We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Palace

Bombay Palace
27/1 moo 2,Ao Nang Beach Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 86 952 3829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 164 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bédarieux, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very clean and pleasant restaurant away from the main tourist street. Only tried the Indian menu which was varied and the dishes we took were tasty and met expectations. Beware though they do try and "up sell" expensive items and suggest additions to your order. Nice environment and good service. Good value for the quality food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    126
    27
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We called to make reservations for 5 people on the patio for 6:30pm. When we arrrived, the restaurant was empty and they had not set up a table for us. When I told them that I had called and made a reservation on the patio, one of the [owners] told us that we should not sit on the patio because there were things falling from the trees. But there was a table on the patio that was under a tent structure, so they dragged 2 tables together. To start off, the patio tables were not looking very clean and were stained. Anyway, we ordered our food and they kept trying to upsell us on other dishes that were more expensive. When we got our food, we realized that we never actually got one of the dishes that we ordered. Instead we got 2 of the same dishes (the more expensive one). The food was just ok, not what we expected and too expensive for what you get.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

the food was not hot with bad taste and too many mosquitoes.

Inspite of this the guy at the hotel kept saying that u wont find better food than bombay palace anywhere in krabi.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

As you may think the Indian food in Thailand cannot be good you're wrong. The interior of the restaurant is really ascetic so at the first glance you would have to hesitate to enter but finally if you decide to go you will find out the quality of the food and the professional service as really great. I'm not sure if it's there a real Tandoor fireplace as it should be a standard in Indian restaurant but in general the dishes was really tasty, fresh and delicious. One recommendation: put aside Thai's menu (we have tried Tom Yum and it was average) and select ones from the Indian's menu. After that you will finally find out why in Indian's restaurant you have to select Indian's menu :-)

Recommended option: BBQ Chicken on a hot plate with garlic Naan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We also stayed next door to this restaurant & had daily exchanges with the very friendly tout usually about cricket. Wasn't sure that I wanted Indian food when I was here as I love Thai food so much, but we were really glad we did as the food was fantastic!!! We were told what was on offer & what would go with what.One of the dishes we had was the Chicken Tawa, which is a dish served on a hot plate we hadnt tried this before & it was yum!!!! Over all we loved the food & the staff were polite & friendly as well. If we had been there longer we would have gone back for a 2nd visit just to try out some of their other dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Palace also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.