We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hilltop

The Hilltop
99 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+6675637195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 145 restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the setting is terrific , the foodgood and wonderful music--american. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    135
    109
    46
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I may be wrong, but while we were in Thailand, it seemed to me like it was impossible to get anything remotely resembling a poor meal. Almost every meal we had, whether it be from a dodgy looking small sidewalk restaurant in Bangkok or a fancy resort restaurant in Koh Pi Pi, was better and more extraordinary than the one before it. But even amongst such competition, the Hilltop restaurant, in terms of food, venue and service stood out from the crowd. The setting is superb: A primarily outdoor restaurant, nestled against a very steep hill in Ao Nang, Krabi, with breathtaking views of Ao Nang Bay (it is also a prime spot from where to enjoy the sunset).
The menu caters to a wide variety of tastes, including most traditional Thai dishes, seafood and some Western specialty dishes. We enjoyed our meal so much on our first visit to the restaurant, that even though our time in Ao Nang was limited, we opted to return to the restaurant the following day again. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed, while the staff members are very friendly and very helpful. The service was excellent (not only at the restaurant itself, but also beforehand, when the manager arranged for the restaurant’s driver to collect us from our hotel).
The restaurant is a must stop for any one that finds themselves in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere else
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal in Thailand in six months.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The title says it all really. The location is good, but all of the meat we were given (chicken, pork, duck, squid) was bland and dry. Curries and sauces were so far from the right flavourings it is ridiculous. I would be embarrassed to serve food like that, and you are expected to pay for it? The service was so poor that the waitress apologized to us. Go for a drink at sunset, but go anywhere else for food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best venues in Ao Nang. Perched up high on a "Hilltop" we where given a recommendation to try it out and certainly did not disappoint !!!
The service could have been better as food was not coming out at the right times, but when it did it was delicious.
We ate there on the 30 Dec which would have been one of the busiest nights of the season for them !!!
They have only been open for less than a year but after chatting to one of the owners, I can see that it won't take long for this place to get to one of the top 5 restaurants in the area !!!
Give it a go !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

fantastic view from the hill and exquisite menu. Take a taxi!! Otherwise you are sweating and can't enjoy your meal. Live music on 6 days/week. Playing western music!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hilltop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.