We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Thai Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Krabi Thai Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for our honeymoon. On our first night we had a bit of a bad night, we had been traveling for god knows how long and when we got to the hotel we weren't impressed with our room. The bathroom was a little dirty and smelt odd but the real problem was the people above us who kept us awake until 5am slamming doors,partying etc. I was so upset that first thing I went to reception and asked to move rooms. We we're moved straight away no fuss and the new room by the pool was amazing!

After this we had a wonderful time there. I even had my birthday whilst we were there and they wrote happy birthday in flower petals on the bed and provided us with a slice of very yummy cake! The room was beautiful and kept very clean. The air con was a little noisy but didn't bother me.

The walk down you do have to go past a bit mountain of rubbish but you just get used to it and just don't look at it to be honest, it's Thailand and they just do things differently! The hotel is slightly out of the main strip but that's why we liked it. The walk down doesn't take long at all and with tuk tuks being so cheap its really not a bother.

Overall its a little old school Thailand but that's why we liked it. Everyone is lovely and works hard, you won't regret staying here!

I would stay here again, as I look out the office window at dark skies I can say I would love to go back!!

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool were the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    159
    73
    26
    17
See reviews for
69
223
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is my 3rd stay at the Krabi Thai Village and this time we went with my daughter and her fiance. My first stay was about 9 years ago and it is as lovely as ever. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk, or 2 minutes very reasonably priced tut-tut ride away - good investment for the way back due to the slight hill the hotel sits on. We didn't visit the secret beach although we heard good reports about the beach and the restaurant on the beach. The days just flew by relaxing by the pool and the 2 trips we did go on were very good. We did the Nosey Parker Elephant trip and loved it - the elephants do seem to be well cared for at this establishment. We also did the Phi Phi islands trip. This was VERY crowded - both on the speedboat going and at the various islands we visited. When we first went there a few years ago you could still get a 'desert island' feel but all the speedboats now seem to arrive at the same time making it utter chaos. It was nice to do again but I would like to see the trips organised a bit better so that not so many boats arrive simultaneously. Going back to the hotel, I can thoroughly recommend it. The pools were never crowded, the arrival in reception was lovely and the staff are very helpful. We had a top floor room, which gave us plenty of exercise as there are no lifts but it was worth it because the view over the pools was lovely in the evenings. Thanks Krabi Thai Village - we hope to see you again soon x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived at Krabi Thai Village Resort on the 31st of March 2013. After a 27 hours of travelling, door to door, we were shown to our room, we paid extra for an executive. The room was on the ground floor at the far end of the hotel with NO view! We had requested a higher floor as the ground floor rooms people could walk past and look into the room so the curtains had to be kept shut at all times and we could not sit on the terrace due to people walking past! So, no privacy. We immediately asked to be moved and were told that another room would be available for us the following day. We moved at 10 am the following morning to a 3rd floor room (934) overlooking the pool bar and pools. We were very happy with this room.
Now, onto the hotel itself. As you are doing now, we read reports on trip advisor regarding the establishment. Take no notice of all the negative comments as most of them are untrue (for us anyway).
Some of the staff are very friendly but the pool staff not so much. We read that there would be no pool beds available due to them being saved early morning. We have been at the pool most days with plenty of beds available ALL through the day, at times only 6 people up on the top pool.
There is free wifi in the lobby bar which everybody goes down to use but the bar has NO atmosphere at all. There are two singers on every night and, to be honest I feel sorry for them as no one listens to them as people have their faces stuck in an I pad or phone! Bar prices are cheaper than where we stayed last year (Centara Grand Beach Resort) but still too expensive considering you have plenty of places to go just outside the hotel. Happy hour is between 6pm and 7pm and then again between 10pm and 11pm. Food is nice in the hotel but again you can eat out just as good and a lot cheaper.
I have to agree with many reports that the breakfast is limited but nice, especially the freshly made omelettes.
As for the gym well, there is one but none of the machines work! My husband runs every day at home on the tread mill and one of the reasons for choosing this hotel was for the use of the facility. He has to get up at 6 am in order to run on the beach before it gets too hot!
We went to the Hilltop Restaurant which is on the hill at the the back of the hotel and it was lovely. We had 2 starters, 2 mains, a few beers, glass of wine and 4 cocktails which came to just over 3,000 baht. A couple of nights later we went to the Lae Ley which is the one just a little lower down, we found this to be a lot better, with a better food choice and service was outstanding, prices a little cheaper which is always a bonus.
With being here last year we knew what was around and to be honest we have done far more this year than we did last as the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main town but plenty to see when walking down. Yes, there is a a little waste ground just as you turn left out of the hotel but by no way will it spoil your holiday.
In summery. I would recommend this hotel depending on the room you get.

Places that we recommend.

The last cafe ( between 4pm & 5pm) monkeys playing on the beach nice to watch with a glass of wine, me with the wine not the monkeys!
Mr. Cocks street bar
Lae Ley restaurant.
Hilltop restaurant
No 18, on the beach for a massage
Black canyon coffee house for the best coffee and milk shakes (the best vanilla milk shake ever for 60 baht)
Long tail boat to Railey beach 400 baht return (but be careful, they will not bring you back till the boat has 8 people on it.) We waited nearly 2 hours and ended up paying more for him to bring us back!!!!! Lovely beach with lots of bars and cafes.

Date today 12th March 2013 and we are still here. Weather is very, very hot! Looking forward to Songkran tomorrow.

Hope this has been of some help.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Room 133 top floor nice and spacious...staff helpful.....breakfast was adequate unless u want the shebang....couple of good restaurants nearby namely hilltop,lealay grill and carnivore....and a cheap thai one that looks like a shack nice tho....10 mins walk into town..

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights just last week. Our room was great with fresh flowers left on the bed every other day. The maids were very efficient. Breakfast was fine but nothing special. We didn't have evening meal here so I can't comment. Pool area was nice but a little tired in places and the service at the bar was very slow. Reception area was very pretty and the staff helpful. Air con and fan in the room but both were noisy and my husband wore earplugs for the last few nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Krabi Thai Village last year, for sonkran, with our family and friends. We had a terrific time. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were great and the service for the rooms was excellent-if you needed anything, including any type of maintenence, it was done very quickly. The pools are surrounded with astro turf that I feel is good, as who wants ants, bugs or whatever crawling over you. The pools are kept in good condition and the top pool was quite warm (better than too cold). The hotel is built on a hill side and during the day you can hear the wild animals, my daughter was calling to a gibbon that would respond, each time, from the jungle-wow! Breakfast was good with a large variety of dishes. We tended to eat away from the resort during the day as we were always touring around. We had clothes washed/cleaned at a little shop just down the road from the resort, at a very reasonable price (charge per kilo). Boat trips to the islands were excellent with meals included in the price. We are preparing to make this trip, to the same resort shortly and we are looking forward to it again-meeting the beautiful Thai people and experiencing their culture and food.

I am unable to understand these people who have made adverse comments about this place-oh well, it takes all sorts and some have greater expectations than others-maybe they don't know how to have fun and relax (try a laxative next time???)

We have also met with people from other countries and during this time, not one person complained-all were very happy with the resort and its staff.

Krabi Thai Village-be warned, Sue, my family, friends and I are on our way back to again enjoy your hospitality and culture. Brian

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face towards the pool areas-palm trees, in front of some balconies can obstruct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

very pleasant hotel.excellent swimming pools very clean, problems during busiier periods with people reserving sunbeds with towels.good choice for breakfast omlettes very good,however the price of drinks tend to make you eat in local restaurants where both food and drink are reasonably priced and very good quality(the banbusaba in particular)the room was kept spotless by a wonderful maid(,we were in 805)the only downside was the fact that the room was so dark and the fountain outside the room was home to some rather nasty mosquitos

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Address: 260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Thai Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.