We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the best cosy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Beach Resort to your Saves list
Golden Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   254 Moo2, T.Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Its the best cosy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is our second stay at Golden Beach resort. in 2009 we stayed there and enjoyed the best of our holidays there, and this time we had stayed in their newly renovated pavilion suite. And definitely this is better than the last time we stayed at the suite at the building. These pavilion suite are very spacious and very comfortable with 3 beds. our 8 year old kid could sleep very comfortably in the extra bed attached in the room, these rooms are overlooking the very best swimming pool. Last time my son enjoyed most at this swimming pool and this time also the same. In the evening the blue lights in the pool makes the place even better, you can see frogs around, hear the cricket and can enjoy nature at its best. although we went there in july when it was raining, but even with the rain the place was even more beautiful. However you can not see the sea very clearly from your room, but you can just step down the room and in half a minute you will be in the beach. This beach is only good at low tides as in high tide there is hardly any beach to enjoy as sea comes very near to the road. This hotel is conveniently located to the shops at Ao Nang. I had stayed at many hotels in this area as almost every year we come to visit this place because of its serene beauty - and this is the best of all the hotels we stayed. Their massage is also one of the best in the locality - do try their foot reflexology.

Room Tip: Take day trips to different smalls islands around Krabi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    215
    81
    32
    22
See reviews for
122
181
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We weren't completely impressed. THe location is fantastic - right on the board walk at Ao Nang, but the service was mediocre (the woman at the desk was'nt able to tell us how to take a boat to Ko Yao Noi, nor was she particularly helpful with anyting else we asked). They also don't have free wireless, which is surprising given the cost of the rooms here. The rooms themselves are OK, we had a poolside room. It was a bit dark, but very big and the bathroom was nice and clean. The buffet breakfast was quite good and included in the price of our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Beach Resort in November and although it is in a great location, I was disappointed with our stay. We booked a chalet room - it was spacious, but we were right next to building work which started every morning at 8am. When we asked to move, the hotel staff were not very helpful and we had to be quite forceful. We did eventually move, and it was further away from the building work, but we could still hear it. In addition to this, the breakfast was not good and it was the only place we stayed during our holiday to Thailand where the staff just seemed not bothered. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After booking six months in advance to ensure we were at a beachfront hotel for the highlight of our holiday, we arrived at Golden Beach resort to be told they had a system error and had no rooms available. Instead we were moved to a hotel 15minutes from the beach overlooking a construction site. I would not recommend golden beach to anyone unless you dont mind poor management or where you end up.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in december.
Booked the most expensive they had - Executive Pavilion for roughly 30.000 baht total.

The pavilion was very nice, high quality, except for some cheap details (old, broken calculator at the desk and a loose rubber fitting on the shower)

The room we booked said sea view, but that would be a stretch to say we had that. But we were close to the beach, so that was nice.

Service was average to below average, with trainee staff and not a lot of smiles.

Room cleaning was excellent, it was like coming back for the first time, every day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went in August and we had 3 chalets, nice, clean, spacious, great rates. No complains at all, Had a good time with family and would have been better if it wasn't storming 50% of the time. Pretty scenery but the swimming pool does look dodgy and some in our family felt itchy after swimming there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed late Oct/early Nov and the hotel standards were very high. Lovely large pool, towels provided, breakfast buffet was indoors or outdoors with a large choice available, evening meals overlooking the beach.
There is a "L" shaped building around the pool housing the hotel rooms and then suites in a large garden area which are very quiet. You couldn't get nearer the beach and are in walking distance of all the town activities, restaurants, etc. I would definitely stay again but wish someone had mentioned the building work going on at the front of the hotel. This doesn't affect all the rooms but does deserve a mention

Room Tip: Stay away from pavilion suites at front of the hotel where the construction work is going on, other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort

Address: 254 Moo2, T.Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Golden Beach Krabi
Golden Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.