We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baanthara Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Baanthara Guesthouse to your Saves list
Baanthara Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baanthara Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   225/1 M.5 Aonang, Muang, Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 10800, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 91 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After an 8 hour journey we arrived at Baan Thara where the lady behind the desk didn't seem to speak any English and was unable to find our booking. She didn't seem bothered to help very much and just looked tired.

When we got to the room we noticed it seemed semi cleaned. Further inspection found hairs all over the bathroom sink and items left in the fridge from the previous guests.

Looked outside at our 'view' and it just over looks garbage and what looks like a car repair shop. There are just bags and bags of garbage everywhere outside.

There is nothing nearby and the room smells a little bit like stale urine.

You are much better off spending a few extra dollars to stay near the beach. We were planning on staying here for 3 nights but we are checking out ASAP.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here because we booked through TAT up in Bangkok. A complete scam, never book anything through a tourist information place!! Even through TAT ruined our southern trip by booking us in crappy places, this one turned out to be alright. Really nice staff/owner, clean, quite, no complaints really. Fridge in the room which was great, nice size closet, and nice bathroom. Our room looked out to a trash dump, which sucked, but whatever. Bed was pretty comfy. The location is isolated, and there was no one staying when we were there. Great if you want quite, not great if you are young and trying to meet people. You will need a motorbike to get to everything from the hotel, but its nice to be away from all the mayhem though. I wouldn't say it was amazing, but I wouldn't say it sucked either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this guest house for only one night,because we wanted somewhere more central in Ao Nang. Its the perfect place to stay if you have a scooter or other means of transport. Its a 40 baht fee to Ao Nang. The hotel itself is very pleasant with clean modern rooms. Free coffee downstairs in the morning. Its run by a friendly family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed 2 nights with my friend here in May 2013. The entire place was much nicer than expected. The family/owners were so friendly and easy going. The rooms were very nice, with full shower, nice beds, cold AC, and good wifi. They have free coffee/tea/etc in the lobby 24 hours. The place is directly off a main road, and about 10-15 minutes walk to the pier and beach. You can also take a tuk tuk to the touristy area of Ao Nang for about 40-50 bhat a person (or walk about 30 minutes). If you want to experience any nightlife you will need to do so, as there are only a few small food stands around the guest house. Not a bad place to have as a base camp to explore Ao Nang.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at Baanthara Guesthouse in February 13 and i really loved it. The rooms are great and the people that own the guesthouse are so lovely and really helpful. The beach is just 10 minutes walking distance from the Guesthouse, there is a supermarket very close to it as well as a restaurant and a place where you can get cheap food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This guest house should be 5* it is so clean and modern. The staff are so helpful and overly friendly. It's in a quiet location just 5 minutes from the beach. If u follow the beach round there are tonns of bars and restaurants. Cannot say a bad word about this guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

excellent place to stay. very friendly family owners. trying to help with everything. Very good local place to eat across the street. Doesn't look gerat but teh food was tasty and very cheap.
Unfortunately not many activiteis at these location. Overall great!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baanthara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baanthara Guesthouse

Address: 225/1 M.5 Aonang, Muang, Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 10800, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baanthara Guesthouse 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Baanthara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanthara Guesthouse Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baanthara Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.