We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Palace

Bombay Palace
27/1 moo 2,Ao Nang Beach Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 86 952 3829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 214 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Vegetarian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ao Nang, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The atmosphere were incredible, clean and gave a wonderful Indian atmosphere. The service was excellent and they offer anything you could expect from a good Indian restaurant.
They do try to make you to pick the more expensive food and suggest additions to your order but that is mostly to make you enjoy your food and your visit there even more.
Me myself don't like Indian food to much because I don't like strong spicy food but they have very good alternetivs and they only make your food so strong as you wish it to be.
Good value for the quality food. Amazing environment and relly good service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bédarieux, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very clean and pleasant restaurant away from the main tourist street. Only tried the Indian menu which was varied and the dishes we took were tasty and met expectations. Beware though they do try and "up sell" expensive items and suggest additions to your order. Nice environment and good service. Good value for the quality food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We called to make reservations for 5 people on the patio for 6:30pm. When we arrrived, the restaurant was empty and they had not set up a table for us. When I told them that I had called and made a reservation on the patio, one of the [owners] told us that we should not sit on the patio because there were things falling from the trees. But there was a table on the patio that was under a tent structure, so they dragged 2 tables together. To start off, the patio tables were not looking very clean and were stained. Anyway, we ordered our food and they kept trying to upsell us on other dishes that were more expensive. When we got our food, we realized that we never actually got one of the dishes that we ordered. Instead we got 2 of the same dishes (the more expensive one). The food was just ok, not what we expected and too expensive for what you get.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghai-rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

the food was not hot with bad taste and too many mosquitoes.

Inspite of this the guy at the hotel kept saying that u wont find better food than bombay palace anywhere in krabi.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

As you may think the Indian food in Thailand cannot be good you're wrong. The interior of the restaurant is really ascetic so at the first glance you would have to hesitate to enter but finally if you decide to go you will find out the quality of the food and the professional service as really great. I'm not sure if it's there a real Tandoor fireplace as it should be a standard in Indian restaurant but in general the dishes was really tasty, fresh and delicious. One recommendation: put aside Thai's menu (we have tried Tom Yum and it was average) and select ones from the Indian's menu. After that you will finally find out why in Indian's restaurant you have to select Indian's menu :-)

Recommended option: BBQ Chicken on a hot plate with garlic Naan.

Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Bombay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing