We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Mother Can't Cook Like this” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Massaman Restaurant & Bar

Massaman Restaurant & Bar
Plaza of Aonang President Hotel | (Next to Spaghetti House), Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 146 restaurants in Ao Nang
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Your Mother Can't Cook Like this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Usually when a restaurant gets a lot of good reviews, when you finally get there you are disapointed. Well that is not the case with the Massaman Restaurant, it has everything good location, great kitchen producing great food, at great prices with very good service.
I only wish we had the time to try everything on the menu. If there is one thing you must try is the massaman curry......one of the best, and the morning glory vegi in garlic sauce is another must. The waitress was very good she took our order without writing anything down and got it all correct. You know it is good when the place is always full and you have repeat customers each night. Its great sitting in the open air watching the foot traffic stroll by on the sidewalk below you.
Great Spot, A Must Visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    157
    108
    27
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

really nice food....nice people working there and the price is really cheap.
the place is a bit far from the crowd but is worth to try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thai Food,good,cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very cheap food, real Thai food which tasted delicious. The vegetables in the curry were always fresh, you could see that, and we yould get a look in the kitchen, theyreally use fresh vegetables and fresh meat. The massaman Curry was the best, you have to try it. However you shouldn't drink a Milkshake there. We may got sick from it but we are not sure. So you rather avoid milk and youghourt products in Thailand generally. Staffs was friendly :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was average, waitress kind and helpful, price reasonable, portions adequate
However, felt the hygiene could be improved.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate here a couple of times during our recent visit and the food was excellent and well priced. I agree with other reviewers that the Massaman was one of the best I have ever had whilst in Thailand. Defi Italy great for a reasonable priced meal that is tasty and for good friendly and fun service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaman Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town

Been to Massaman Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massaman Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.