We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great nature resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Sainai Resort

Save Saved
You added Ban Sainai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ban Sainai Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 M.2, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, Get 25% Off
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great nature resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Dont miss this Place. It is really gorgious. Like staying in a garden, singing birds, apes, fish in the lake down by the restaurant etc. Poolarea is great, big and very nice. Lots of parasolls. We Think its a 5- or 4+ resort. When the Girls in the restaurant learned som English it is a 5. The breakfast is great, even Roti panncakes with choclate or what you want. I Think it is improved by the autumn/Winter. Service on this resort is just great, 5+, best we had in eight Thailand-trips. For example we are asked twice by manegment in first week what we think they can improve, woaw. You are best.
And-shuttle to beach every two hour. Wanna go inbetween, you are on beach in five minutes.
Note - this is a dry resort, but bears etc in fridge is no problem. Maybe the drinking russians stay away. On the fourth day I drove around AoNang like a maniac looking for stay for week two. With
a smile I Went back and booked whole week two. Had to change cottage a couples of time but, all is good. Maybe. 1101 - 1109 is best. They are big, 24m2, coconute has even bathtub. The verandas is just World class, some evenings we just stayed there. And the surroundings with the Cliff, just gorgeous.
Note - the Place is opened in july 13. 24 new bungalows is going to bild. We payed 3000THB/night, I hope they dont raise prices, TOO much. Else, I be back

W-Fi is really OK, not like home, but OK, FOUR Reuters.

Note - in AoNang, dont eat western food, the quality really stinks, there is good places, but dont go nowhere without checking on Tripadvisor. On the fourth day we saw the sig, Wood oven Italian pizzas, by Pakistanier. Well - they took it out of the fridge, and in the Micro. On table in two minutes. But there is good places, but look on Tripadviser first. The Carnivore, is great, and Thaifood in AoNang cousine is great, and very cheap, 90THB for Phad Thai. Not so happy though, maybe too cheap!
And dont miss the Thai people way LEFT on the beach, almost to the apes, THRUU the gate. Really relaxing, and cheap-cheap. I took massage 10 times, 200THB for normal Thai. Well...

Room Tip: 1101 - 1109, almost all have shadow in the afternoon. Important in my World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hathaitat, Manager at Ban Sainai Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Kjell,

Greetings from Ban Sainai Resort!
And thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor and also in google and etc.

We are delighted to know that you had been having a wonderful time spending your few weeks with us.

On behalf of everyone here at Ban Sainai, I'd like to take this opportunity again to express our sincere gratitude to your kind stay and definitely, for extending another week with us even we ran on the limited cottage availability.

Thank you very much for selecting to stay here, and for giving such useful recommendation so that we shall improve for the better!

For this upcoming season, we hope that we shall meet you here again!

Until then, have a delightful day back home and be healthy!

Warmest Regards,
Ms. Hathaitat Eng-Chuan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It's an absolutely beautiful resort. The gardens are magnificent. It's peaceful and a good 20 min walk from vivid Ao Nang. The resort offers free shuttle to town every 2 hours or you can walk or get a tuk tuk . They also have a very good breakfast and no alcohol is served, but you can bring your own. One thing that could be improved however is the lighting in the room, especially in the bathroom.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

1st good thing was the location
Very near to main road but not noisy n peaceful, yet mountain view
Second good was privacy, unlike normal hotels, comfortable villa
3rd good was staff. Helpful friendly cheerful

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Resort Cliff view, only 25 minute Walk / 15 minute jog down the road to the beach, Free shuttle every hour to and from the beach.

Arrived early with wonderful service, checked-in at 11 am with two hour wait for room, but they held our bags for us while we change in the exotic toilets set near reception (and one at the pool) enjoyed the pool with drinks and relaxed under the sun. With beach balls and towels ready for us all.

They took our bags to our room for us with the keys already setting the air-con in motion. They led us into a BIG room (bungalow, we only paid less than a hundred dollars a night) next to the pool. BIG bathroom, BIG balcony, bigger than any rooms 3 - 5 star hotels I have ever visited.

Indulge the view you get, ours was by the pool, looking out to the far mountain view, it was still magical to be staring at.

Decorated wonderfully and always clean every-time we got back from our day. Shower was magnificent, and planet friendly.

Free water and tea, everyday (unlike other hotels that charge you an arm and a leg for anything you consume from within the room), no extra charge for those after we left.

Breakfast has great variety mix of asian, health, and western style. Great view at the restaurant out to the pond.

Resort is intimate, helpful with car rentals, trips and tours recommendation, even when all our tours were booked ourselves and not through the resort management, they called to check when the tours were late for us.

Shampoo, Conditioner and Soap refills, were enough to shower four times a day, and they refill them every day for us.

Close to MANY restaurant if you are willing to stroll out.

Saturday and Sunday nights are a dream to check out the street night market right in the Alley where the resort is.



I am impressed with the service, cleanliness and the room.


I would recommend that anyone visiting Thailand, not treat any staff as servants, as they will be of much more help and happier to serve you and make your stay even more wonderful, if you speak to all of them as equal human beings (I saw too many ungrateful guests treating them like dung, it is quite sad to see at a holiday/vacation destination)


I guarantee you will enjoy your stay the most. It's quite leafy :D


P.S. please don't mind the mess in the photos, we took them the day we were leaving, :'(

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at ban sainai for 5 days from.7 Jan.
Great individual cottages set around a lovely pool area.
Great staff who spoke good English.
(as my Thai is limited to a handfull of words)..Dom who works in the pool sala and the guy who drives the shuttle bus were very friendly.


The only bad thing I could say is that the restaurant food wasn't the greatest. Also they don't serve alcohol in the resort but it is ok to bring your own to enjoy by the pool.

Free shuttle bus into ao nang was good also. Walking it to about 15 mins.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Lovely resort with breathtaking view far enough away from ao nang but close enough if you want hussle and bussle. Really friendly staff and pool man Don is half English and can advise you on so much thank you Don got charger in lotus!!
Breakfast is good sometimes a tad cold but they will warm up anything for you.
Lovely big room we had jacuzzi bath which was huge and very indulgent.
Overall really loved ban sainai and would return if we ever go back that way - thank you all staff

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Newly opening hotel. Nice swimming pool under the spectacular limestone cliff. Friendly staff with wide and clean rooms. Restaurent is on the construction but bet it would be great. Of course i will be back if i visit Krabi. Happy new year Um.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ban Sainai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sainai Resort

Address: 550 M.2, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ban Sainai Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAN SAINAI RESORT is located among tranquil tropical greeneries with its unique setting on a small hill, surrounded by coconut groves against a backdrop of sheer limestone cliffs. The resort simply presents a lifestyle of the locals, with a lush environment and breathtaking nature-made beauty. Staying with us, you will enjoy your holiday with our saltwater system swimming pool overlooking limestone cliffs as a magnificent backdrop. Plus the comfort of the private deluxe cottages that makes your holiday even more peaceful & memorable. The resort style is not only inspired and designed for those stylish needs but also for restful holiday seekers. Ban Sainai Resort offers 25 simple yet comfortable deluxe cottages, divided into 5 categories; The Cliff, The Coconut, The Pond, The Sainai Jacuzzi & The Family Cottage which is ideal for family with connecting door. Each cottage is with unique Southern Thai style with a private balcony and a seating area. Each spacious cottage equipped finely with an Air-Condition, Flat TV & Satellite, Safety Deposit Box and An En Suite Bathroom. The resort features an outdoor pool running by saltwater system which is gentle to your skin. Refreshing soft drinks, freshly brewed coffee or choices or mocktails are ready to be served for you at the Pool Sala. At Ban Sainai Resort, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ban Sainai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sainai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Sainai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.