We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort & Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Villa Resort to your Saves list
Aonang Villa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THAI RESIDENTS PACKAGE
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Resort & Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Well after reading both good & bad reviews & worrying that the renovations wouldn't be finished by the time we got there I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 9pm after a very long day of travelling.
We were lucky enough to get a renovated room overlooking the Dolphin Pool which was on the ground floor in building 7 which is the building closest to the beach. You could see the water a little bit from our room but the rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floors would have had great water views.Although the room wasn't as large as I thought it would be it was big enough for my daughter & I.Everything was new including the large flat screen tv on the wall & the safe which I don't think had been used before as it was quite stiff.
The resort itself is really big, the gardens were lovely with the ponds & bridges, the 2 pools were great, the water temperature was just right & we NEVER had a problem getting a sun lounge any time of day even though it was high season.
The breakfast had a good variety to choose from, both hot & cold food. We had dinner at the restaurant one night sitting outside under the stars & the food was good though a little bit expensive. The new restaurant never seemed to have anyone eating there, maybe that was too expensive, didn't look at the prices there.
The staff were always helpful & friendly & when you needed something you got it straight away.
We had 3 massages at the resort by the always smiling Thai girls which were the same price as the ones on the beach so we didn't bother to walk down there.
The resort is in a great position it is so close to the beach, only a small road (really only a walkway actually as hardly any cars use it as it is a deadend) separates it from the beach.The shops & restaurants are right at your door & so are the longtail boats.
We also made a phone call to Australia & it only cost 66baht for 5 minutes, much cheaper than the call we made from our resort in Phuket which cost us 526baht for 15 minutes!
Overall we loved this resort & will definitely stay here next time we come back, hopefully next year.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    340
    129
    52
    24
See reviews for
183
373
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Stayed at Ao Nang in Jan 09. All building work was finished which was a relief from reading previous reviews. King Size room smelt a bit musty, but large and clean. Service not that great - where were the smiles?, and all the little signs and notes everywhere with rules are hilarious (extra charges for water, towels, dirty bedlinen etc etc) Hotel really popular with middle to old age Europeans - a bit pushy when it came to breakfast queues and grabbed all the sunbeds very early. Location good as on beach so 2 min walk to catch longtail boats to Island hop, or bars and cafes. Surprised at how busy area is - not a quiet paradise! For quiet, catch boat to Poda Island or Railay (but still lots of people!) Or walk to end of Ao Nang beach (past The Last Fisherman bar - where all the massage people are, and the monkeys!) Good restaurants at other end over stilts next to the sea. Will return to area as central to getting to islands, but won't stay here again. It was fine, but nothing great.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The other people who were staying there - sorry!!!!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Spent the last week of our three week holiday in Thailand at the Aonang Villa Resort over Christmas. On arrival we were upgraded to a Lanai Room overlooking the swimming pool. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our electricity but this was dealt with very quickly and efficiently. There was some noise caused by building work at the next property but this didn't detract from our holiday. As previously mentioned the massages were excellent value for money. Another nice touch was afternoon tea and cake served at 4pm in the lobby everyday - a nice way to meet other guests for a chat.

  • Liked — access from room directly on to swimming pool
  • Disliked — level of lighting in room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Arguably one of the worst places I have ever stayed at anywhere.
1) Flew in from Kuala Lumpur for 2pm check in after an overnight fligh from Perth, Australia. Room not ready had to wait an hour. Front office staff rude, aloof and spoke very little english.
2) Room 4201 was filthy, mould everwhere, shower celing collapsing, curtains torn, aircon filthy. Cracks in wall.
3) Had to pay 6000 Baht per person, ie 12000 Baht for Wife and I.for New Years buffet, queued for over 30 mins to get to withered, stale food. Had to endure Ao Nang Villa Resort's idea of entertainment for four hours, ie playing games and chairs on stage, great for kids I guess but for adults? Not! No music or dancing. The dinner fee was COMPULSORY.
4) English is not spoken even by restaurant staff.
5) Stench on sewerage everywhere.
6) Beach, if you can call it that, stinks and is filthy, overcrowded and noise worse than Grand Prix Track with long boat engines billowing smoke.
7) In order to get a chair at the pool one had to go and place a book or mag at the pool by 6.30 am or else no pool seating for the day.
8) No pool service though there was an attendant, who clearly had no clue. Gardens surrounding the pool area unkept with many mosquitos about
9) Lots of food halls and food outlets around Ao Nang though would be somewhat concerned at the health standards applied given the stench of rot and sewerage permeating the air.
10) Many non Asian drunks walking the streets, presumably because of the cheap alcohol.
11) Street traders over New Year, quite frankly are a nuisance continoulsy pestering people to buy.
12) Lots of fake goodies such as YSL Tiffany's etc etc.
About the only good thing about Ao Nang and the Aon Nang Villa Resort is the way out and or a gateway to Phi Phi Islands etc

  • Liked — the door out
  • Disliked — staff attitude, cleanliness and service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

Whilst I understand the previous reviews (I too would be distruaght if all that building work was going on during my holiday) I thought it only fair to the Ao Nang Villa Resort to report that all the building work is now finished and the hotel is looking fabulous. There were one or 2 small snagging jobs still being done but that was totally undisruptive. I imagine that anyone visiting after this review will have a completely peaceful and disruption free stay in a stunning new hotel! There is now a fabulous new spa area, restaurant and beach front bar. We've just returned from a 3 week honeymoon travelling around Thailand and Malaysia, and we spent 9 days at Ao Nang Villa in Krabi.

When we arrived we were given a very warm welcome by the staff, including a welcome drink, and we experienced no rudeness from any of the staff during our stay. They were extremely friendly and helpful. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded to a Deluxe Superior Room which was a very spacious ground floor room with a private decked area outside with wooden loungers which leads directly out to the pool area. The room was decorated with flowers and we were given a complimentary bowl of fruit.

The beach front massage ladies at the hotel were great value!! They were so friendly and fun. You can get a 1 hour message starting from £2. One day I had a 1 hour full body Aloe Vera massage, head massage, facial, foot scrape, foot massage, manicure and pedicure with nail art and at one point I had 3 ladies working on me at once! I was pampered for over 2 and a half hours and given fruit afterwards and the whole experience came to the princely sum of £14!!!

We did a number of trips including Phi Phi island boat trip, Elephant trekking and Scuba Diving.

The Phi Phi island trip (where they filmed the film "The Beach" )was absolutely stunning - a tropical paradise and the snorkelling was great fun - book it with one of the local agents on the beach front rather than through the hotel - we saved around £20 each that way.

We also did the Elephant Trekking trip which was great fun - I was a little worried that we were buying into something where the animals were exploited and treated badly but I was relieved to find how well the happy elephants were treated when we got there, and how happy they were. The bond between each elephant and its guide were clear. The elephants could stop and eat or drink wherever they wanted during the trek - they were never forced on or to walk a certain way. And we were given lots of fruit to feed the elephants with which they seemed to enjoy!

We did an introductory diving day which was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed it and the dive sites around Phi Phi were stunning. We were a little nervous as we'd never dived before but the company we booked with Ao Nang Divers were fantastic. They were very professional and our instructor Punch was great and really put us at our ease. We were also filmed throughout the day and dives, and were given the opportunity to purchase a dvd of the day afterwards which made a great souvenier. Ao Nang Divers' blue fronted shop can be found on the main road towards the beach on the left hand side (just after the turning into Ao Nang Villa Resort). I would thoroughly recommend them.

All in all we had a great time in Krabi and were not disappointed. I would thoroughly recommend Ao Nang Villa and Krabi resort. I've included some piccies so you can see what I mean!

  • Liked — Everything! Fantastic beach front breakfasts, great service, lovely pool area, proximity to the beach.... all great!
  • Disliked — Mosquitos! I had quite a few bites by the end!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

Now, where do I begin with the Ao Nang Villa Resort? Firstly, I will say that it will be splendid when they have finished the building works. We arrived on 11 November and was checked in by one of the receptionist’s who told us the work would be finished by 12 November. After walking around, it was clear that this was just not going to happen. There is work going on by the current restaurant, a new restaurant being built adjacent to that and also a new pool bar. You could only lounge by the hotel pool if you were willing to suffer the constant drilling, banging and hammering. I personally thought it was a little selfish of the hotel management to allow all this work to go on at the same time, and thought in terms of the paying guests already staying there, it would have been more courteous for this work to be done in stages (for example, one bit at a time rather than all at the same time). See the photos attached, my husband is a builder in his spare time and he thinks there is at least another three months work to be done (unfortunately and probably due to the heat, Thai builders do not work at pace!) It really didn’t affect us as we just used the hotel as somewhere to sleep as we spent our days exploring or at the beach, but if you plan to spend time around the hotel you may want to consider somewhere else if you are looking to travel within the next three months. The Golden Beach resort next door, looked very nice.

On the upside, the Ao Nang Villa Resort is in a great location in terms of the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. The poolside will be lovely once the building work is finished. Breakfast is served from 7.00 to 10.00 am and has the usual selection of cereals, fruit, made to order omelettes, and some Thai dishes also. The rooms were a good size as was the balcony. The room was well equipped and cleaned daily and the air conditioning was also very efficient. However, the staff were quite disinterested and not that friendly by Thai standards.

Ao Nang beach isn’t the best and there are nicer ones such as Prehnong beach and Railay Beach which costs about 70THB per person, each way on the Long Tail boats. The sellers on the beaches can be a bit waring, offering everything from cold drinks, jewellery, watches, fruit, sarongs and Thai massages. If you give them a polite ‘no, thank you’ they will quickly move on and not harass you, but it is literally minutes before the next one comes along! We did succumb to the Thai massage and went to Mrs Suda (massage hut number 10 – you will see a whole row of these behind Ao Nang beach). We went for a full back and neck massage which took about an hour, we also got a foot scrub and the whole thing cost 1000THB for the two of us. Highly recommended, we felt like new people afterwards!

We did a couple of tours, the elephant trek and a speedboat tour of some islands including Phi Phi Lee and Phi Phi Don. The tours were excellent value for money and extremely well organised, these can be booked at any of the tour shops along the seafront, if I remember correctly the cost of our tours was around 1300 THB per tour/per person.

Eating out, there is a wide choice of places to eat. The favourites which stick in my mind was ‘The Eden’ for local Thai dishes and good seafood. ‘The Azzuranova’ for excellent Italian fare and ‘Wanna’s Restaurant’ for international cuisine.

Overall, once the Ao Nang Villa Resort is finished, it will be a splendid place to stay in terms of location. Ao Nang itself is a little ‘touristy’ but a great base for eating out and exploring the other islands.


Quick facts: -
Taxi to/from airport – 600 THB each way
Singha beer – 60 THB
Meal out for 2 – circa 1000 THB (which included an alcoholic beverage each!)
Internet use at Ao Nang Villa Resort – 100THB for one hour
Recommended:
Tour to Phi Phi Don and Phi Phi Lee

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The building works!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Just got back from the Honeymoon from HELL staying at this place. There is massive construction being undertaken at the moment so unless you enjoy being woken up at 8am daily by the sound of circular saws and nail guns I suggest you stay away. The reception staff are rude and unfriendly and we were without power for a day and half, and had to spend one very uncomfortable night without air conditioning.

All this despite forking out for the best room they had available - the Grand Seaview Deluxe. The only thing it had a view of was construction. The toilet was so dimly lit you could hardly see yourself in the mirror.

One of the pools was dirty and filled with construction debris so you couldn't swim in it. At the other pool, if you're a woman expect to be perved on by an army of construction workers standing around looking at you. Our experience was SO BAD that we cut our honeymoon short by two days so we could get the hell out of Ao Nang and come home to Sydney. I would never, EVER recommend this hotel to anyone.

Krabi in general is not worth a visit, stick with Phuket where the beaches are clean.

  • Liked — Leaving the hotel
  • Disliked — The bad attitude of the reception staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Villa Resort

Address: 113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Villa Resort, the stimulating destination situated on the unspoiled natural scenery by soaring limestone cliffs and lovely tropical environment, as well as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Aonang Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Villa Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Hotel Krabi
Aonang Resort Krabi
Ao Nang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.