We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crepes to start your day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiling Dog Cafe

Smiling Dog Cafe
39/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66809298297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 147 restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Smiling Dog Cafe serves gourmet coffee and crepes without the gourmet price tag. We serve a wide variety of hot and iced drinks and breakfast all day.Crepes All of our crepes are made fresh at the time of order. Many people are familiar with delicious sweet crepes, such as our Chunky Monkey with Chocolate and Banana, or our Caramel Apple with Caramel and Apple. What many people are not familiar with is our wonderfully hearty savory crepes, such as our Ham & Cheese, Tex-Mex with Taco Beef, Cheese and Veggies, or our Philadelphia with Salmon and Cream Cheese. Whatever your craving, our Sweet & Savory Crepes are sure to satisfy without breaking the bank!
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crepes to start your day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I visited the Smiling Dog Cafe several mornings before heading off to explore the region. Decent quality crepes, a nice selection of toppings, and friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    22
    15
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ao Nang, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Even much more than Crepes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Delicious crepes are a sure thing at Smiling Dog Cafe but do you know that they have scooters for rent and laundry service as well? It makes things convenient for travellers in Ao Nang. Imagine riding to/from your hotel for a sumptuous breakfast, enjoying a morning coffee and picking up the laundry before you start your day in Krabi. Don't it sound like a perfect morning routine? And if you come late in the afternoon, they may have some BBQ chicken and beef sticks available for a quick bite as well. The service here couldn't be better. Keep it up!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
2 reviews
“Great western breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Fast service, even when understaffed. Everything is so delicious! Worth the walk. Prices are good compared to quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Come here for crepes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

wonderful crepes for breakfast. they open at 8am. Ideal for whole day relaxation or just to stone your morning away

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee, delicious crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My old French grandmother has an open mind and appreciated everything in Thailand but was getting a bit sick of Thai food. Thankfully we found this place and she really enjoyed the crepes (and so did I), which tells you a lot about the quality of this place!
As for me, I live off good, strong coffee and I didn't have much success in getting my usual dose during this trip (but I sort of knew it before going). Once again thanks to Smiling Dog I could sit down and enjoy excellent coffee everyday while staying in Krabi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiling Dog Cafe also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Smiling Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiling Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.