We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrummy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant

Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant
262/7 Moo 2, Soi 11 Leelavalley, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 89 735 0605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 186 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at Leela Valley, Aonang Soi.11 Near MiTi Resort. Small Thaifood restaurant, Table reservation should be make before visiting. Operating Time:8.00Am.-2.00Pm. And 5.00Pm.-9.30Pm. Monday closed. Break time between 2.00Pm.-5.00Pm.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scrummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Had several of my meals here whilst on holiday good choice on the menu, staff very friendly always had a smile nothing to much trouble and the price of there food was very reasonable to ,I will go back in the future very busy little place to go highly recommend booking a table so you don't miss out !

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    71
    22
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The best Thai food I ever tasted. A bit off from the tourist roads but I guess that's why this place got it's charm. 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Mids
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Lovely food, lovely staff, cosy location and a great night at a very reasonable place - definitely recommend

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

For me exploring local food is one of the main reasons for travelling in the first place and although I think the best and cheapest way to do this is by going to the local markets, specially in Asia, it is sometimes also very nice to just chill out in a nice little restaurant that provides a sample of the local cuisine.
The Tom Ma Yom restaurant is exactly that.
Stumbling across it by accident because my accommodation was almost next to it, I went there several times for breakfast, for lunch and for diner.
It serves a mixture of Thai food and some western dishes although the main focus is on authentic local food.
The first thing I noticed after a initial glance at their menu showed a Thai breakfast set in addition to the continental breakfasts which was a first for me and deserves a bonus point before even tasting the food.
The Tom Ma Yom has a decent menu that combines Thai classics like the rice soup, papaya salad, snapper with lemon sauce with more western orientated dishes like hamburgers and pasta.
The western dishes I saw looked good, where homemade and came in decent portions but I haven't tasted them.
The Thai food was prepared with great care and the taste was well balanced, very authentic and very tasty.
I'm under the impression that the cook in this restaurant is a highly trained professional but the kind that focuses on the taste and freshness of the food instead of the presentation.
Not that there was anything wrong with the plating but it served the food and not vice versa like in too many tourist traps.
The fact that they serve dishes with raw ingredients like shrimp proves in my opinion this point because normally you would not put that kind of dishes on your menu if you are not 150% sure of the freshness of your products.
The fact that reservation in the evening might be a good idea and the fact that the restaurant is frequented by locals and tourists equally is another good indicator of the quality of the Tom Ma Yom restaurant.
When compared with other restaurants in Krabi I encountered in the main tourist area the prices are below average.
To me this shows that you don't necessarily have to be greedy to make a living with a high quality restaurant. Just focus on the essentials: products, cooking skills and hospitality.
Make no mistake. This place is run smoothly and efficiently. Just remember that everything is cooked fresh so take your time to appreciate the food.
The conclude I would also like to mention that special requests when within reasonable boundaries will always be taken in to account and after conferring with the kitchen will be obliged.
This place will be on to do list every time I visit Krabi.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Ton Ma Yom is the kind of restaurant that you will want to go to everyday. The food is remarkable. We loved everything we got, but here are the real highlights: Lychee shake, the seafood curry in a coconut (yes, actually in the coconut) and the whole steamed fish with lemon grass and chilies. On top of this, the wait staff is simply amazing. We not only ate great food, but we also learned Thai, laughed a lot and got to know the meaning of the "Land of Smiles." And, lest we forget, the location and decor are great. You feel like you've found the secret gem of Ao Nang!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ton Ma Yom Thai Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.