We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 80 hotels in Ao Nang
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“good place enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we stayed here in March 2013.we had to wait a while and was asked to come back after an hour or 1.5hr for checkin as room was not ready and checkin was only after 2pm.since we had requested a sea view with king bed deluxe room which when we went there wasnt available sea view, we were upgraded to the room with sea view but this was next tot he construction site the second unit from construction, sound wasnt that much , room was spacuios and good not much of a sea view the way the hotel is build, i would expect better standards fro holiday inn given the amount we have payed including tax.
But overall comfortable stay and good convinent location

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Oli2m,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your recommendations on TripAdvisor. Your compliments have been passed to the whole team. Please accept our apolgy and we regret the dificulties you may have had at the beginning and we will review our procedures to improvment ourself and our standards for the future.Rest assured we will not become complacent and continue to strive for excellence in service and improve our standards. We look forward to welcoming you again next year and again, thank you.

Sincerely Yours
Marcus Wirsching
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    252
    96
    32
    14
See reviews for
102
255
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Soenderborg, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Sala Talay in april 2012 for 5 nights.
When we arrived at the hotel there was no room us - not even a reservation. I had made the reservation on www.roomsellers.com. I spoke with the hotel manager and she told me that this seller was not authorized as a hotel seller in Thailand.
Luckily there were still available rooms - but not in the same category as I already had paid for. But the hotel manager gave us a Grand Deluxe seaview room for the same price as the standard Deluxe room - very good service.
When we came back from our holiday i got my money back from Roomsellers.com - but I will not recommend this site to others.

The hotel is very nice with a lovely and big pool area. The frontdesk people are helpful and you get a good service.
The room was perfekt with a large terrace.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Holiday Inn Krabi and hope your trip back home was fine.
We appreciate the time you took in sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor with us.
Following to your kind comments, we have shared your feedback in details with all the team.
Hope to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn Krabi,

Kind Regards,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our 2nd visit to Krabi in12 months. We chose the Holiday Inn because we wanted something different &because of its location .Quieter end of Ao Nang, facing a quiet beach (not too clean though) with beautiful sunsets + long tail boat departure point to surrounding islands/beaches opposite hotel and close to all amenities in Ao Nang. 10 min walk to central area or BHT 20 per person to travel around Ao Nang area via Tuk Tuk if you did not feel like walking.

We got annoyed with the constant noise from the construction right next door of the “new” Holiday Inn which is apparently due to open at the end of 2013. Had we known about the construction, we would not have booked to stay here. The construction noise takes place from 8am-7pm daily. You do not need a wakeup call, and definitely will need either your I-pod head phones or airline type ear plugs while sitting on your room patio, laying at the pool side, or if you decide to have a Thai massage at the pool area! We discussed this problem with the manger (Bruno) who offered us alternative accommodation at the Holiday Inn on either Phi Phi or Phuket. Neither options was suitable as we had been to both and had no desire to go back, plus time to travel to/from these destinations would have taken a day off our short stay in Krabi … so not a suitable solution for us. Had we known about the construction here we would have booked at Krabi Village Resort again…..which was great on our previous stay.

Other disappointments were the lack of selection at breakfast …. Not spectacular & definitely not 4 star!
Pool bar staff were very sweet/friendly/helpful, however ran out of “wine by the glass”! Guests need to go to the pool bar if they wanted a drink or pool-side meal … staff don’t walk around asking if anything is required.

Our room was on the first floor (room 2206 facing the reception area) which we were pleased about after a few days stay. If you have a “pool access room” I can’t see how you have any privacy without closing your curtains at all times whilst in your room, and also endure the noise of early morning kids/adults swimming right in front of your room! Only down side about staying on the upper level floors’ facing the reception area is having to walk via some “smelly” areas in the passage ways and need to close your eyes to the disgusting polluted river, garbage & dilapidated buildings at the back of the hotel!

Other irritations were our shower curtains which were covered in mould. These were removed to be cleaned on our 2nd day ….. Never to be returned! Needless to say our bathroom area looked like a mini swimming pool each time we had a shower. Rooms have very, very limited shelf space to pack clothes …. Best to leave it in your suitcase! However room size was good, beds were extra large & lots of extra towels are supplied.

There was a lot of confusion with our mini bar bill when we checked out; and mini bar was replenished in a hap hazard way during our stay …. Never knew what you would find or not find! At least there is a lovely well stocked supermarket at the hotel entrance where we purchased what we needed.

I definitely would not stay here until the new Holiday Inn next door has been built; and the full up-grade of the current Holiday Inn has been done ….. So give it maybe 2 years before looking at staying here!

Room Tip: Not sure what to suggest as all rooms will be subjected to the construction noise from next door. Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the issues which you have experienced. Action has been taken in respect of that situation to avoid any of those situations happening again.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments.

We hope to welcome you back as our guests in the near future so you can experience the improvement since your last visit and especially to experience our wonderful new Rooms and facilities.

Sincerely,
Marcus Wirsching
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in February 2013. This hotel leaves much to be desired. Our room # 2304 was spacious with a comfortable bed but, other than a small wardrobe with coathangers in which screws had been inserted to allow them to hang, there were no drawers or cupboard space so one has to live out of ones suitcase. Immediately on arrival in our room we detected a sewage stench which was masquareded by a scented oil burner over a tee light candle. As the week progressed the stench increased and the more tee light candles and oil had to be requested.! On reflection we should have asked to change rooms but we didn't. More fools us !! The one small positive factor of the room was the spacious patio which faced the sun from 12 noon onwards. However, not all rooms are so positioned

When we booked we were made aware of the adjacent on-going building works and the risk of associated noise. However, whilst we were aware of this it did not bother us at all. The noises in the room during the night bothered us much more i.e. gurgling water, air conditioning units, althought we prefer not to use air conditioning in the room at night so not our fault, and many other unexplained nosies that wakened us from time to time.

The hotel completely lacks any ambience ! The breakfast offered fresh fruit, "fruit juice" which was not real fruit juice, cereal, and a varied buffet of, sausage, bacon etc, fresh eggs, any style, could be ordered but is very basic. They do also cater well for the Asian style breakfast with noodles, chicken, rice etc. The general service leaves much to be desired with plates left on tables and having to frequently ask for coffee repleshinments.

Other than the pool bar there is one other bar located in the hotel lobby. This bar totally lacks atmosphere and on each occasion we returned to the hotel after having had dinner outside at around 21.00hrs there was no-one at the bar. On one occasion we went to the lobby bar during happy hour and ordered a glass of white wine which was included on the happy hour drinks menu. However, we were informed that wine was not included in the happy hour menu and so we could not order wine ! This demonstrated a total lack of customer service, as in actual fact, we would have paid the full price for the wine given the opportunity to buy it ! Interestingly wine was "whited - out" from the happy hour menu thereafter !

Overall our experience was very dissapointing. The room is very basic and noisy, the breakfast is very average, the service could be much improved. This hotel is not what it appears on its web-site ! We commented that it was the Thai version of Fawlty Towers !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Brian M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused you and for falling short of your expectations. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the holiday inn krabi.

On check in we arrived early ( noon) but they manged to sort our room for us so we didn't need to wait around which was great.

The rooms where clean and beds comfortable but the rooms seemed half finished! The walls where grey / concrete like in the room and bathroom. We where also in one of lower rooms which gave direct access to the pool which was great. Two things to note - there isn't huge privacy when people swim past - we where lucky to be at the far end of the pool so people didn't real come past our room. The down side to this was we where right beside the construction site which was noisy during our stay from early morning to mid afternoon.
Also the patio doors did not shut properly - leaving the potential for nozzles to join you in the room at night.

The swimming pool was fantastic- lovely and clean with a swim up bar. It was great also being on the ground floor and stepping into the pool from your balcony.

The breakfast was a good buffet with lots of choice. We also had a pizza from pool bar - it was ok but nothing special.


The hotel is well located within easy walk of the main strip, small supermarket next door and a lovely beach over the road ( it isn't busy)

If we returned to krabi we would definatley stay at this hotel again as hopefully the construction work will be over - which is why we have rated it as a 4 star rather than 5 stars.





  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Holiday Inn Krabi and hope your trip back home was fine.
We appreciate the time you took in sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor with us.
Following to your kind comments, we have shared your feedback in details with all the team.
Hope to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn Krabi,

Kind Regards,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Overall great. Good location, beach right off the road in the front. Big pool with all the rooms on ground floor having pool access. My only problem was when we were staying there, there was construction going on right next to the Hotel, so lot of noise throughout the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyes_Ben_B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Holiday Inn Krabi and hope your trip back home was fine.
We appreciate the time you took in sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor with us.
Following to your comments, we have shared your feedback in details with all the team.
Hope to welcome you back soon to Holiday Inn Krabi,

Kind Regards,
Elyes Ben Brahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

In fairness, there were several things very right with our stay at the hotel, and so, I'll start with the positive.
1. The pool is beautiful, very clean, and every room has either direct pool access or a nice panoramic view of the "action."
2. The hotel location is decent. Just steps away from the front of the hotel, you'll find several restaurants that serve Thai food just right. A 20 minute walk left of the hotel will take you to the main strip for Burger King/Subway and all the tourist trap shops you can handle.
3. The housekeeping staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. While the hotel rooms aren't going to win a 5 star award, they are clean and functional, with 2 free bottles of water provided daily.
4. The front desk staff was good for the most part. I realize I'm in Thailand, and respect that the locals grasp of English is far superior to my grasp of Thai, but working for a US chain, I expect basic English skills to be present in the staff. You'd be hard pressed to communicate a real problem with the front desk currently, but I'm hopeful that standards will improve as the hotel gains traction.
5. The contracted excursions staff was very kind and knowledgeable. While the prices weren't the best in town, we paid a slight premium for a couple of outings and were very pleased with the value received. Don't miss the Tree Top Adventure Park in Krabi!

Unfortunately, we had some very disappointing experiences with the dining at the hotel and the laundry services. Over the course of our stay, we ordered room service 3 times. Each time we tried something different in hopes we would find something very good or great. After a long day of excursion or trekking the beaches, we just wanted to stay in and have a decent meal. First go we ordered a couple of cheese burgers. They were fine. Small, but enough to tie us over until morning. The second time, we ordered a Caesar salad and Penne pasta with red sauce. I should have taken a picture of the salad, but we were just in shock. There was so much dressing, it looked like a bowl of clam chowder. The lettuce had actually wilted as a result of the acid from the vinegar in the dressing. It was disgusting and hilarious at the same time. Our Penne with red sauce was a tomato and cheese pizza. "Pizza," "Penne," we tried to again chalk it up to the language barrier...but, come on. Third try, we went for a steak and spaghetti...no confusing those words, right? The food was delivered as ordered, and while edible, didn't really enhance our opinion of the hotel. Oh, and with the third order, we were scolded by the room service operator for giving her the wrong room number. Uh, if we gave you the wrong room number, how are your calling the right number to yell at me?
Next up was the laundry issue. We used the hotel laundry service for 7 pieces. 3 t shirts, 2 pairs of jeans, and a couple pairs of underwear. Laundry if in by 10am is returned the same day by 6pm. I turned the laundry in at 1005. No problem, I thought maybe I'd get same day service, but was perfectly happy with next day. Well, next day, 7pm...no laundry. I called the front desk and again struggled with the language barrier. I decided just to take my receipt and go downstairs for a face to face meeting. That did the trick, as housekeeping came right up with my laundry. Was all that necessary? It shouldn't have been. The kicker is that my 3 t shirts all had holes punched in the collars to affix a small brown tie of yarn...I have no idea why, maybe for identification? The holes aren't noticeable from the outside of the shirts, but now the integrity of the fabric is compromised. I guess I'll just wait and see how future washes work out. I know they're only t shirts, but Armani ain't cheap, and I work hard for what I have.

We chose this hotel in order to use our IHG points, and I really tried to let all the missteps go...after all, it was a "free" stay. I stay loyal to IHG because problematic hotel stays are a rarity in my experience. I hope my review comes across as helpful, especially to the hotel. The property has much going for it, but a little more investment in the staff and food quality/preparation would make all the difference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear stew4united2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you appreciated the pool as well as our convenient location. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Address: 123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary boutique resort of SALA TALAY is located on Ao Nang Beach. Unlike nearly all of the other resorts in Krabi, we are actually right on the beach, surrounded by lush tropical trees and greenery. We are one of the newest and most contemporary of the resorts in Ao Nang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.