We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Garden Resort to your Saves list
Emerald Garden Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   90 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Thunder Bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tropical and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A small and crowded, old white bus will take you here from the airport for 150 Baht. This is a sprawling resort on a hillside with concrete walkways and plenty of lush flowering vegetation, big palms, bananas, and bungalow-choking vines. You also get two small but very nice pools, a swim-up bar and a useless Jacuzzi. The breakfast buffet is quite good. WiFi is available only around the pools and restaurant and can be slow at times. Birds, geckos, cameleons, tiny ants, big squirrels and a cat with a broken tail will keep you company. The room (ours was #23) is small and needed some major TLC. Kingsize bed was quite comfortable. The TV is a small tube TV with only one channel broadcasting occasional animated movies in English. Friendly staff, Bon and Lee will take good care of you at pool #2 and at breakfast. Short walk to 7/11, laundry services, restaurants and the street food vendors via the lower gate. Don't bother with the Fish Restaurant buffet across the street from the street vendors, dull and expensive, all other food outlets were good. There's no need to be closer to the beach, it's not a very nice beach. If you want a nice beach, go to the islands for a day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
47
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I did not actually stay at this resort but have to make a comment on the amazing front desk staff. My wife and I were a little lost on Moo3 Ao Nang on the 27th of January 2014 in the late afternoon. We had booked in for a massage at Massage Corner (Also a great massage centre) and could not find the place along Moo 3. We approached the front desk of the Emerld Garden Resort and the two lovely ladies tried to help us, they gave Massage Corner a call to ask them the location (without us even asking) and then explained to us how to get there. I was totally impressed with how much care they had for us, and felt the need to praise their professionalism, even for people not guest at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a nice 3 night stay at emerald gardens managed to get booked in whilst it was very busy. We had two rooms one had an issue with insects however the second didn't not sure what made the difference as we both had sprays and insect plugs.
Setting is very nice with lots of greener. Didn't use the pool but it looked great
Breakfast and restaurant service and food was great! Banana pancakes are a must!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Our previous hotel was fully booked so they recommended this hotel for us. We stayed here one night.

The check-in staff were fast and friendly. A lady gave us fruit juice when we checked in. We were taken to our room down through the lovely leafy garden paths. If you carry on down the path you end up in the road where the Mecure hotel is located.

The gardens are amazing, lots of vegetation to keep the searing temperatures at bay. The hotel has 2 pools. We swam in the bottom pool as it was next to our bungalow. This pool has a bar as well.

The deepest end in the pool is about 2 metres!

Room had air con as well as a fan. Very private.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was toast, fruit, bacon/sausage/egg or cornflake/muesli/ yoghurt with tea/coffee and orange/pineapple juice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We moved here after looking at about 5 other hotels in the region.
They were all nearer the beach but more expensive and impersonal. Emerald Gardens expands over a large area and is really a series of rooms..There are 2 pools in great surrounds.. We did not eat here but the restaurant seemed well supported.
We had no problem with insects.
Some distance from the beach but good taxis.
The staff were excellent..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very pleasant experience at this nice hotel. It has a perfect location for a relaxing vacation. Town center and several restaurants and minimarkets + more within walking distance. Tuk-tuk and taxis also available in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on ground floor if in a 2 level bungalow, due to heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

What an amazing place. The staff were super friendly. They were extremely helpful in making travel arrangements for us and ensuring that we experienced the best of hotel.

The rooms are large and comfortable, with a mini bar (fridge) and en suite shower room. Two great swimming pools - one of which is open 24 hours. We took full advantage of this luxury. Nothing quite like having a swim just before bed.

The hotel is a short walk to the main beach of Ao Nang or only 80 Baht in a tuk tuk (2 people) if you are feeling lazy.

Once on the main beach there are numerous shops, restaurants and bars - something to suit everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Garden Resort

Address: 90 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Garden Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect the nature, connect you to Emerald Garden Resort. A unique rain forest boutique's resort surrounded by its tropical trees in Ao Nang of Krabi, located only 10 minutes walks to the popular beaches of Ao Nang Beach & Noparat Thara Beach. The 70 rooms & villas, an International restaurant with decided eastern to western dishes and 2 swimming pools are all available for your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Emerald Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Garden Hotel Krabi Town
Emerald Garden Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.