We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with affordable price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tipa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tipa Resort to your Saves list
Tipa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Ao Nang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place with affordable price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 3D2N. Loved the fact that this place is quiet and tranquil (either that or we've came during the wrong time - lol monsoon season, but it wasnt raining anyway) Breakfast was alright. Staffs were ok, I think Kate was friendly (thumbs up!). Overall I would recommend to my friends/ family because of the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    128
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
56
116
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for my honeymoon and was pleasantly suprised with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room.

Breakfast could have been better but there are so many eating options nearby. Location to the beach is also within walking distance to some nice massage and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room is superb spacious, especially the super king size bed. Customer service officers at front dest are friendly. The buggy service is available. Our room balcony view is facing 'jungle'..at night can see many people releasing "Confucion's light" at the seaside. The lobby looks like Fabulous House, it's white wall with vintage and fairytale decoration. The resort is very near to Ao Nang beach, and very convenient to food stalls, 7-eleven and shops nearby. Meow, the frontdesk lady has became our friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The superior room was spacious with a king size bed, nice decor and a spacious balcony. We got one near the reception so could avoid long walk. It had a nice pool view as well. Breakfast is average and its the same everyday. The other restaurant next to reception offering lunch and dinner menu was fantastic. We ate the best thai food only there! While the restaurant staff were quite friendly, the receptionists sounded a bit cold and confused! A must try - Phi Phi Island trip! Tips on eating out: Never try any of the several "so called" Indian restaurants! they are expensive and served the lousiest indian food i ever had. They are no way close to authentic indian food..so pls stay away!

Room Tip: Superior room is quite nice however it's a gud idea to upgrade the room at a mere 800THB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I spent hours researching hotels in the Krabi/Ao Nang area before finally settling on the Tipa. The children loved the look of the Teak Bungalow in the jungle setting and we weren't disappionted.

On our arrival at Phuket, we had booked a transfer by car to Ao Nang. It took about two and half hours through some quite stunning mountain scenery. On arrival at the resort, I began to wonder if we would be disappionted - the main street looked very ordinary, full of tourist shops and travel agencies. The Tipa was tucked just behind this,and looks rather like an oriental palace from the outside! We were greeted in reception with welcome tea, amd invited to take a seat as we were early and our Bungalow not quite ready. All this was very cordial, but I did find it a little disconcerting that, despite our having a paid voucher print-out, they insisted on a deposit less the payment had not gone through.

A golf buggy took us to our bungalow, set up a steep incline, but on one of the lower slopes. It was truely a tropical setting, the bungalow having a wooden terrace which overlooked lush vegetation beyond which was even a swamp! The Bungalow itself was slightly tired looking, but certainly nothing to moan about. The aircon was fine, the bathroom very smart, the fridge funtional and the bed comfortable. One of the children also had a fairly comfortable additional bed.

We ordered room service on our first evening as we were too tired to venture out. The prices were amazing for a hotel - around £3 for a very nice Thai Green Curry, and no service charge or tax added!

Breakfast, well yes, that was disappionting, but we were prepared for that after reading all the other reviews. It isn't really an American breakfast as described, more an Asian one. Many of the guests there were Asian so perhaps they were pleasing the majority? At any rate, we didn't allow it to ruin our stay, there were plenty of other reasonably priced restaurants to eat in, even Macdonalds if you were so inclined.

We spent a week at the Tipa, visiting many of the beautiful islands and beaches by Long boat from Ao Nang, and going on a few day trips. Phra Nang cave is definitely worth a visit as is Bamboo island with it's simply stunning beach. I'd forget Maya Bay though - mass tourism has ruined this once beautiful bay. Try to visit the islands late afternoon when the hoardes of tourists are leaving.

In between the island visits and trips, we often lazed by the pool at the Tipa. It was a very pleasant pool, nice views, not many people around it. No one hassled you to buy drinks constantly, but they were reasonably priced anyway as was the delicious Pad Tai noodles we often ordered at the pool!

If you are looking for something different to your average looking hotel, the jungle setting of the bungalows is a great appeal here. As an adult, however, I would have perhaps have chosen a room facing the swimming pool - not so far to walk for a cool dip! The Tipa also has a great location - right in by the main street with it's many good reasonably priced restaurants, and only a five minute walk to the beach and the Long Tail boats which visit the other islands and beaches.

The only slight negative I think was the lack of English spoken by some of the staff. Don't rely on them to remember wake up calls either!

Food - can't remember the name of it, but there was a great restaurant on the opposite side of the road to the Tipa, (it had a pink "Hello Kitty" tuk tuk permanently parked outside). Lovely Thai food as well as great pizzas.

Room Tip: Teak Bungalow - request one that isn't to high up as the walk an absolute killer in the heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This resort is tucked away in a quiet and peaceful hill. The staff are friendly, and the massage service is highly recommended. It is a short 5 minutes walk to the beach, and is near to all restaurants and convenience store.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the lobby if you have elderly travelling with you, or small children as it is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

24hrs buggy service. 5 mins walk to the beach. Plenty of shops and food along both sides of the road. Great service from the staff. Look for MEOW. She will give you all the advice for good food or watering holes. She even brings me with her motor bike zooming around after she finishes work. Water rafting is a must adventure. Elephant riding was fun. You can also get your scuba diving licence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipa Resort

Address: 121/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krabi Tipa concept inspired by Colonial Thai Style building and the landscape special set for you to experience with the real nature relaxing holiday The location at the heart of Ao Nang beach area,whereas your stay with us will be so peaceful.Our choices of room from Bungalow to the Suite can accommodate to any type of the guests especially the handicapped guests as we have the room with wheel chair accessible rather than that we also provide the spa,restaurant,tour information and transfer from our smiley staffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Tipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipa Hotel Ao Nang
Tipa Hotel Krabi
Tipa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.