We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The L Resort Krabi

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Asiatravel.com
and 9 more sites!
The L Resort Krabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Wanna's Place Andaman Sunset Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 80 hotels in Ao Nang
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good resort and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location in the center of ao nang beach. Close to shoping and swiming. We stayed in the larger and these rooms were exelent.
The pool bar was terrible, and needs to be upgraded. They went out of towels and could not make coctails. But over all a very plesant stay

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger rooms. Very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
74
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farsund, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 5 days in this hotel, just got back.
The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are large,clean and stylish.
The hotel restaurant has great food and is very popular, so it`s wise to make reservation if you are more than 2 persons.
The location is very good. It`s right across the street from the beach,and located amongst shops,bars and restaurants. Still we heard little to no noise in our room at nighttime.

The only thing not so great with this hotel is that the pool area is not that good. It`s a bit small,not so many sun beds, and they run out of towels midday. But still a very good choice!

Room Tip: The Larger rooms in main building are very big and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice Bungalows and modern Rooms, a wonderfull Pool and great Stuff. Everything you need for beautyfull holidays you find here. All this so close to the wonderfull Beach. I loved to stay here and enjoyed every minute! I'am looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in The L Resort in January 2013 for two nights as a stop over on the way to the islands.This hotel was perfect. Right in the middle of Ao Nang beach front and opposite one of the long tail boat stops. We were handed an iPad on arrival which we found very useful for researching the surrounding area and transport we would need. There is wifi in the rooms which is great as we used our smart phones to use skype. The rooms are large and have everything you need, very comfortable beds. Despite being on the busy main road through Ao nang the bungalows are set back and up the hill slightly so we didnt have any noise issues during our stay. The pool looked lovely, but we didn't get the time to use it.

Breakfast was served until 11am which we thought was great for a lie in. The only thing i would say it maybe the fruit and jams could be better covered as there were a few flies about, but the scrambled eggs made to order were great.

Overall a great place to stay in Aonang in a very central location. Great if you are lugging rucksacks about...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, the room and resort was very clean, the service was great (good English and always greet you with a smile), and the location is great (across the street from a water taxi station and ocean front seafood restaurants). The breakfast was good, standard.

We stayed in the Large, and were provided with a personal IPad. Our room was very modern with a built in sound system and ipod docking station, and everything (tv, lights, curtains) was controllable from a central remote, which we thought was quite cool. The bathroom was very small but provided lots of bathroom extras (vanity kit, toothbrush). The room was quite dark with windows overlooking other rooms, we rarely had the curtains open. The room was very quiet, and despite the dance bar next door, we could not hear anything in our room. This may be a different story for the bungalos. I think the cleaning staff must leave the doors open when cleaning as we always had mosquitos in our room. Overall I felt this room had been renovated and extras added in attempt to be a 4 star, but really felt like a 3 star.

Don't book tours with the hotel, they do not provide any better advice and you can probably get the tours cheaper from a travel agent.

The Large room is much more expensive than the lite and I did not feel this extra cost was worth it. Overall, the value was just not there. I feel the cost for the lite room is the best value for the overall quality of this hotel, and for anything higher you can find a nicer hotel in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lets start with the positives the hotel has a very nice cool looking reception, is centrally located in Ao Nang, and the staff are all lovely, very friendly and very willing to help. When checking we were given an iPad with all the details on the hotel and a means to order food which was a nice touch. Then came the disappointment with the room, we were told this used to be a backpacker place and sadly the transformations made do not justify the price at all.
The room was the last bungalow at the very top, inside it was not great, felt old and dated, mosquitos were in the room and took 3 minutes to start biting. The bed was hard and I could work the safe out. I will give them credit for trying to add style by having a nespresso machine with two free sachets, an ipod dock, a nice sized wall mounted TV. They tried painting purple strips around the room but failed to touch up the rest of it. Our bungalow had iron bars on the windows, making us feel more like inmates than guests and the bathroom was in desperate need of a revamp. It was definitely not what the pictures on their website advertised. The hotel sits right on the main street and next to centre point, which is all the bars and night clubs. I was woken several times by the thumping loud base music till well past 3am. The next morning we had no water pressure to take a shower, at the point we checked out by 9am. It was an okay hotel, definitely not worth the money paid for, at best it was a 3 star hotel, certainly not a resort. Pool was nice, with funky lighting and jungle scenery but pool bar closed by 7. Breakfast had to be the worst on this trip, no covers on food which had flies all over the selection. Over all we would not return and don't recommend staying at this hotel, if you are looking for a great location for the money spent. It was other reviews for this hotel that made me move here and are not an accurate portrayal of the experience I encountered.

Room Tip: Hotel sits on main street next to night clubs, loud music all night can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived for our 1st stay at the L-Resort back in Dec 2011, and whilst we were disappointed that the building & refurbishment work was incomplete due to the October flooding of central thailand & bangkok, our whole party could see the potential of this resort once the work was finished - well i am pleased to announce our that this potential has been realised. They have done a magnificent job and made The L Resort the perfect place to stay in Ao Nang.

During our latest visit to the land of smiles we had 2 stays at the L Resort (with a week in Phi Phi inbetween). As a returning customer, for our first 2 nights me & the Mrs were upgraded to a Sea View Larger Suite - the room was perfect, extremely spacious, spotless clean and fabulous views of the beach & sea front. After a week in Phi Phi we returned for 2 nights in a lite bungalow (the same of which we stayed in Dec 2011). Again the bungalow room was spacious & spotless clean. The finished pool area is equally impressive, comfy leather style sun loungers, the pool has different levels with a lovely jacuzzi/massage bed section overlooking the main pool. complimentary fast Wi-Fi connection in the rooms, pool & lobby area along with an i-pad thrown in with each room package just makes your stay that little bit more special.

The big plus points for this place are the staff, (receptionists, restuarant staff, the airport shuttle bus staff all did there jobs with dignity and a huge smile on their faces - special praise for the receptionist Wanida who we dealt with many times, did her job super efficient and always had that huge thai smile). The location couldnt be better, right on the sea front with shops bars & restuarants all ON THE DOORSTEP.

Only 2 small negatives, the bars of Centre Point get a little noisy if your going to bed before 1am like we had to 1 night (only because we were up early to catch a flight to bangkok). The 2nd is the breakfast which we tried at 7am, 9am & later on at 10am during our stays - it was always the same. If you like rice & noodles for brekkie then fine, but the baked beans & grilled tomatoes each time were stone cold - so for those who prefer the english breakfast take a stroll down the front where a fine full english can be had for less than 250B.

All in all tho, the L Resort is the perfect place to explore Ao Nang

Room Tip: all rooms are good, the bungalows on the left (nopparat beach) side of the pool are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The L Resort Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Resort Krabi

Also Known As:
The l Resort Krabi Hotel
The l Resort Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Wannas Place Andaman Sunset Hotel
The L Resort Krabi Ao Nang
Address: 31 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Wanna's Place Andaman Sunset Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The L Resort Krabi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The L Resort Krabi is located in the Ao Nang Beach area of Krabi right in the middle of the town's main promenade with its restaurants, bars and shops. The beautiful beach of Ao Nang is also just in front of the hotel. This lifestyle property includes newly built deluxe rooms and suites, besides, the bungalows are renovated to a perfect synergy between nature and modern interior. Our bungalows are spacious and upgraded with all superior amenities such as 40" LED TVs, Air-condition, Full set of mini bar, Coffee Machine, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service, Safe and many more... The unique " L Resort " experience is completed with touch screen guest room controls in all Deluxe Room Type as well as a personal iPad in all Deluxe and Suite Room, which make possible for guests to order all days room service, Excursion booking, and many other services required. The hotel offers an outdoor pool with drinking quality water, as well as culinary highlight with its Thai-Swiss Restaurant " Wanna's Place Restaurant " offers breakfast in a buffet style and all days dining with Chef Recommendation " Speciality on Hot Stone " The L Resort with its style and unique experience will raise your expectations for future hotel to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The L Resort Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Resort Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The L Resort Krabi to your Saves list