We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting meal - very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanna's Place

Wanna's Place
32/1 Moo 2 | The L Resort, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
075637484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 186 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Swiss, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wanna’s Place Restaurant located direct at the beachfront of ao nang with breathtaking view to the andaman seaproviding varieties of Thai and Swiss dishes.SPECIAL"STEAK ON HOT STONE"
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really interesting meal - very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great to be able to eat great steak, Thai, Swiss and Italian in one meal. We had to wait as there was a huge table of about 16 that seemed entrenched for the evening which threw the timing off. Also several tables where the guests were all using PDAs after the meal! I guess they just don't shoo these folks off!

We ordered the spring rolls for an appetizer which were tasty. For dinner we had spaghetti bolognese, basil chicken, chicken cordon bleu and rib eye. The steaks are served on a hot stone so continue to cook (kind of like the sizzling plate at Ruth's Chris). All the food was delicious. The host is not as effective as the manager / owner who keep the pace moving.

I would definitely return for a meal here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    103
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, rare find in Ao Nang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had Christmas eve dinner here. Definitely a superb experience. We were a group of 12 and with a couple of kids. Sleepy ones. One slept thru another was sleepy and grumpy all thru dinner. We were greeting very professionally and explain carefully and relentlessly several time as same questions were asked over and over about the hot stone, the meat, the rosti, the various type of potatoes, etc. . .
The restaurant specialty - hot stone lamb was very good, so tender and juicy. It was perfectly complement with three sauces, they are truly out of this world. My two year old daughter polished off one of the sauce with the potatoes croquettes!!!
The desserts were very delicious, not too sweet but tasty!

It is a little bit pricy than other places but it is worth the money for great food and pleasant services.
Thank you for serving a great christmas eve dinner for us while we are so far away from home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korokoro, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I ate the rib eye steak and my wife had the lamb. Both were served on sizzling hotplates with perfectly cooked potato and vegetables to accompany. Service was good and although it cost more than we would normally spend (THB1,800 without wine) it was good value given the quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You must try this place at least once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My partner and me dined here tonight and it wasn't a disappointment for a Christmas dinner. Pleasant staff and good food. More places in Ao Nang should be like this. Definitely would recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had lunch at Wanna's. Tasty curry, good service. I will visit again for the great thai food. I've passed in the evening and could almost not recognize the place. During the day it's almost empty and looks dull, in the evening full to the brim with a nice atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanna's Place also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Wanna's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanna's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.