We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and well thought through, in a calm but central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pakasai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pakasai Resort to your Saves list
Pakasai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   88 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Ao Nang
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good and well thought through, in a calm but central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Thailand: You will never meet a more friendly and helpful people. The best place for vacations.

Ao Nang: Skip it. Period. They have destroyed this place the past years. The reason why we go to Thailand is not longer fulfilled in Ao Nang, you might as well go to Gran Canaria. No need to go here for what ever reason. Go somewhere else in Thailand.

Pakasai: If you still need to pass through Ao Nang, this is a very nice place in a good location. It is well thought through into even small details. They are serious. (Of course, the beds are hard as wooden planks, but that is the style in Thailand. Even at 5 stars.)

Good activities: Spend your days on Poda, walk to the far side and enjoy the calm and breeze. (No need to go to Chicken island etc)

No-no-activities: Koh Hong - just don't bother about it. Railey & Pranang - just don't, horrible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    179
    75
    34
    19
See reviews for
64
224
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Would have given the Pakasai 'the full 5' but one or two small attentions to detail and the (sometimes) indifference from the reception staff make me mark it down. The resort itself is in an excellent location, although the immediate area outside is shabby, with just a short walk down to the main road and then a turn left for Ao Nang beach or a turn right for Nopparat Thara beach. I have to say that I was disappointed with both beaches. If you're looking for crystal clear blue water and golden sands go somewhere else. Our room (deluxe) was probably the best we stayed in during our 3 weeks in SE Asia. Breakfast was really good. Reference the 'attentions to detail' (1) the soap dispenser in the bathroom was empty when we arrived and stayed so for the 3 nights we were there (2) the early morning call we booked to wake us for our flight never happened.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The resort is very beautiful and you feel very nice when you stay there. The only problem is there are no stairs and we got a higher villa. The food was nice and the service was excellent. Loved the bathrooms and the amazing view from the balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 10 days over Christmas. The staff were incredibly friendly and generous and went to such great lengths to host a lovely Christmas Eve dinner. We were also surprised to be given a birthday cake, complete with name and age on it. The staff must keep an eye out for our passports. We are not 'hotel people', preferring to eat out and explore, but we found ourselves spending more time than we expected at the hotel pool and bar because of the fantastic food and service. We stayed up the hill in the 'jungle' part of the hotel - we felt like Swiss Family Robinson. Do pack your mozzie repellent as there are lots around after dark. The atmosphere was always relaxed, friendly and unpretentious. Better still was that it was a short stroll to either beach - Ao Nang or Nopparat Beach - while being free from the noise of the main street. Couldn't have wished for anything more.

Room Tip: The bungalow-style rooms are built on a hillside overlooking the jungle garden. There are steps - ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked Pakasai due to location and price. After visiting Ao Nang the previous year, when looking for a hotel this trip we had a pretty good idea where the property was located. Far enough away from the main strip in Ao Nang that the resort has a very relaxing atmosphere but close enough that it's less than a 5 minute walk away. You also get the benefit of being a 5 minute walk in the other direction from a different beach that is just breathtaking with restaurants etc too.

Yes the property is located on an incline and yes it's a bit of a steep walk to your room but the property is surrounded by rainforest and the majority of rooms are clusters of chalets rather than building blocks so the rooms are very private. We booked a Superior Room but were upgraded to a Deluxe Room which was gorgeous. Large, clean, private.

We had an issue with the safe in the room which would work for half an hour then stop working. The staff were very helpful and were able to get our money out of the safe and advised us to use the lock box provided at Reception. Our DVD player also stopped working (watching a dvd on a rainy day) and staff were quick to replace it.

The pool area was beautiful with drinks and snacks available - though just down the road the street vendors did some yummy pad thai and grilled chicken so we didn't order anything from the bar. We did have breakfast every morning at the hotel restaurant which had a decent range of items available. Nothing flash but good food - eggs cooked to your liking etc.

I would definitely recommend Pakasai to anyone travelling to Thailand.

Would definitely recommend Pakasai to

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are located in the main reception building - all others are located in Chalets wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and really have to rate this place with excellent. We have been lucky and got an upgrade when we arrived. The hotel area is very green with a nice setup between pool area and restaurant/bar. Big rooms, bed, bathroom and terrace in very condition so you feel like being at home. Fantastic breakfast with a huge variety and very friendly and efficient staff. It's a bit off the beach area but then again only 10 minutes walking also to all bars and restaurants. The pool area is beautiful, hence also an option to stay here the entire day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with 3 young kids.

Lovely lovely gardens and nice breakfast spread.

It is located just off the main road which is perfect. You are near the shops and beach but yet in a secluded place with all the tranquility you desire during a vacation.

Parking was provided in front of the lobby. We drove from Singapore. The drive was very pleasant and now we can't wait to do the drive from Singapore to Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pakasai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakasai Resort

Address: 88 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pakasai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakasai Resort promises a romantic, relaxing vacation in the sun within a beautiful tropical garden setting. Just a few steps away from Ao Nang, Krabi's most popular beach, Pakasai offers 4-star service with a smile, chalet and suite accommodation, and an environmentally-conscious determination to make its guests feel very much at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pakasai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakasai Hotel Ao Nang
Pakasai Hotel Krabi
Pakasai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakasai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.