was great and always helped us with any queries. The breakfast was nice with the usual bacon, eggs, omlettes, cereals, fresh fruit and a different thai dish everyday. The location of the hotel is great because you are far enough out but easily walkable to town. We walked into town but usually had a Tuk Tuk back which is great especially if you have one with music. My children who are 17 & 14 enjoyed the pool and we spent most afternoons at the top end of the beach enjoying the massages which are well worth the money and experience. They would also give you free chairs on the beach for the afternoon and fresh fruit. We went on the 4 Island tour which was great but look into the prices because everywhere is different. We booked at the hotel but it is cheaper in town. We tried several restaurants in the town and can recommend "The Long Tail Boat" which is situated at the end of Seafood Avenue. Great food and located right by the beach where the see breeze is much appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately be returning. Excellent Hotel and Excellent Staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    184
    99
    33
    26
See reviews for
87
261
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Thailand the 2nd half our holiday staying at the Thai Village Resort Hotel. Only if one was being very picky could you find fault with this hotel and its staff.
We stayed here for 11 days 29th sept to 10th oct 2010.
On arrival we were greeted by the manager with a welcome drink and check in was snooth and quick.
Our rooms were both spacious and clean with a view over the pool(the majority of rooms do overlook the pool, we stayed in rooms 922 & 927) Rooms have air con and a fan. You can opt for twin rooms with 2 larger than average single beds or a double roon with a super kingsize bed.
We boarded on a B&B basis and breakfast is served from 7-10am. There is the usual choice of cereals, cooked breakfast (eggs bacon, sausage etc.) fruits toast and even curry!! tea and coffe in abundance.As we were there in what is classed as low season we were almost 1 waiter/waitress per 2 guests so very attentive.All staff are so friendly and polite and if you learn some of there language and use it they are delighted. Nothing is too much trouble for them, i feel they are a credit to this hotel.
The only fault (and i am being picky here) i can say is the gym equitment is dated and not very good-- but then again not everyone uses the gym on holiday and secondly drinks and food at the hotel even tho cheap by uk standards are v. expensive compared with the town.
Ao Nang itself is very charming and not unlike a large greek village. Its about a 10 minute walk down hill from the hotel so we used to walk into Ao Nang and get a tuk tuk back. By the way the tuk tuk's are great fun. There is an abundance of restaurants and cafes here also plenty of street stalls selling pancakes and local dishes you can littrely eat a meal for as little as £1. There is a fantastic fish restaurant (Aree Ba Ba) at the far end of Ao Nang opposite McDonalds (YES there are McDonalds, Burger king and Subway but they are mostly empty) which we found to be the best in town we ate there 3 times and each meal was better than the last.
The clothes here at Ao Nang are also cheap we plan to go again next year and are not going to pack much as everything is so cheap from tailor made suits shirts blouses to beach shorts and t shirts.
Ao Nang is a very casual place and no-one gets dressed up shorts and t shirts are just as acceptable in day time as evening.
We did a couple of trips 4 island trip and elephant trekking and a long boat to reilly island. we paid 800baht for island trip which is a full day including lunch visiting Maya island(were the film The beach was filmed) Bamboo island Phi Phi for lunch and swim and finally Monkey beach take some bananas to feed the monkeys who live on the beach.
Elephant trekking icluded trekkiing through forrest and washing elephants in the river this was an awesome experience and by far my favourite trip this cost 550 baht the trip to reilly was via longboat and cost 100 baht.If you book all your trips at once you can barter more and never pay advertised price and shop around there are lots of places offering the same trips and you can barter one against the other.
All in all a truely delightfull holiday and one we wish to complete. This was our first trip to Thailand and it certainly won't be the last.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Krabi Thai Village is built around a large inner courtyard with three lovely swimming pools, coconut palms, and lush vegetation including orchids and bromeliads. The hotel is beautiful, the staff very friendly, the service excellent. We had a huge room with balcony looking out on to the inner courtyard. Every couple of days we would come back to find our bed covered in flowers and petals beautifully arranged.

Eating in the hotel is more expensive than outside as you pay VAT and service charge. Just opposite the hotel entrance driveway and slightly to the left is a very nice family run restaurant called the 'Green Lemon'. We thought that was the best food and the best value and ended up eating there frequently.

To get to the beach you turn left at the hotel entrance driveway and walk along the road for about five minutes until you come to a 'T' junction. You can then turn either left or right - both ways lead to the beach. Right leads to a more sandy beach. Left leads to shops and restaurants and a beach with coarser sand.

We took various tours, all were pretty good. The snorkelling is good where there is coral but you need to go with someone who knows where to find it. The water is a wonderful temperature for swimming.

We were there at the start of the rainy season so the place was relatively quiet - not many other foreign tourists at all. Some days it rained for a short time, other days not at all. Some days it was a bit overcast but still hot. It didn't affect our holiday at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

we stayed at the thai village resort in krabi. we had read reports that this hotel was not that great. We have been going to thailand for the last 10 years, and have stayed in many different hotels. we were apprihensive about staying here, but decided to give it ago.

The hotel was wonderful, the staff were friendly and helpful. The downside was that the pool area, could do with a little maintenance as there were a few cracks and missing tiles which you had to watch out for, the drinks etc at the pool bar were a little expensive, but i guess that is because we are used to going to thailand when the rates have been better.

asided all of that the restaurant was wonderful, and we ate there twice. My son who is four had a wonderful time, and our room was lovely and spacious.

Overall i would definately go back to this hotel, however Krabi is getting now a little busy for our liking, so my try to find another destination that can now become our paradise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My wife and I had a brief overnight stop here en-route to Phi-Phi, this is a reasonable hotel in an unenviable position.

The first and most disappointing thing about the hotel is its location. On what can only be described as a back street about a 10 minute walk from the Ao-Nang beach. It is located directly opposite some average looking restaurants and the walk to the beach (minus a pathway for the first 250 meters) takes you past a decent mini-market and loads of small shops and stalls selling various cheaply priced goods. It was my first impression of Krabi and it was not a good one.

Ao-Nang is busy, and incredibly tourist driven so has lots of choice for places to eat, has many vendors offering competitively priced excursions to places far more beautiful than the local town and, if it’s your thing, lots of shopping. Hotel is well placed to get to the pier (5 min by car or 15 min walk) where local ferry services run at a low cost to more remote and attractive parts of the area.

We passed through the town on return from Phi-Phi and it was during the Songkran – The beach, town, and pier area were packed with families and children of all ages celebrating the festival, it was a great sight and I was glad we witnessed it. It took around 1 hr to travel about 3km through the town (by car) as the roads were full of revellers in the back of trucks and trailers armed with water pistols, buckets of water, etc, drenching each other and bystanders with smiles all round – Not so good if you’re in a hurry to get somewhere…

So enough of the location, the hotel…

We were warmly welcomed by the manager and this set the tone for the service throughout our brief stay. Reception, Concierge, Restaurant and Bar staff were all very polite, efficient, and seemingly happy in their work.

We used the restaurant in the evening and prices are cheap (no doubt to compete with local restaurants) and the quality good – Not great but good. European or Thai dishes available. Breakfast had a wide choice to suit every taste, however quality compared to other establishments is a little lower. The bar has a good choice of drinks, again competitively priced – We made the most of the happy hour b.o.g.o.f. deals – Makes everything much better value.

Rooms are large, clean and well equipped. In general equipment and décor seems somewhat dated now but rooms have been well maintained and are certainly comfortable. Good, well priced mini-bar, complimentary water, etc. Bathroom good size, clean, and all the expected “with compliments” sundries in place. Only complaint about the rooms was the distinct lack of any form of sound insulation. We may have been unlucky and had particularly bad neighbours but you could hear T.V’s, balcony conversations, and movement well into the early hours, suppose the only answer to that is “if you can’t beat them, join them”.

Can’t comment on the rest of the facilities but the pool looked good and not overcrowded through the day which is always a bonus.

In summary I’d say a marginally above average hotel, good service, in a very average location. A cost effective base to escape to the better parts of Krabi and surrounding Islands.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We arrived at the hotel thinking oh what have we done. The hotel reception looks nice very grand, the rooms are large and clean. The breakfast was ok hot and cold options, however I was slightly put off when I saw the a member of staff moving the breads around with his hands. I would always rave about a hotel if I felt it deserved it.
However I wouldn't stay here again for many reasons.

Miles from the beach about a 25 minute walk

The pool area is surrounded with concreate which is totally impratical for young feet and it looks a bit like a prison, with solid bar railings around the kids pool. The beds around the pool are metal and look like hospital beds.

Outside the hotel toilets and rubbish have been dumped, not nice and you have to walk past these to walk in to town.

The manager of the hotel wasn't at all helpful when we asked her to move because we hated the hotel so much. She didn't help us in anyway shape of form.

The hotel food and mini bar like most hotels were a real rip off.
The staff were frightened of the manager and looked miserable.
Inernet was £4 per hour of use.
The hotel was run like a prison and we hated it and would never go back again.
On the plus side the rooms were big but dated and I do agree with another review it is a good base to visit places.

But it isn't as nice as the photos. A real let down to the best holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Krabi Thai Village is absolutely lovely. My husband and I stayed there for five days in a deluxe pool view room and that is exactly what we had. A lovely view, a great, typically Thai room that was well presented, clean with all those little extras that make the difference, ( robes, flip flops etc etc ) each day the bed was beautifully decorated with flowers, petals, and towels made into various animals shapes. The breakfast was also very good with choice galore, something for every taste.
AO nang beach is a 10 minute walk away and is quite nice - however, be aware there are no sunbeds and no shade.
If I had to say anyhting negative about Thai village it would be the fact that it is hard going negotiating the hill upto the hotel. All in all however we had a great time and I would certainly return

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Address: 260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Thai Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.