We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excllent Service - Great Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Ao Nang Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Ao Nang Resort to your Saves list
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85/2 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excllent Service - Great Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Cliff after New Year on Phi Phi, The rooms are great we stayed in the regular bungalow rooms and then spent a few nights in the suite which was amazing. The hotel gardens are very well maintaned and the the whole place is spotless. The lady that manages the resort was great and and ladies that worked the bar and restaurant treated us like VIPs and the food was excellent in comparison to what else was avialble locally. Pool was great and very quiet we would go back tommorow! the coconut smothies are incredible.........

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffAonang, Manager at The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your time putting such positive reveiw for us.
It was such a pleasure for us to welcome you two.
I always share comment with all the staffs and already passed on it on
to our FB staff. We all are looking forward to welcome you again for your next
holiday. And make sure to have your favourite coconut smoothie
as your welcome drink
Please contact me directly for that occasion.

Best regards
Pimchana K.
Resort Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    72
    33
    22
    26
See reviews for
16
136
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

At the Cliffs my boyfriend and I felt like a prince and princess. The staff members were very attentive and I can’t fault the service provided. We stayed there for three nights. I have so much to write about this place, so I will bullet point them:
- Food – I was only able to eat one dinner meal due to food poisoning from another place. They have a great selection of Thai and western food on the menu and very reasonably priced. My boyfriend enjoyed all the meals. Once the staff knew I was sick – they tried to accommodate with rice and toast. The restaurant also has the clean food, good taste sign. Lastly, try Takola in Krabi Town! Amazing Thai and Chinese food (you will also receive a transfer from the hotel).
- Room – Our room was very clean and very cute (we received elephant folded towels on a daily basis). I loved the outdoor bathroom. Please be warned that the room is rather small so if you have lots of luggage, you may need to place it straight into the wardrobe. The only downfall of the room was that there isn’t much light in the bungalow and there isn’t any hot water in the bathroom basin. This fault is only minor though!!
- Service – Nothing short of fabulous!!!
- Pool – The pool looked and felt amazing. It is cleaned on a daily basis. If you stay at this resort, please swim in the pool.

My boyfriend and I really want to return to this resort as it was purely amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffAonang, Manager at The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to put good review for us.
We all staffs are so delighted to know that you and your boyfriend had
a lovely time with our service. Taking the best care of our guest especially when they are ill is our top priority.
Very pleased that you and your boyfriend also enjoyed our selectoin of food in our restaurant
and at TAOKLA the one that we recommend you for the Chinese in Krabi town.
Our room is a good size for a couple, I would recommend the same for the luggages in the wardrobe. Your feed back has brought to our management attention.
Thank you agian for your stay with us. Please do contact me for your next visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you agian soon.

Best regards
Pimchana K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

From our arrival the hospitality and service was second to none. All the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was effortless. The reception was seamless and if any additional tours or travel where needed they organised them for us. The resturaunt has a great range of Thai and Western food and the quality is excellent.
The Cliff itself is located up the hill from the hustle and bustle of the beach front so gives to the ability to leave the main a tourist area and slip into the tranquil and surprisingly quiet setting of The Cliff. Overall and excellent resort that provided excellent service, we will go back.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffAonang, Manager at The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us at the Cliff Aonang resort.
We are appreciate your time to put a good review for us.
We all staffs are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time
in our resort and also enjoyed the quality of food in our restaurant.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you in the near future

Pimchana k.
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you are into nature and outdoor bathrooms this place is a must, Im from a hot tropical climate and love outdoor bathrooms, I want to build one at home. Staff are fabulous, nothing a problem and very quick to fix any problems. Manager lady had perfect english and went out of her way to help us even keeping a bag there whilst we went island hopping and we were not booked in on our return. It is not for children, its a very small boutique thai style place. If you have hordes of luggage its not for you, the rooms are not big but they are more than comfortable, clean and with everything you need. Breakfast was fresh and lovely, pool gorgeous, views to the cliffs.I found this place on Trip Advisor from the reviews and I was not disappointed at all, I was impressed. If you are a pommie who cant stand a few bugs and ants then book into a concrete jungle, oh and if you are a very large person yes the toilet area is a bit small !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 108 at the end nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffAonang, Manager at The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to our resort.
I would like to personally thank you for taking your time writting a positive review and share your comments and even mentioned myself in the review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our service,
even though you found the room is not big but still feel more than comfortable
and also happy with our clealiness ,room amenities and our private open style shower.
We are deeply appreciate your feed back regarding you.stay.
As our resort created a specific concept and that might not be for everyone.
Hope all of us at the Cliff will have a chance to welcome you again soon.

Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Location : 700m away from beach (15-20 mins walk to the beach)

I spent 2 nights in this property and the service, view was very good especially the hospitality by the staff. The semi open air bath / toilet is a good good must try.

The breakfast is a-la-carte and it can be served at your doos step or the restaurant will the pool and cliff view.

Unfortunately, the room size was dissapointed, especially if been called as "bangalow". I can't even find a proper place (table) to put my belonging. The walk way was so cramp after your luggage occupied most of the walk path. The TV is not working al day and thru out the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffAonang, Manager at The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review regarding your stay with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our staffs' hospitality
and also love our amazing cliff view in the resort.
Our a la carte breakfast serving to guest room is another way we
make sure our guest have the best convenience during their stay.
We feel sorry that you found our rooms not in a large size
.We do honest with what we offer and do advertise our room sizes on the website.
Our bungalows are uniquely Thai although the room are not the large
size but optimized at its best and have sizes macthing with the standards
of any resort in the same area.
We are sorry to make your stay was not the best enjoyable regarding the changing of our
new cable TV signal receiver to at the time.
Once again appreciate your kind feedback which has brought to our management team which will make a better stay for our guest in the future and hopefully also for you as our returned guest.

Best regards
Pimchana K.
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We booked THE CLIFF at Ao Nang on the net less than 2 hours before arriving, just before leaving Kao Sok national park to the North.

The receptionist presented our registration document calmly in a folder like we had been expected for weeks - we were impressed, we were sure they would pick not up on it in time for our arrival. The valet was standing by to carry luggagge, we were off to our room without delay.

First impressions were of something from a calmer more elegant time, it was almost hidden away, while still being just off the main street, just a little further out than the noisy bars, but still easy walking to the beach. It was interesting to learn that it was one of the earliest hotels established in Ao Nang.
it was cool quiet luxury with a bit of flare - a boutique hotel if you like.

The room was tasteful with natural colours/items/fabrics - bamboo etc, loved the bathroom with garden.
Very private, sitting round the pool you felt like you were very far away from the bustle, it felt private and exclusive, there were terrific views of great limestone kasts - hence the name THE CLIFF. Be sure to get the right Cliff hotel - it's THE CLIFF opposite Yamaha building.

The staff were delightful and a special mention to the very capable, charming and efficient manager - Pimchana - who was more than helpful - organising trips, giving advice and all with a very personal touch. She and 'The Cliff' will go far, we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffAonang, Manager at The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Ms.Debbie Lawson
Thank you so much for your time to write such positive reveiw for us.
We are so please to hear that you and your husband enjoyed our hospitality and the surrounding area in the resort. Your comment, is like a reward and has made such an encouragement to myself and all staffs to always maintain the quality of service for our guest.
We hope to welcome you and your husband again soon for your next visit from Dubai.
Please contact me directly for that occasions.

Pimchana K.
Best regards
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I feel bad because the staff here gave me such incredible service.

This hotel is not for everybody. Rooms are olden thai style and there is an outdoor toilet. My wife didn't really like the place because it was too outdoorsy with insects and whatnot.

Place is also a bit run down with bits and pieces falling off.

Great if you are the adventurous type but otherwise stick to the usual brand name hotels.

Room Tip: away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Ao Nang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Ao Nang Resort

Address: 85/2 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Ao Nang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Aonang resort was Vote one of the top 50 most beautiful resort in Thailand by Tourist Authority of Thailand. Once you step inside, the staggering Cliff views will make you suddenly realize why this boutique resort cold not have another name. Here , the comfortable vintage style resort which has 21 luxurious guest rooms set among the lush tropical garden. Discover the truth of Krabi natural beauty, experience real serenity and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your The Cliff Ao Nang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Cliff Ao Nang Krabi
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Ao Nang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.