We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Villa Resort to your Saves list
Aonang Villa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THAI RESIDENTS PACKAGE
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We didn't originally book to come to Ao Nang Villas we literally ran from our previous Accomodation because it was in the middle of nowhere and hideous.The location of Ao Nang Villas was perfect for us and suited our needs in every way. We are 2 adults & and 3 children (13,8 & 5) when I arrived at reception to enquire about availability for 4 nights the really lovely receptionist who spoke good English was sooo sweet and found us a deluxe pool view room just behind reception which was great as there were no stairs/lifts to worry about, got a good price as the room accomadated all 5 of us!! Ok for 4 nights but would probably look into 2 nights when we return. Checkin was really quick considering we were walkins, my husband drove the hire car around the back of the hotel which was close to our room and the bell boy brought our luggage straight into the room & another bed was brought in and made up. Within an hour of walking in we were in the pool which was the best! Pool rooms are great with access straight down to the pool.

The hotel is very close to shops, bars & restaurants but in no way intrusive. Beach was across the road which is only used by a few scooters. Beach massage huts are within walking distance and so is the last fisherman which was great for cocktails/food!

Breakfast at the hotel is sufficient with all the usual stuff, it did annoy me however that all the staff were doing thereof best to replenish everything as quickly as possible especially close to 10 when it was finishing and really busy and some guests were shouting at them to get things etc! Not called for I'm afraid, they all do a great job.
Beach bar great for happy hour with happy barman included which is always a bonus. And good tunes!!
The restaurant was great in the evening near the beach with children's menu.
There's always McDonald's out the back of the hotel if you get desperate.
Both pools were great with enough loungers.
The hotel had a feel of a lovely breeze blowing throughout as they have quite a few fans descretely placed in communal areas.
Afternoon tea was included for everyone (nice touch).
Free wifi throughout the hotel.
If you want a stress free family holiday stay here you won't be disappointed.
All the staff were helpful and friendly.
Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
May 4, 2012

Dear Flipflopfun555


I am very pleased to read your review and learn that you and your family had enjoyed stay at our resort, particularly the resort’s peaceful location. It is indeed a secluded hidden paradise ideal for those who wish to escape for a while.

Your kind words and compliments for our team and the hotel are truly appreciated. Regarding of the breakfast, I have personally followed up with our team and shared your feedback points, our executive chef has taken ownership of the points mentioned then changed daily. Mover, we are considering to extend breakfast time in nearly future.

Once again thank you for taking your time to post this positive review and we hope to welcome you back again for another pleasant stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    339
    129
    52
    24
See reviews for
182
373
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Just got home after spending seven lovley nights at the Aonang Villa,we were given upgrade to pool and sea view room.The rooms are very big and clean,beds are a bit on the hard side,but nice soft pillows.The views are stunning position cant be better,just a little way are shops bars restarants,all what you need.Turn left and you will come to the beach massage,they each have numbers and will give you coffie pinaple banana ,beach mats you can sit all day and have nails feet and a good massage,also a welcome swim.The pool is very nice and there were lots of beds to go around,snacks and drinks are a good price.Breakfast was much the same every day,but all what you need, and a nice setting with the lovley gardens to look at.Would we go back ?yes !!!!

Room Tip: secon floor over looking sea 7215 thats a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonangvillareso... K, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Jesseywales

I appreciate your positive review and especially your appreciation for our pools and the nature around the resort. The resort’s location and ground are indeed beautiful and many of our guests love this peaceful and green environment of the resort.

Regarding of the breakfast, it is essential for us to receive such feedback that allows us to constantly improve, our chef has taken the points to create changed of menus daily.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back for another great stay soon.

Warm Regards,


Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just came back from our 10 day Honeymoon. We stayed at Aonang Villa Resort for 5 days. Everything was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is by far the best location in the entire Aonang. You are at the beach, but also right in the middle of all the night shopping! You do get bored with breakfast, but you make up for it during the day. The swimming pools were awesome and very clean. If you are looking for a place to stay which is reasonably priced and stunning location with the best massages, then you must go the Aonang Villa.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. If you go the a place like Thailand, you will leave your room early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

we stayed four days in this resort. just came back last week.
It had to most strategic location and just next to the beach . We got free upgrade from superior room to deluxe as all the superior room had overstaying occupants.one of us also booked grand superior room, but the room was worn out and dull, i felt so unhappy as we entered the room, not like a holiday at all, the garden view not great either. but deluxe was fabulous and clean. the best part is that it had pool access. the swimming pool is so big and had a beautiful backdrop of hills. picture perfect
Breakfast had thai food and western. A lot of choices to choose from.
Staffs were quite friendly but need to improve in english as some dont understand simple english also.
Aonang beach itself not great, dirty and no beach activity at all. we took islang tour, phi phi island-bamboo island is so amazing, crystal clear water. maya bay is polluted already, water not clear. we only stopped 1 and 1/2 hour at phi phi itself.it was nice although the food provided with the tour not great. i suggest holiday makers to have a stop at phra nang cave as it is beautiful. crystal clear with back drop of hills and cave. they have a lot of activities there. u dont have to snorkel to see fishes there as u can view it just by standing when u go beneath the cave area, so many colorful fishes. The food sold by the the beach side on the boat is also something to try. its nice especially the roasted chicken. nice and yummy after swimming. they also have rock climbing activity in this area. u can actually walk from phranang cave to railey beach about 15 minutes. The water in railey not so great either.
the are many shops along the aonang road . But i suggest people to bargain as i able to buy a sandal from 270 to 120, all the prices are marked up. we did try the seafood at restaurants and stall food. we were scared of the hygiene first but none of us developed diarrhea.the food was better, tastier and cheaper. there is one malay stall in front of krabi resort. her food is really good and she is so humble.
ok, hope my review helped you guys out

Room Tip: grand deluxe is worn out, deluxe is bigger and so comfortable, especially the ground floor rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

After visiting this hotel on previous occasions and thoroughly enjoying it, we booked three rooms for ourselves and members of the family. We booked in Novemeber last year and all the details were confirmed, however on arrival we were informed there had been a "computer error" and the hotel was oberbooked. We were then offered 3 rooms at the hotel next door (inferior standard). When challenged the staff eventually gave us two rooms at Aonang Villa and one in the hiotel next door (for one night).

I appreciate that the practice in hotels is to over book rooms and hope that they get the right number of no shows to balance this. However i do not appreciate being lied too "computer error" or there are no rooms available at all - then finding two immediately.

If the hotels do this over booking as standard then they need to accommodate people in superior hotels at the original hotels cost.
This hotel has now lost a number of repeat bookings from me I wil lcome back to Ao nang but stay elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for a superior sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were bumped from Mercure because they didn't have space and can honestly its night and day.

This is an average hotel that is a tad bit dated. Great beach access! And a little expensive for Thailand standards.

The beach pool is undergoing renovations and a man is currently doing some pressure washing at 6:13 am as i write this review. Beds are terrible and I mean terrible for western standards.

I believe a garden view would be better if you happen to book untill they fix the pool. More affordable!

Great professional massages!

Hope this helps





  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Resort for 3 nights with a large family. The hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly. The rooms were a bit on the small side. The location is fantastic. You can walk out to the boardwalk and beach that it teeming with activity with all the restaurants and massage places, and shade that you could want. Or you can walk out the other end of the hotel to the street with all the food vendors, and stores and Subway and 7-11. The two pools are nice, one is much nicer that the other (the one nearest the beach is sterile, but the larger pool is lovely and well landscaped.) The view of the cliffs is splendid and the pool rooms open right up to the pool, which worked really well for our kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Villa Resort

Address: 113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Villa Resort, the stimulating destination situated on the unspoiled natural scenery by soaring limestone cliffs and lovely tropical environment, as well as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Aonang Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Villa Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Hotel Krabi
Aonang Resort Krabi
Ao Nang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.