We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected, strange, and fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Farm

Catfish Farm
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 47 things to do in Ao Nang
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected, strange, and fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here in the afternoon, forest was really hot and humid. No mosquitos at all, but TONS of hungry fish. Feeding the catfish is more fun than expected, as well as the 'jungle hike' and bridges. Some very cool objects and insects on display as well as a place for swimming. The owner was great and friendly and had some funny stories to tell. There were lots of kids on the pathway and they seemed to love it. All in all a really unique experience, and a good deal especially because it only costs 50 baht!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    22
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ao Nang, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Giant Catfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a strange place in a jungle setting not for the fainthearted. It is a little hard to locate from the main road going towards Klong Muang. At the entrance be sure to buy a packet of fish food to feed the fishes as this will surely lead to the highlight of your visit. As you throw the fish feed into the ponds, watch the giant catfishes go into a frenzy. Some would even swim up near you by the banks and open their mouths. It's scary, funny and delightful at the same. One might even imagine himself/herself in the middle of a horror movie starring killer catfishes but that would be crazy. Haha! Just walk the trial, enjoy the jungle sights and don't forget your insect repellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“catfish farm - worth checking out !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

your kids will go bananas over this place. Ours did :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit of an odd place, but worth a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Rather an oddball attraction, but for a small fee you get to see a lot of fish and have a nice walk through a bit of jungle. Not a 'must-see' by any means, but if you are in Ao Nang for a few days and are looking for something a bit different, it is worth considering.

You can purchase a bag of fish food to take with you, and there are plenty of chances to observe the catfish and other fish from the side of the ponds and as you cross over rickety wooden bridges. As well as the fish, there is plenty of wildlife to see, all kinds of tropical trees and plants and some colourful insects and less obvious lizards and so on. There are also a number of caged animals including birds, an alligator, a giant tortoise and some cats (?!)

Towards the end, you may catch a glimpse of a monstrous fish from South America cruising one of the ponds. I believe there was also some kind of natural bubble pool in a stream, but we did not try it out.

The place is cheap, and I enjoyed my visit (except perhaps the cats)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Go as part of a tuk-tuk day trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We flagged down a passing tuk-tuk and hired the driver for a two hour cruise around Ao Nang, stopping at the sea water fish farm research centre, the so-called “Nemo Farm”, Shell Beach (sometimes called Gastropod Cemetery), and Ao-Nam Mao beach and pier, where long tail boats depart for Krabi and Railay. Tuk-tuks, motorcycles with covered sidecars, are great – I love riding in them because they can’t go very fast and there’s lots to see. I enjoyed seeing all the fish at the Nemo Farm, our first stop, including a manta ray, and all the beautiful tropical batfish, parrotfish and angelfish. The Lion Fish looked out at me balefully as I tried to get a good picture of him, none too pleased to find himself trapped in a small aquarium. This research centre is also raising quite a few turtles; the tiny ones seemed to really enjoy dunking their heads in the streams of water running into their pond. We paid our driver 400 bht for the afternoon ($12.80). See more info and pictures here: http://lmaclean.ca/2011/11/trucking-around-ao-nang/

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Farm also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Catfish Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.