We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Villa Resort to your Saves list
Aonang Villa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had booked this online without having visited it and my family was really looking for a true Thai-style experience, which we weren’t getting at Villa Resort, so I called in the aid of a travel agency specialized in Southern Thailand, I think their name was Andaman Adventures. They moved us to Paradise Resort which was everything the Villa resort was not. We would say if your focus is to stay for the lowest cost and be near the beach, and you have children, yes then perhaps the Villa will fit you fine. Perhaps we’re just not the kind of customer for this sort of resort, because most people seemed quite happy.

Room Tip: Don't book this place
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Billhonholiday

After reading your review, I am sorry to hear that our resort did not meet your expectation at all, and I am glad to read that you have found a suitable resort for you and family stay in Aonang Area. Different guest prefer different products and different types of resort. We also have customers that were move from other resorts to our resort due to various reason, as each resort has it own unique character, ambience and service concept.

We’re always welcome guest’s feedback for us to learn, improve and understand our guest’s need. As a little surprise I have noted you called the travel agent after you had booked online and without any manager logged from our resort informed that guest had early check out to other resort after stay with us in January.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    309
    119
    47
    21
See reviews for
166
329
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel has the best location in Ao nang. Close to the beach, shops, restaurants and bars. Even though it has a central location, the resort it selfes is a quiet and harmonic place. The staff are friendly and helpful. It was a lot to choose at the breakfast buffet and the chef would make you an omelette of your choise. The hotell restaurants were average. The White elephant restaurant were the best choice. The beach restauarant had a good salad, but the other food was average and the drinks was not any good. Do NOT order sushi at the hotell. It was the most awfull sushi we had ever tried! You can't even call it sushi!

We had a Deluxe room with pool-access. The room was spacious and had a private balcony with stears down to the pool area. Loved the room and the bed was comfy, but the bathroom could use a renovation. When you showered, the whole bathroom floor would get wet!

Room Tip: Deluxe room with pool-access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Beach-Mink

Thank you your recent stay at Aonang Villa Resort. We are truly appreciated your fine compliments, and feedback you mention on this platform. Following your feedback, our Executive chef is currently working on to improve our Japanese menu. Refer to your feedback on the room facility, we are planning an extensive maintenance program caries out such soft refurbishment to refresh and repair our product in this coming green season.

Once again thank you for your review and feedback that helps us to improve our resort and service. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A place for relaxation and exploration.
A nice looking hotel ran by serviceminded staff. Located by the beach of Ao Nang, with restaurants, boat/car/tuktuk taxis, massage institutes and monkeys on the beach (wild, but most polite enough).

The rooms, pool areas and in-house restaurants are clean and organized. If there is something to put our finger on it must be that the bathrooms could have been fresher, best refurbished, and that you can NOT eat the sushi from the pool bars -it was not sushi, but some dried out leftovers that shoulndt been served to anyone!
The other hotel restaurants where good in quality and reasonly priced.
Breakfast varied and delightful. Beds as normal, quite hard.

All in all, a ok place to stay if you want to live close to everything.

Room Tip: Choose one with direct access to the pool, as close to the reception as possible for early-to-late s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Christoffer B

Thank you for your review and recent stay at Aonang Villa Resort. Your feedback is very valuable in order for us to improve our services and facilities. Your feedback regarding of the sushi menu I will definitely have our Executive Chef and F&B team to look into and make immediate improvement.

Your compliment and feedback are much appreciated. We do hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is located in the main tourist area of krabi. Nice restaurants and clubs are a 5 minute walk away. Tours leave from nearby and most will pick you up from the hotel itself. The hotel pools are great, especially the big one with great view of the hills. The rooms are 3/4-star quality but ok for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear SKS2006

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this platform. Customer feedback is very important to us as it allows us to improve our resort and its services.

Once again, thank you for recent stay with us and we do hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The location of this hotel could not be in a better place, ideal for beach, bars and restaurants, prompt friendly check in, we stayed in the pool view room with a good size deck. The room was a good size but so dated, bathroom again dated required new shower head. The bed was very hard but this did not prove a problem for us.
The resort has two swimming pools one with a swim up bar and the other is one of the biggest pools I have seen. The main pool needs more and new sunbeds, half the sunbeds are old and falling apart plus it was like laying on a piece of stone, then again if you wanted to lay on these you had to be up early to reserve with your towels!! Your room has two beach/pool towels on arrival but no info on how to replace with cleans ones just a warning of you will be charged if these go missing, same with door key!!! Anyway phone reception each night and request clean ones.
We only ate in resort for breakfast due to the large choice outside. The staff at breakfast are very friendly but there is no service, you have to collect your own tea and coffee. The egg station needs a chef which can multi task to help with the large queue for an egg.
Between the hotel and beach is a small road and the resort has a great looking beach bar with views out to sea but it was always empty due to the high prices charged compared to all the other bars along this road, anyone with any business sense would lower prices to compete rather then pay staff to stand around not doing much.
This was our 2nd stop of this trip coming from a 4.5 star hotel in Hua Hin to this 4 star hotel but it felt more like a 2 star hotel compared to the previous one. This hotel has so much potential with its great location, update the rooms, new beds around pool and lower your drink prices so the beach bar competes with the others.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a great deck with two sun loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Tigertoc

Thank you for your recent stay at Aonang Villa Resort, and sharing your recent experience. We have acknowledged your feedback and we’re never proud if we have failed to delight our guest, but we are always grateful for the feedback so that we can review and improve our facilities and services. I will certainly look into the area you have comment and will make necessary improvement.

Regarding of the pricing on beverage at our Beach Bar, it is indeed a challenge for us to match the outside Bar along this road due to our quality of the beverage that we are selected to serve our guest is different compare with other, as we are considering of quality and guest safety is high. If our guests look closely they could notice the different, and would understand.

Thank you once again for post this review. Your compliment and feedback are valued and appreciated. We do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Arriving to this hotel after a long flight was heaven. Greeted by ice cold towels and cold drinks when checking in seem to be standard in Thailand on the better hotels, but at this hotel we felt extra welcome. Everyone was really kind and friendly, and the room was ready in a minute, even though we came early and they were fully booked.

And the room then, well – paradise! We had a room with a view over the pool and the Andaman sea. The room was clean and the beds were super comfortable. Personally I prefer other parts of Thailand than Aonang itself. But if you are planning to go around to other islands, I think Aonang is a great start and end stop (for the last minute shopping!).

I love the fact that this hotel has a bar in the pool, where you can buy ice cold coconuts and other refreshments. And if you prefer the beach, well then it’s literally just a stone’s throw away.
The breakfast was impeccable. Don’t miss the eggs made fresh before your eyes. Especially the omelet made with tomato. Yummy!

Over all – I would definitely stay here again. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the pool and then you will also have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ninuzza

After reading your review, I can oly fine the word ‘Thank you’ to express my gratitude for your constructive review posted on this platform. Your kind words have indeed been rewarding for our entire team member for their strong efforts extended to our guests especially during the busy high season.

We are all very much looking forward to your return and please do not hesitate to reach out to me if you plan to visit our resort in the near future. Thank you once again for your valuable remarks.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent four nights here during a recent trip around Thailand. The resort is in a wonderful location, the buffet breakfast is literally 10 meters from the beach. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the rooms were spacious if not a little bit dated. The beds are quite hard as well, but not too different to many of the other hotels we stayed in around Thailand. The main complaint we had was the lack/absence of elevators. We stayed on the third floor, and although 3 flights of stairs is by no means difficult to climb, after a long day of trekking up the top of Tiger Temple it would be nice to take a lift up to our rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Michael Z

Thank you for your recent stay at our resort and positive review on this platform. I am delighted to hear that you had overall enjoyed stay with us, and my team has well taken care of you. I will certainly pass on your fine compliments to my team and all the associates. In regards of the elevator (lifts) we are considering to install as however, we are carefully planning as it concerns a major construction which may affect with the noise.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your positive review and some feedback that helps us to improve our resort services. We do hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Villa Resort

Address: 113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Villa Resort, the stimulating destination situated on the unspoiled natural scenery by soaring limestone cliffs and lovely tropical environment, as well as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aonang Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Villa Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Hotel Krabi
Aonang Resort Krabi
Ao Nang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.