We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Thai Cookery School

Aonang Thai Cookery School
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
+66 (0) 75 695 478
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Food & Drink in Ao Nang
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i persuaded my wife to take a course and it worked, since we have returned home she has been dishing up thai food regularly

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We made 5 interesting dishes, got to eat them and the chef was very good and helpful. The setting is also very nice. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We liked it a lot. Bought some curry pastes and hope to get the same taste when I start cooking my own Thai Food at home. Good value and definetly a good cooking school.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice as attraction for whom doesn't know to cook at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location and view high above the area.
we were picked-up from our hotel for the morning course.

Be aware that you should be very hungry when attending such a course as there is a lot of food to consume.

The teacher was speaking fluent language and all went smooth, as it is a touristic kind of tutorial and not really a "school" - you go directly onto preparing and cooking.

You get a handbook to write down the recipes, and on it's cover there is a funny 'diploma' with poor English.

The whole took around 2 hours and we were taken to our hotel in Ao Nanag.

Conclusions:
If you're into cooking and serve your family well, there's very little you may gain. For free or some nice tip you can watch and quire a street-food cooker.
If you are a newbee, this is a very good attraction to pass some hours and enjoy great food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"lucky boy"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

i do a lot of chinese cooking at home & wanted to learn or 'tweak' a couple of thai recipes . i decided on the afternoon course , as you get to choose 5x different dishes from the menu of your choice. i was collected from my hotel spot on time & taken to the cookery school , with absolutely gorgeous veiws across jungle & sea . i was a very " lucky boy" because being the low season ,i had a one to one with my tutor - just what i had hoped for . we sailed through all the courses , just stopping to eat as much as you could ,with the remaining food packed into containers for the family to eat at the hotel. I think it was a great way of passing an afternoon ,all for 1000 bahrt ( £20 ish) - great value , & the staff & owner were wonderfly friendly too .

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aonang Thai Cookery School also viewed

 

Been to Aonang Thai Cookery School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Thai Cookery School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.