We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glur Hostel

Save Saved
You added Glur Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glur Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   22/2 Moo 2, Soi Aonang 11/1, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Glur is really an amazing place. It's so bright and airy and comfortable, very chilled out, and fastidiously clean. The setting is gorgeous and it's really a very easy walk to the beach and the long boats to Railay and Tonsai beaches. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and they go out of their way to help you set up activities, figure out what you want to do, etc. And the food at the on-site restaurant is awesome! I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone visiting the area. Go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Glur Hostel for a few nights and also recommended it to some friends who we met travelling who also stayed there at the same time at us. We upgraded to a private room once we were there and had a really enjoyable stay! The rooms are really clean and the decor is absolutely gorgeous. The bathrooms are kept very clean too! The common area is very spacious and you can use a laptop for the internet for free. There are also complimentary snacks/bananas and free tea/coffee. There's also a fridge if you need to use it and a microwave! One night we had far too many bottles of rum and played a few drinking games before heading into town and the owner had cleaned all our mess up by the time we got back which was so kind and helpful of him, even though we said we'd do it! The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from the beach or you can rent mopeds out cheaply. It's situated in what seems like the middle of the jungle at the bottom of a massive limestone karst which makes a beautiful backdrop. The food is also inexpensive and very yummy! They also provide a book of tours you can do with a good discount on each which helps people on a budget. There were a lot of insects here because of the location and we got bit a lot so make sure you bring insect repellent! A brilliant hostel, one of the best i've stayed in and lovely owners who do an awesome job running it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean , comfortable and value for money. One of the nicest hostel ive been to.
I like the common area the most with free coffee tea fruits biscuits, watch dvd, play games.
Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just got back from Thailand yesterday, one of my best memory was GLUR, the environment was amazing, peace and enjoyable. The architecture of the hostel was spectacular. People there was friendly and helpful, the food there was tasty. I love their double-decker room, although we few people squeezed into a room, but the design of the room allowed us to have our own privacy, I love the colour combination - blue and white, it was so relaxing. The bathroom was extremely clean, and the the design was lovely; And the best was that, there was an open area where we can gather around OR to do our own stuff such as watching TV, free-usage of laptop, leisure reading (tons of books) and so much more, at the same time, there were a fridge to store our foods and a microwave to warm our foods in few mins (as we had to rush to other city in early morning, and lil bit time for breakfast), and also free snacks and fruits. The location of the Hostel was excellent, just 10 mins walk can get to the town, and it was very convenient. And there were a seven-elevent shop, so don't worry if you are extremely hungry at midnight. I strongly recommend GLUR!!! and I'll come back again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

As a frequent traveler on a tight budget I used to take hostel accommodation, and it's one of my favorite hostel so far. Finally, I have my own window next to my bunk bed it's such a great idea. The Thai lady who owned this hostel is so friendly and helpful. She gave me a ride to get airport shuttle bus in the morning to the main road from hostel.

If I go back to Krabi, I'd love to stay at this place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our experience at Glur was wonderful. Despite the terrible weather the owner's helped us arrange something to do in the rain. It was extremely clean, especially the bathrooms. The location of the guesthouse was like a jungle retreat. There was a comfortable open area with free snacks, tea and coffee as well as a delicious restaurant with great coffee.

We highly recommend Glur!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It is nice, clean and new. The owners are very helpful. Breakfast is not included in the price but there is a share kitchen with coffee/tea/cookies...The location is excellnet if you want a quite place (only 10 minutes from the beach).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glur Hostel

Address: 22/2 Moo 2, Soi Aonang 11/1, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Specialty lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glur Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glur Hostel is a small resort-like hostel located in a peaceful area of AoNang with signature lime stone cliff view, and approximately 1.5 kilometers away from AoNang Beach. We provide only the bunk-bed type room with either private bath or shared bath and also features gathering places like open-air common area with 42"LCD & DVD, small kitchen area with fridge, microwave, hot-cold water dispenser, free coffee & tea. Free WIFI throughout the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Glur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glur Hostel Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glur Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.