We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hilltop

The Hilltop
99 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 75 637 195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 214 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the setting is terrific , the foodgood and wonderful music--american. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Town
2 reviews
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I may be wrong, but while we were in Thailand, it seemed to me like it was impossible to get anything remotely resembling a poor meal. Almost every meal we had, whether it be from a dodgy looking small sidewalk restaurant in Bangkok or a fancy resort restaurant in Koh Pi Pi, was better and more extraordinary than the one before it. But even amongst such competition, the Hilltop restaurant, in terms of food, venue and service stood out from the crowd. The setting is superb: A primarily outdoor restaurant, nestled against a very steep hill in Ao Nang, Krabi, with breathtaking views of Ao Nang Bay (it is also a prime spot from where to enjoy the sunset).
The menu caters to a wide variety of tastes, including most traditional Thai dishes, seafood and some Western specialty dishes. We enjoyed our meal so much on our first visit to the restaurant, that even though our time in Ao Nang was limited, we opted to return to the restaurant the following day again. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed, while the staff members are very friendly and very helpful. The service was excellent (not only at the restaurant itself, but also beforehand, when the manager arranged for the restaurant’s driver to collect us from our hotel).
The restaurant is a must stop for any one that finds themselves in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere else
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst meal in Thailand in six months.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The title says it all really. The location is good, but all of the meat we were given (chicken, pork, duck, squid) was bland and dry. Curries and sauces were so far from the right flavourings it is ridiculous. I would be embarrassed to serve food like that, and you are expected to pay for it? The service was so poor that the waitress apologized to us. Go for a drink at sunset, but go anywhere else for food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank restlessaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best venues in Ao Nang. Perched up high on a "Hilltop" we where given a recommendation to try it out and certainly did not disappoint !!!
The service could have been better as food was not coming out at the right times, but when it did it was delicious.
We ate there on the 30 Dec which would have been one of the busiest nights of the season for them !!!
They have only been open for less than a year but after chatting to one of the owners, I can see that it won't take long for this place to get to one of the top 5 restaurants in the area !!!
Give it a go !!

Helpful?
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

fantastic view from the hill and exquisite menu. Take a taxi!! Otherwise you are sweating and can't enjoy your meal. Live music on 6 days/week. Playing western music!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hilltop also viewed

 

Been to The Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing