We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had gone for our office offsite to Krabi and stayed at Holiday Inn. There are quite a few shops, pharmacies, restaurants, etc at walking distance from the hotel. The room was quite spacious with a nice balcony. Also, the food as well as the service was quite good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    393
    138
    44
    24
See reviews for
237
384
28
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We`ve spend a week in Aonang and after we`ve made all the researches, have decided to go for Holiday Inn
On the day of the arrival, the receptionist looked a little bit concerned when she saw us… The manager approached us and explained that they had some issues with the pluming and they will have to send us to another hotel near- by until the next day when the pluming would have been fixed
We were disappointed and I was really keep to unpack and after Hong Kong and Singapore I wasn`t looking further to spend one night at some random hotel
Not sure if they really had issues with the pluming or not as we had 2 rooms booked and I find it hard to believe that both had issues
My feeling is that probably they had overbooked the rooms (the hotel has fully booked for the next couple of weeks)
Anyway, they looked very concerned and have decided not to ruin my holiday for a misunderstanding like this one. After all, it was only one night
As a sign of thank you, they have given us free breakfast for all 8 days, a free lunch (with drinks) and a free dinner (with drinks as well) + they have upgraded our rooms
We have spend that night at Mercure Hotel – I wasn`t impressed! The room was small and not very clean – old furniture, a mini bar with the price list written on a piece of paper. But it was just one night
The second morning, as promised, Holiday Inn send a car to pick us up. This time the experience was different. We had 2 absolutely amazing rooms on top floor. Huge terrace, beautiful room, well equipped bathroom.
It was a very nice room!
I must say that I`m glad I didn`t paid for the breakfast because if I would have had, then I would have been very disappointed. First, the restaurant is way too small for the number of guests. If you don`t go early in the morning or very late, then you risk to stand for a while until you will get a table. They won`t take you to the table so you`ll have to find your way around
The food is very poor and basic. Few salads, egg station, some local food (for those of you who can eat that food at 8 o’clock in the morning!) and fruits.
I don`t recommend the coffee either. If you stay only for couple of days, then you will find something (cereals one morning, eggs in other, toast) but if you stay for longer, then I would recommend not to pay for this breakfast. There is a nice small coffee shop next to the hotel where we had an amazing coffee and a croissant (Doi Chang) Go and try this in the morning (you won`t regret it!)
We tried the free lunch which is ok – no one seems to eat lunch at the restaurant and they all prefer to grab something right at the pool but I would recommend you try one lunch. They have some nice soups, pizza, club sandwich and salads. The dinner (that we had for free as wee) is expensive and it`s not worth it. I think this hotel has a huge problem with the food in general. They should probably consider improving the quality of food and also, give the guests some special offers. When we had dinner it was literally only us and the restaurant looked deserted
The pool is very nice but the main issue is that people go early in the morning and “reserve” the sun beds by leaving books and towels on them… We have decided to stay on our balcony where we had some nice sun beds as well and from time to time we just went a had a swim in the pool and walked back
There isn`t any noise made by the renovation. We were concerned when we read the reviews but honestly, I didn`t heard a noise during the all week.
The location of the hotel is great. You are only minutes away from the centre and the beach is right in front of the hotel (you just have to cross the street)
In the evening, try the Boogie Bar (in the centre) They have live music and a very nice atmosphere – go before 9 otherwise you will struggle to get a table

All in one, if you will get a good deal on this hotel , then it`s worth it as it has a good location and the rooms are ok
Don`t pay for the breakfast though!
I don`t regret that I`ve booked it and if I would go back to Aonang, I would probably stay here as there aren`t many options in the area

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived to Holiday inn here in Ao Nang after visited another wonderful holiday inn resort in Patong. But dispite their higher price this was not at all what we hoped for. The restaurant had pretty good food but the service wasn't, they didn't speak much english and the food was always late and when one of us was finished the other one just got it.
The poolrooms where very nice, very nice decorated but on the second day something looking like fungus or some algea showed up. I pointed this out to the staff and showed them the algeas and the dead lizard but nothing happend. So almost non of the hotel guests visited the pool this day. It was disapointing that they didn't care about this or tried to explain to us what it was or if we could swim in the water?

The airconditioner was very loud and some system outside our door made it hard for us to sleep. The room was very nice decorated but it didn't had the perfect last touch, some cracks and so on.

The cleaning was okey, they could have changed our towels a bit more often, specially the ones we had on the floor to dry out feets after the bath. But otherwise okey!

This hotel could have got a lot higher points from us, but since the service wasn't so good, the loud noise in the nights and that the water was infected it gets a lot lower points for us.

Room Tip: The rooms with pool are very nice, but maybe the AC is more quiet higher up?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have noted all your comments and kind advice and share it in details with all the Team, our apology for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us.
On the other hand, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.
Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Ao Nang, for nine nights at the beginning of March and had a wonderful time. With my wife and one year old boy were her parents, sister and boyfriend and we all left feeling relaxed and very positive about our stay.

The hotel is about a 30 minute drive from Krabbi airport and at the other end of the main Ao Nang strip, so away from the brighter lights, street hawkers and restaurants and opposite a more quiet stretch of beach.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a family room in the new wing, which had two large rooms, a bathroom and massive balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Our bedroom had a large comfy bed with duvet and a set of great pillows, something very simple that many hotels get wrong. The main room had a cot for the boy as well as bunk beds, a sofa and a couple of armchairs.

The bathroom had a large shower area with rain shower and separate hand held shower head. There was a small sink for little people as well as the main sink for adults, both stocked with generous amounts of toiletries.

The hotel itself was very well appointed with good facilities. It has three decent sized pools with one for kids that had water slides, although note that there aren't any lifeguards on duty. There's a decent gym and a spa where we had a lovely massage that wasn't as cheap as the local street ones, but didn't cost the world.

There's a kid's club where you can leave the older kids to take part in activities or mess around in the ball pit. You can also supervise your little ones and this was a welcome facility during the heat of the day.

Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and while busy at peak times, you only had to queue for the eggs/omelette station and when coffee or pancakes ran out, staff were quick to replenish. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but the buffet looked tempting.

One tip, should you be travelling with a little one, is that at the hotel and almost everywhere we went in Thailand, the high chairs for babies don't come with straps - they're just open high chairs. Therefore, keeping your child secure and safe isn't easy. Luckily, we had one of those portable cotton baby seats that straps the child in to any chair and I think these are a must if you want to keep them seated safely.

Next door to the hotel are two mini-marts, so getting cheap water, beer or food was easy enough. There's also a group of modern huts selling smoothies, ice cream and snacks, which were good, cheap options to grab for lunch on the go.

Just a note on the staff - they were all absolutely lovely, as you come to expect in Thailand. They remembered the name of our little boy (although they kept thinking he was a girl!) and made a fuss of him at all times. They were happy to stop and chat and provide advice as necessary and really made our stay that much more welcome.

If we went back to Ao Nang, we would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side of the hotel, this is also the side that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were staying at this hotel for 10 days. This facility is located on a quite large plot of land so that sufficient space is created for hotel guests. The area has everything you need with number of shops, pharmacies, currency exchange points and restaurant located within a walking distance from the hotel. There is a mini shopping-centre located on the right (when leaving the hotel). The restaurants located there served - in my opinion - the cheapest and the most delicious food in the village. Also, the massage facility located there is the best we've ever experienced in Thailand. You know what you pay for. Please keep in mind that this massage facility was full in the afternoon and evenings so it is recommended either to pre-book the massage or to go there during the day. Delicious coffee can be bought at coffee kiosk on the beach, a bit left from the hotel. It's run by a very nice young couple. On the contrary, I don't recommend dining at Laguna Beach Bar located on the other side of the road (just behind the coffee kiosk). The food was OK but the bill was always (slightly) different from what you've seen on the menu. I recommend the supermarket on the right when leaving the hotel, not on the left as the latter one is hugely overpriced. The beach can be reached after having crossed a busy road. It's not very busy but also not the nicest one in the area. Other beaches, including those located on the islands nearby can be reached by water taxi located close to the hotel (a bit on the left when leaving the hotel).
We liked the idea of 2 swimming pools, one with facilities with the kids, the other one without. This enabled full relaxation to those who rather prefer the silence and no kids running between the sunbeds. The place at the swimming pool was always easy to find. Breakfast choice was average (I mean not bad but nothing special) with the awful , burnt coffee served from the canes on the upper lever of the breakfast area. It's much better to take the coffee from the machine on the lower level although. The taste is still not great but it's not burnt at least. The juices were too sweet and tasting not very naturally.
We took the grand deluxe room and we were very happy with it. The design was a mixture of the modern style with some elements of the traditional Asian design. The room had a large terrace where you could enjoy your drinks. The bathroom was very spacious incl. separate shower area and the tube.
The staff were very nice and ready to assist you whenever you want. Wi-fi is a major downside of this hotel. It simply does not work properly, particularly in the evening when everybody tries to get connected to the mailbox. Accessing the network might take up to 30 minutes and the network can interrupt your connection every time which is quite depressing.
Given the price of EUR 170 per room-night we paid for the hotel, we expected a bit more. It is certainly better than 3 stars but I have some doubts if it should deserve 4.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have noted all your comments and kind advice and share it in details with all the Team, our apology for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us.
On the other hand, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.
Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Disappointed with this holiday inn. We stayed in kids suite. Unlike Phuket, they do have enough entertainment in-room for kids, as well as the kids club closed too early. The staff at kids club were very friendly thou. But, I don't like the idea that they walk our kids back to our room. They should have called. The shower room in the adult bedroom does not come with a shelf. You have to place your bottles of toiletries on the floor. Expensive accommodation in Krabi. But came with adequate variety of breakfast selection. No free airport transfer from this HI resort, location of the resort is not prominent from main road.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have noted all your comments and kind advice and share it in details with all the Team, our apology for any inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us.
On the other hand, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services. We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.
Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-sea Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there from 11 March till 18 March. Asked for room on 3rd floor overlooking pool & got it. Friendly, helpful staff. Enjoyed choice of breakfast. On arrival, I was wished happy birthday & girl had made me 2 elephants out of towels, which was a lovely touch!On the negative side, need more drawers for storage & only choice of meal in evening was buffet at 850b, which we felt expensive!On the whole,thought it was great!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Good Morning and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Address: 123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary boutique resort of SALA TALAY is located on Ao Nang Beach. Unlike nearly all of the other resorts in Krabi, we are actually right on the beach, surrounded by lush tropical trees and greenery. We are one of the newest and most contemporary of the resorts in Ao Nang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.