We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with a few little niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phra Nang Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phra Nang Inn to your Saves list
Phra Nang Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   119 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
In the hub of Ao Nang
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with a few little niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days in June 2012.

On arrival we were shown to a twin room, when we were expecting a double. It was explained that we couldn't have a double room until the next day which was then arranged with minimal fuss.

Our room was nicely decorated with a large King size bed, good shower facilities, air-con and a reasonably priced mini-bar. A few reviews call the rooms dated, but I don't think this is the case. The room looked out over a central pool. The route to the room is around the back of the hotel which does take you past the back of the next door restaurant kitchen, which isn't a great first impression.

The cleaning took place every day - although it wasn't always thorough. The bed was always made, but we were left without shower gel once or twice and the floor wasn't always swept.

There was a TV, but it did not show many English channels. We were issued with a Wifi password on arrival. The Wifi was usable for web browsing, but it wasn't a great connection.

The staff were always polite and friendly, however, their English is not strong which can make for some difficulties in communicating.

The location of the hotel is a definite advantage - its right on the beach, right next to the longboats and the restaurant looks out over a short walkway onto the beach which is a nice place to eat.

If you're used to 5* luxury then these niggles might irritate you, but they weren't really major issues for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the beach to ensure you don't get a soudtrack from the bar in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us as a part of your vacation while you have a number of accommodations to choose from in Ao Nang Beach areas, Krabi.

I can assure you that all the guest comments and all issues will be taken seriously to meet your expectation and satisfaction.

Again, thank you for posting your experiences at Phra Nang Inn: one of our properties among Vacation Village Group

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    255
    101
    37
    14
See reviews for
77
205
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed there for 3D2N, the facilities were good, fully equipped. 2 types of Slipper are available. For outdoor and indoor [i like the indoor slipper :)]. They also provide a sheets aside from towel, which you can use it to lie down on the beach. It located in the heart of the ao nang,
few steps away from the beach, many food stalls around, laundry and scooters for rent.
There were some mosquitoes at night, just don't forget to turn on the Repellent when it's getting dark.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and it give us a sense of success that you are enjoy your stay.

We hope we can see you soon!

The Mangement
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel was disappointing. It is very dark and tired. The rooms are worn and shabby. Strange layout in the room with the bath next to the bed. Location is perfect, on the beach edge and next to the boat ticket booth so you can easily visit the other beaches. The breakfast was really disappointing in comparison to other hotels- not alot of fresh options. Pool space was small and sheltered. Staff were not overly helpful- mostly the women on reception chatted and ignored us. Poor value dont stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for stay with us and we feel disapointed that we cannot meet your comfort stand.

Our Deluxe room ( SPA Wing and Beach Wing) is different and also the style of our property where we use mainly wood and local decoration.

The Deluxe Spa WIng: there is a bath tub in the room because of its concept SPA DIY, youwill have a complimentary Spa Set next to the bath so you can enjoy the bath with our Spa Set.

The Deluxe Beach WIng building is a "U" shap with main swimming pool coloring with tropical Garden, but there is no bath tub in the room and the Spa Set.

We do hope that you might give us another to try our Beach Wing Deluxe, which you might like it better.

Again, Thank you for your comment and appreciate your review

The management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I wouldn't say our stay was bad but I wouldn't call it fantastic either. Some things worked for us and at the same time, we wished some things we better.

Pros :
1. Great location. The pool leads to the beach (got to cross over small road) so you can have your share of beach fun and easily clean up afterwards.There are many eateries and shops nearby so you are definitely not far away from things to do.
2. The staff were friendly and helpful. We booked this hotel late but they were willing to help us look into us changing rooms.
3. Amenities such as toiletries provided and the television also had many channels.
4. Spa items in room were a delight. We had a room in the spa wing which came with a bath tub. They also put together a spa pack which contained some milk bath, salt scrub and the works. Simple but great treat for a busy mummy like me.


Cons
1. The hotel is old and we mean it. From the room to the lift to the restaurant, it has this tired feel to it. We read that it has just redesign its logo so I am guessing that it will be looking into refurbishing the place as well.
2. Breakfast was limited. Not much to look forward to but nice to sit in the restaurant and have a sea view while eating.

So, all in all, it was an average stay. Would recommend it for non fussy travelers who would like to be very near Ao Nang beach. Be sure to also get a good deal via internet else it is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank tou for your review which identifes our resort both Pros and Cons. really appreciated.

However, we are disappointed that some part of us doesn't meet your standards, which we will take it to our serious consideration to meet the expectation and Satisfaction.

If you have a chance, please give us another chance to visit us and see how well we improve.

Again, Thank you for your review.

The management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We only stayed one night as we were very disappointed with this hotel. The staff at reception wouldn't give us the same rates as advertised on their own website, and the lady at reception was quite rude. The rooms were not clean, there was black mould in corners, blood smears from killed insects on walls and the shower also had a lot of mould and the plug was completely blocked. Although very close to the beach, and our room was meant to be a beach side deluxe room, we couldn't see the beach at all and had a shared balcony. Perhaps we just had a bad experience, but I think it is expensive and not clean enough for the price you pay, and we then went on to find better accommodation elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear valued Guest

Please allow us to take this opportunity to thank you to stay with us.

Your comments are always valuable and we absolutely take them seriously.

Again, Thank you for your comments

The management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here on our way back from Koh Lanta. The rooms are outdated needing a complete overall, very dark and dingy looking. I would of been very disapointed if I had spent a week here. If you have any disability of any kind the pool is also vey hard to get in and out of. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: The rooms all face onto the pool area the bathrooms are very small and outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay.

And Thank you for your review and we can assure you that all the issues you mentioned will be taken seriously in order to meet expectation and Satisfaction.

Please give us another chance and see how well we improve.

The management
Vacation Village group
Phranang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and I (30 and 27) spent 4 nights at the wonderful Phra Nang Inn. We had booked our stay through Intrepid Travel so we had a package deal with hotel stay and kayaking activities. We thought it was a pretty good price, but we noticed that price went up by $300 dollars per person on the website after we booked. I'm guessing we got a pretty good deal!

Hotel Grounds
The hotel is located on the corner of "the street" that goes through the hear of Ao Nang. We thought that it would be pretty noisy with traffic and such, but the room that we had (1106) was near the back of the hotel away from the street and we thought it was pretty quiet. The location definitely gives you easy access to all the goings on and restaurants without being totally caught up in the action. Pools were medium in size and a nice temperature. Pool chairs were pretty busy and the chair reservers were out which made it hard to get a chair at times. The shrubbery and decoration we thought fit a nice tropical environment. We didn't spend any time in the bar, but it looked like nothing special. The breakfast/dinner area was nice with a good view of the beach. Breakfast buffet was included and was a nice buffet with a mixture of Thai food and western food. We really enjoyed the fresh fruit daily. We also made good use of the free internet in their business center.

Room
Room 1106 was on the ground floor which was nice to have easy access to the pool, but we thought it would have been nicer to be on the second floor. Bed was comfortable and room very spacious. We enjoyed all the water provided (4 bottles/day), but it would have been nice if they (or at least some) could have been in plastic and not glass. It's a little hard to take a glass bottle with you when you leave the room. Shower worked well and had no problems with the bathroom. A/C worked well and had no issues.

Service
Front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. The booking staff helped us organize the activities that we had booked through our tour. The shuttle crew that brought us back and forth to the airport were friendly and we had no issues.

In short we had a great stay here with no complaints and I'd fully recommend this for wonderful beach break in Ao Nang.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor room for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so hppy to learn that you had a great time with us!

This gives us a sense of success in providing our friendly and professioanl services.


Nohing is imortant than we know that our dearest guest leaves with happiness and remarkable experience.

Again,Thank you fo your time posting your comments which make all of us smile!

The management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phra Nang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Inn

Address: 119 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Inn is one of the first resorts established on Ao Nang beach, located in the best location where you can easily take off to Krabi's beautiful islands.It is a 3-star resort of 69 rooms with two maintain buildings; Beach Wing and Spa Wing. The resort is situated in the very centre of Ao Nang beach; only a few steps away from Ao Nang's shopping and dining streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Phra Nang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Phra Nang Krabi
Phra Nang Inn Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phra Nang Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.