We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in Ao Nang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in Ao Nang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We decided to have a girls only holiday and we opted for Krabi and decided to stay in Ao Nang. After reading many reviews, we decided to stay at Sala Talay. We selected this hotel based on the location of the hotel which is a stone throw away from the beach which is a big plus. This hotel is also fairly new and there are only 28 rooms. It also offers free wifi around the hotel as well as in room which most hotels in Ao Nang does not offer. All you have to do is get a password from the reception when you check in and you're set for the rest of your stay there. If you happen to not have a smartphone or a laptop with you, there are two computer near the lobby that you can access 24 hours a day.

Our rates included breakfast and the spread was good. I must admit I have had better buffet breakfast selections at other hotels but what this hotel offered was more then sufficient. They provided both western and Thai food selection for their breakfast with option to have eggs cooked to your preferences. The view from the breakfast area is beautiful, it overlook the beach in front of the hotel. The service from the staff was good, attentive but not over the top.

The walk into Ao Nang town centre is only a brisk 20 minutes walk from the hotel. We walked into town each day a few times a day and we did it with ease. There are heaps of massage places along the way into town as well as in town and they are pretty much charges the same for their treatments. Honestly, we encountered excellent massages to mediocre massages so you just have to try a few and decide which is best for you. There are also a few 7 eleven along the way which happened to run out of stock on a lot of items due to the bad flood in Bangkok but otherwise it should be sufficient to provide you with all the drinks and snacks that you need. Sala Talay does provide free bottled water every day in room so you need to worry about buying bottled water.

We also decided to do a Phi Phi island hopping day tour and it was fantastic. If you are there, you must do this day tour. There are quite a few tour companies but after much research we opted for Koh Phi Phi Tour company and it was excellent. We paid THB1400 and it included hotel pick up and transfer, lunch and all the activities including gears for snorkelling for the entire day. We have heard many dodgy tour operators but these guys are good. Kept the group to a small manageable amount and the lunch spread was very good.They also provide chilled cold bottled water throughout the day and it was very much needed. We had an amazing time and met some very nice people.

We did ended up trying room service on one of our night there due to the massive storm that hit Krabi. Surprisingly the price the hotel charges was pretty much the same as restaurants along the strip and it was actually good. We also realised that the hotel charges good price for their selection in the mini bar for example they only charged THB40 for a bottle of Evian and THB20 for a can of coke. Even in restaurants, they charged THB40 for a can of coke or equivalent.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We also tried the massage treatment at the Spa in the hotel and it was good. The pool in the hotel was excellent and it was so clean. There is also a bar close by to the pool which you can order drinks and enjoy while swimming in the pool. Though it was a girls only holiday, this place would have been prefect for couples and I will definitely stay at Sala Talay again with my boyfriend the next time I head back to Krabi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    291
    104
    37
    16
See reviews for
135
290
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Dear Friends,
I'm staying Sala Talay Hotel deluxe room in first floor. Very nice and queit place for honeymoon couple. Will visit again for second honeymoon. Haha
The breakfast was a bit English... If there is local options/item will be better.

For shopping and happening you guys can slow walk or take 'tut-tut' (motorbike taxi) will cost you MYR2.00 per person to near by street.

Cheers
Velthan

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed here with my wife Betty for 12 days and have very mixed feelings. The plus points for this hotel are:
1. The location directly across from the lovely beach that curves about 2 miles to 2 small islands that you can walk to at low tide. views absolutely fantastic.
2. Free computers in hotel lobby providing internet access.
3. All areas kept very clean and tidy.
4. Food and drinks from minibar in room very cheap. Hotel food prices very resonable.
5. Very close to dozens of bars/restaurants that are a 40 baht tuk tuk ride away.
The average things about this hotel are as follows:

1. Nice pool area not enough shade available.
2. Rooms need drawers for clothes. A bit to much concrete shown in room for our liking. Bed rather hard.
3. The breakfast staff aways smiling and happy, the reception staff seem fed-up not bothered. After being open for a few years now i would have thought that more of the staff would understand basic english, very few do.

The downside of this hotel are as follows:

1. Breakfasts - Due to none of the cooking staff being able to understand basic english it took 10 days to finally get 2 fried eggs cooked over easy. The hotel was quite busy during our stay but at every breakfast they never had all the food choices available, always empty food trays.
I am not sure how much they charge for breakfast as we had an inclusive price, but turn right out of the hotel and walk about 5 mins to the "A One restaurant" he does a great full english with juice and coffee for less then 200 bahts
2. Happy hour seems to be a bit of a secret. No staff could tell me about it.
3. A few tables and chairs put in the small garden area would have been nice.

Conclusion:

Nice location, but service needs to be improved. If you charge western prices for accomodation then you have to deliver western expectations.

We`would probably stay somewhere else next time we visit Krabi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hi,

I usually don't write reviews but since I found this great resort from reading other people's reviews on tripadvisor, i want to say thanks by writing one of my own for those also looking to see where to stay in krabi.

This resort is one of the nicer ones I saw and ended up staying in Krabi. I highly recommend staying here because it has both the relaxed beach scene and night scene.

It is right across from the beach and only 5 minutes walk from shopping, food carts, and bars. The hotel has an OK continental breakfast. My bf and I ate out for lunch and dinner and they have some nice restaurants along the beach with great views. In addition, the hotel has rooms with access to the swimming pool, which we took advantage of. It was extremely nice to be able to jump in once you return from a long day of excursions. I highly recommend staying here (and booking a room with pool access). We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Krabi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Good size rooms and great bathroom. Internet worked well throught the resort. The pool access rooms are excellent - walk out of your room onto a deck then straight in to pool. Staff are friendly but often not attentive or disappear. The hotel is located a little out of town (5 minutes walk), but this also means it is quieter, especially at night. There is not a lot to see and do in Krabi, our 3 nights was quite long enough.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed as part of our last week travelling round Asia for our honeymoon. After a lot of searching different hotels in Ao Nang we decided this was the one, we booked a Ocean View room which we were pleased we did, the pool access rooms look nice but wouldn't really want to be in the ones opposite the swim up bar. We emailed the hotel twice before we arrived about a airport transfer and was a little disappointed that they didn't even reply. Maybe it was a language issue but thought it would of been nice to at least get a reply. When we arrived we were able to check in early which was brilliant as we had landed at 0800 so just wanted to check in and get settled. The room was lovely, big and clean and we could not fault at all for the whole week. The breakfast is basic after reading lots of reviews on here we were not expecting much but it was ok, similar to other hotels we had stayed in for the previous 3 weeks. The location we thought was perfect for us, walking distance or 20 baht each tuk tuk to the centre of Ao Nang, but lovely and peaceful and opposite the beach. Please note if you have not been to Ao Nang before most of the hotels are away from the beach up side roads. Overall this hotel was perfect for our honeymoon and we would definately stay here again if we were to return. One thing to mention was the trips they offer at the hotel were quite expensive compared to the many tour desks situated in Ao Nang and also when we did ask the hotel desk about airport transfer once we were there they quoted 800 baht, on average its 500-600 by private taxi or 150 in shared minibus, which we used to get back and there was only 4 of us in the minibus. We booked the shared minibus by the tour desk to the left of Jeanettes restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Sala Talay (tried rooms both on 2nd and 3rd floor). The rooms were what you can expect for this price. We were a bit disappointed by the service however. One morning, at 9AM we went down to ask for fresh beach towels and were informed that there is none, we should come back later. The night before checking out, we asked the front desk to book us a taxi to the airport, and were informed that they can only provide us the transfer by the hotel (for double price compared to what you can book at any agency on the streets). She said that she can't call us one ('the telephone is expensive Miss, and you only have to walk 5 minutes to get to the agency'). On the other hand, the room attendents were nice and helpful. We were happy that we didn't book the pool access room, those totally lack privacy and view. The free wifi was a nice addition.

Room Tip: avoid top floor and pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Address: 123 Moo 3 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary boutique resort of SALA TALAY is located on Ao Nang Beach. Unlike nearly all of the other resorts in Krabi, we are actually right on the beach, surrounded by lush tropical trees and greenery. We are one of the newest and most contemporary of the resorts in Ao Nang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.