We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay in the lite, anything higher is not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The L Resort Krabi

Save Saved
You added The L Resort Krabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Asiatravel.com
and 9 more sites!
The L Resort Krabi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Wanna's Place Andaman Sunset Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 80 hotels in Ao Nang
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“stay in the lite, anything higher is not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, the room and resort was very clean, the service was great (good English and always greet you with a smile), and the location is great (across the street from a water taxi station and ocean front seafood restaurants). The breakfast was good, standard.

We stayed in the Large, and were provided with a personal IPad. Our room was very modern with a built in sound system and ipod docking station, and everything (tv, lights, curtains) was controllable from a central remote, which we thought was quite cool. The bathroom was very small but provided lots of bathroom extras (vanity kit, toothbrush). The room was quite dark with windows overlooking other rooms, we rarely had the curtains open. The room was very quiet, and despite the dance bar next door, we could not hear anything in our room. This may be a different story for the bungalos. I think the cleaning staff must leave the doors open when cleaning as we always had mosquitos in our room. Overall I felt this room had been renovated and extras added in attempt to be a 4 star, but really felt like a 3 star.

Don't book tours with the hotel, they do not provide any better advice and you can probably get the tours cheaper from a travel agent.

The Large room is much more expensive than the lite and I did not feel this extra cost was worth it. Overall, the value was just not there. I feel the cost for the lite room is the best value for the overall quality of this hotel, and for anything higher you can find a nicer hotel in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
23
74
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lets start with the positives the hotel has a very nice cool looking reception, is centrally located in Ao Nang, and the staff are all lovely, very friendly and very willing to help. When checking we were given an iPad with all the details on the hotel and a means to order food which was a nice touch. Then came the disappointment with the room, we were told this used to be a backpacker place and sadly the transformations made do not justify the price at all.
The room was the last bungalow at the very top, inside it was not great, felt old and dated, mosquitos were in the room and took 3 minutes to start biting. The bed was hard and I could work the safe out. I will give them credit for trying to add style by having a nespresso machine with two free sachets, an ipod dock, a nice sized wall mounted TV. They tried painting purple strips around the room but failed to touch up the rest of it. Our bungalow had iron bars on the windows, making us feel more like inmates than guests and the bathroom was in desperate need of a revamp. It was definitely not what the pictures on their website advertised. The hotel sits right on the main street and next to centre point, which is all the bars and night clubs. I was woken several times by the thumping loud base music till well past 3am. The next morning we had no water pressure to take a shower, at the point we checked out by 9am. It was an okay hotel, definitely not worth the money paid for, at best it was a 3 star hotel, certainly not a resort. Pool was nice, with funky lighting and jungle scenery but pool bar closed by 7. Breakfast had to be the worst on this trip, no covers on food which had flies all over the selection. Over all we would not return and don't recommend staying at this hotel, if you are looking for a great location for the money spent. It was other reviews for this hotel that made me move here and are not an accurate portrayal of the experience I encountered.

Room Tip: Hotel sits on main street next to night clubs, loud music all night can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived for our 1st stay at the L-Resort back in Dec 2011, and whilst we were disappointed that the building & refurbishment work was incomplete due to the October flooding of central thailand & bangkok, our whole party could see the potential of this resort once the work was finished - well i am pleased to announce our that this potential has been realised. They have done a magnificent job and made The L Resort the perfect place to stay in Ao Nang.

During our latest visit to the land of smiles we had 2 stays at the L Resort (with a week in Phi Phi inbetween). As a returning customer, for our first 2 nights me & the Mrs were upgraded to a Sea View Larger Suite - the room was perfect, extremely spacious, spotless clean and fabulous views of the beach & sea front. After a week in Phi Phi we returned for 2 nights in a lite bungalow (the same of which we stayed in Dec 2011). Again the bungalow room was spacious & spotless clean. The finished pool area is equally impressive, comfy leather style sun loungers, the pool has different levels with a lovely jacuzzi/massage bed section overlooking the main pool. complimentary fast Wi-Fi connection in the rooms, pool & lobby area along with an i-pad thrown in with each room package just makes your stay that little bit more special.

The big plus points for this place are the staff, (receptionists, restuarant staff, the airport shuttle bus staff all did there jobs with dignity and a huge smile on their faces - special praise for the receptionist Wanida who we dealt with many times, did her job super efficient and always had that huge thai smile). The location couldnt be better, right on the sea front with shops bars & restuarants all ON THE DOORSTEP.

Only 2 small negatives, the bars of Centre Point get a little noisy if your going to bed before 1am like we had to 1 night (only because we were up early to catch a flight to bangkok). The 2nd is the breakfast which we tried at 7am, 9am & later on at 10am during our stays - it was always the same. If you like rice & noodles for brekkie then fine, but the baked beans & grilled tomatoes each time were stone cold - so for those who prefer the english breakfast take a stroll down the front where a fine full english can be had for less than 250B.

All in all tho, the L Resort is the perfect place to explore Ao Nang

Room Tip: all rooms are good, the bungalows on the left (nopparat beach) side of the pool are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

You get the Thai smile welcome the minute you walk into The L Resort. The owner/s and the staff were very friendly and accommodating in all requests during our stay. We were very pleasantly surprised when we were told we were being upgraded and received an Ipad to use in the room.
We were fortunate to get the room on higher ground and has the sea view which is amazing at sunset and dawn in the morning. The room has all the mod con you can think of. Free Wifi throughout the hotel, flat screen TV with built in surround sound and iPod / iphone docking station to recharge or play your music via the room music system. You even get to experience real coffee (complimentary 2 pods per day) with the expresso machine provided.
The hotel is conveniently situated right in the hub of the shopping area with loads of seamless choices of restaurants whether local or foreign cuisines to suit your taste buds. Try local stalls along the pavement but make sure you are happy with the cleanliness before eating the food.
Long tails boats readily available across the hotel to get you to any beaches or islands nearby.
We love the area in Ao Nang and did not felt the need to venture out to other local areas which we would do so when we return another time.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chailert P, General Manager at The L Resort Krabi, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Lindymo,

We very much appreciate your review and your experience with our resort, that we are doing the utmost to ensure you a pleasant stay with us here. Look forward to the opportunity to service you again at our resort in the future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Its in the middle of the action. Secure. Staff are very warm, friendly and seem to genuinely enjoy being at work! Each room is given an iPad for personal use and in order to organise an assortment of resort services. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitakyushu, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first visit to Krabi, and it was hard to decide on a home base location without knowing the area. We were very lucky in choosing the L Resort. We've stayed in some very nice places over the years, but none have shown the attention to detail and level of support we enjoyed at the L. First, I received emails before our visit asking about our needs and providing information about services and activities in the area. I had questions about the hotel and the extra bed we'd requested, and always received prompt personal replies. Michel and his staff were always willing to help with anything we needed, and did so with a smile. We're snorkelers, so we really appreciated the hotel's location directly across from the longboat ticket area--really convenient. The front desk staff is familiar with all of the tour operators, and we were happy to have them book all of our other tours as well (elephant trekking, Tiger cave, speedboat to Phi Phi). In a place with so many people selling tours, it's nice to have recommendations, and if anything does go wrong, it's reassuring to know that the staff at your hotel will call the tour operator and help get things fixed.

The room was very comfortable, the amenities were plentiful, it was fun to play with the iPad guests are given to use during the stay, and the location was perfect for us. If you just want solitude, nature, and peace and quiet, the L may not be a great hotel for you. It is right across from the beach and the street area was pretty noisy and busy toward the end of our stay (after Christmas), but our part of Ao Nang was not as loud and crowded as the part of town that curves toward Krabi town (away from the beach). However, if you want to be able to easily do things, take tours, go shopping, have a choice in restaurants, and have easy access to the beach, this might be the perfect choice for you.

It was perfect for us, and we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We wanted to have the oceanview suite, but it was booked during our stay. We were absolutely satisfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed with my wife at the end of Vovember 2012 to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. The owner and his team were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

We enjoyed the pool and the Large room we staye din. The restaurant was also very good.

Will return one day....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The L Resort Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Resort Krabi

Also Known As:
The l Resort Krabi Hotel
The l Resort Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Wannas Place Andaman Sunset Hotel
The L Resort Krabi Ao Nang
Address: 31 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Wanna's Place Andaman Sunset Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The L Resort Krabi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The L Resort Krabi is located in the Ao Nang Beach area of Krabi right in the middle of the town's main promenade with its restaurants, bars and shops. The beautiful beach of Ao Nang is also just in front of the hotel. This lifestyle property includes newly built deluxe rooms and suites, besides, the bungalows are renovated to a perfect synergy between nature and modern interior. Our bungalows are spacious and upgraded with all superior amenities such as 40" LED TVs, Air-condition, Full set of mini bar, Coffee Machine, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service, Safe and many more... The unique " L Resort " experience is completed with touch screen guest room controls in all Deluxe Room Type as well as a personal iPad in all Deluxe and Suite Room, which make possible for guests to order all days room service, Excursion booking, and many other services required. The hotel offers an outdoor pool with drinking quality water, as well as culinary highlight with its Thai-Swiss Restaurant " Wanna's Place Restaurant " offers breakfast in a buffet style and all days dining with Chef Recommendation " Speciality on Hot Stone " The L Resort with its style and unique experience will raise your expectations for future hotel to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The L Resort Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Resort Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.