We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Thai Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Krabi Thai Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this beautiful resort quietly situated away from the main street in Ao-nang. Rooms at the top floor had it all; very friendly staff, big balcony, slippers for indoor and outdoor, umbrellas etc. in addition to a good restaurant and bar. But don't miss the very small but excellent restaurant just down the road: Bussaba Thai Restaurant.

Room Tip: Top floor ( there are only three floors) have good view of the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    160
    74
    26
    18
See reviews for
70
224
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights, the rooms are large, clean and spacious. There isnt a lift so if you struggle with stairs I would ask for a ground floor room.

It's about a 5 min walk from hotel in to the main street in ao nang, which was fine for us.

The pool area was quiet whilst we stayed and we never had a problem getting a sunlounger. I quite liked the astroturf around the pool area and there is a pool bar.

Breakfast was nothing special, but it was exactly what I would expect. Plenty of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, an egg station, salad and even curry! The hotel food and drink and was more expensive than most restaurants in ao nang. We never ate at the hotel so I cant comment on the food quality etc.

My biggest criticism of the hotel was the staff. They seemed really miserable. They were always polite but I always felt as if they were fed up! I found their English to be pretty poor at times, which could be frustrating, I would expect them to speak basic English in an international hotel.

A few tips on ao nang:
The beaches in ao nang aren't that great, but you can easily take a short boat ride to railay beach, phranang beach, poda island, chicken island, tup island. They're all really beautiful.
There are plenty of restaurants in ao nang, we liked them all and didn't have a bad meal, and it's very cheap especially if you like Thai food.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel does not have a hotel feel, more like apartments. It's a bit away from the main road but access to the main drag and beach is not too far.
the 8 nights we were there we had a large party ofd Fins staying and were woken at 7:30 by pool aerobics music and shouting. The music at the poolside bar is unavoidable and starts too early and who really needs it?
Beds are hard but ok and the general stadards of cleanliness etc. is good. Breakfast is monotonous and limited and there's only one toaster!
In all it's good enough but won't thrill you.
We asked several times about the bus to the "secret beach" but were fobbed off, we never did get there. Railay is a boat ride away and beautiful, see it!
It's not a bad place to base yourself from to see the islands and the pools are very nice.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamtpon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 10 days 14th Nov 2012 with my husband, we are 29. The hotel is clean and well maintained, rooms are large and very Thai which is nice. Pool area is very nice although why you'd choose a pool over the beach is beyond me here they are more than beautiful. Breakfast is standard there is something there for everyone. The hotel is a 5-10 min walk from the beach and main resort, there are tuk tuks available but we walked everyday without really thinking about it, however if we had known the resort prior to booking we probably would have gone for one of the beach front hotel for ease.There is a shuttle to the secret beach at 9/10/11 daily but you have to ask about it they dont tell you, we only knew about it from trip advisor, this beach is amazing there was only us and one other couple on it and it has a nice restaurant. Only negative about the hotel was on check out we were bascially accused of stealing the laundry bag! they have a list in the room stating if you take the slippers or light bulb!! etc they'll charge you x amount so maybe they get their rooms emptied?? but they send someone into the room to check everything when you leave the room so if they are going to say something is missing they should check properly as this was not a good last impression. Overall a great stay. Ao Nang is not a huge place but good for seeing the islands, there are enough restaurants for a week or so, would probably recommend 7 days here. Out and about we did the phi phi tour only £22 each so good value but the bits you've gone to see are rushed, only half an hour at maya bay (the beach). Also James bond tour a long drive to the boat, nearly 2 hours, again half an hour at the bond Island but the scenery getting there and back was awesome, worth doing only £16each. The thai boxing on friday night was really good but is more expensive than we thought it would be, £24each for ringside but worth the extra for being up close to the action on a leather sofa, drinks here are same as anywhere else so that's good. We wanted to do the shooting range but after walking up there it was so expensive (about £16 for 10 bullets only getting to use one gun) we gave it a miss. There is some night life in Krabi there is a alleyway full of ladyboy bars which is an experience not to miss up the McD's end and there is centre point across from the beach where there's a mixture of bars, some with strippers etc top floor KR's is good for some live music and no sleeze, After 2 weeks in thailand a bit of pole dancing seems normal. Restaurants not to miss Lay lei grill up the hill amazing view and service and food very good, hill top restaurant up there not so good, wouldn't bother. Wanna's place is hot but the food really good and Thailandia is lovely.

Room Tip: Pool view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

i visited thai village hotel in oct this year.
i didnt find the experience as i thought it would be.
the meal at breakfast wasnt very good and we were watched as we ate which was a bit unnerving.
we had to pay for wifi daily ,the surrounding area around outside of hotel was not very clean,and i didnt find the beach very clean either.
this hotel would be good if you just wanted to sit at pool all day.
the bed in executive room was really firm and i found i had a very sore back next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we went to Krabi for 6 days - 20 - 26 oct 2012.
We booked Thai Village and it was a good choice.
very beautifully laid resort, the rooms are designed in a thai way and yet have all modern amenities.
Very clean and the views were great.
the staff at the reception are very helpful.
the breakfast spread is good with a mix of amercian, thai , however they staff in the restaurant should have been more courteous.
has beautifully made swimming pool with a bar in between.
we boooked all sight seeing packages with them...and they were very good with pickup and drop at hotel.
overall- good place to go!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on a lower floor, they dont have a lift. however the rooms at higher floors have stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week here and overall, it is a nice resort to stay at. However, read the reviews here carefully. Overall, we had a nice time here and it is very nice, clean, quiet and safe. The bad parts are that it is far from the beach and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk there. The way there is not bad, but having to walk up the hill in the heat gets old very quicky! There are many tuk tuks there and it is about $1 to get home. The beds there are very hard, like rocks, we ended up complaining and they went and bought us a very thick mattress topper, similar to a pull out bed mattress. The other bad part is that there is no good, cheap food at the resort and the breakfast buffet is nothing special, but you will not be hungry and it is not terrible. The staff is hard to communicate with due to a lack of english spoken, but overall if you want a clean, quiet place to stay with a nice pool, this will suit you just fine! The manager was a great help and she made up for the rest of the staff that seemed very confused and some times gave us the wrong information about the resort. The pool is very nice and has a nice swim up bar and at night there is music at the inside bar. I would stay here again, if I did not care about being close to the restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor seemed to be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Address: 260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Thai Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.