We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   86 / 8 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 101 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is simply gorgeous. We stayed here for a few nights from the 21/4/12 and we liked it so much we came back a few days later after visiting Phi Phi. We took a gamble and just turned up at reception hoping they would have a room. The staff were so pleased to see us again that they gave us an amazing room at half price. And what a room it is (we are still here) the view from the balcony simply amazing looking out onto sheer limestone outcrops. We are in the delux suite at the top of the hotel building. It's massive, the bed could fit 4 people in it. Dark wooden floors and lovely big bathroom and balcony. If the hotel suites are this good then the bungalows dotted around the resort must be stunning. I say resort! I don't thing there are any more than 50 rooms here, so it's lovely and quite and you feel like your in a jungle setting. The pool area is gorgeous too.
The resort is on the edge of the main strip of Ao Nang, about 10 mins walk from the restaurants etc. if you don't want to walk no problem just ask for the shuttle buggy and they whizz you to wherever you want to go (no charge) in no time.
The staff here are ever so friendly, I think that's one of the reasons we came back.
We've had a look at couple of the other hotels whilst wandering around Ao Nang and personally there's no comparison. Phu pi Maan is up there at the top of the list

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    76
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
53
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Given the deal we got on rooms here, Phu Pi Maan far exceeded our expectations and I am surprised at some of the reviews.

Our rooms were in the Main Building, and despite being the cheapest, they were spacious, stylish, and immaculately presented, befitting of a far more expensive Hotel. Staff were extremely helpful, almost too eager to please.

The Pool is beautiful, usually very quiet, well designed, with a fantastic picture postcard Krabi view.

People have mentioned the location - for us we preferred it to the hotels down near the Ao Nang strip - it felt like a nice little retreat and if the 10 minutes or so walk to the front is too much, they will drive you down there in an SUV.

Overall we were really pleased with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We intended to stay at Phu Pi Maan for about a week but decided to check out after one night due to the bad conditions of the resort.
We booked the Suite for USD 180/night and did not expect anything special but have been disappointed right after our check-in. Once arrived in our room it was obvious that apart from fresh bedsheets and towels nothing was cleaned. In fact the floor was full of sand across the room, the toilet was dirty and full of pee. We informed the staff at the reception and asked politely to fix the conditions. We have been assured this would happen while we are out for dinner. Once returned toilette and floor were ceaned, yes, but while taking a shower it was obvious that nobody cleaned the shower and bath tab as bath gel and shampoo was not only empty but lying around, used from the previous guests.
The next morning we decided to change places and consumed the breakfast at the resort - bad mistake! As a big thank you we both got diarrhea within 3 hours...
To all guests: there are so many nicer resorts in the area, even without the mentioned points, there is no point of staying at Phu Pi Maan. We have been in Thailand many times and this was so far the biggest disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Phu Pi Maan from Boxing Day until just after New Year 2012. As this was a special birthday present, and we were travelling with two children (10 & 7) we wanted to make sure our hotel had good facilities, a luxurious feel with a good price-point. I researched hotels for around three weeks and ended up with a short-list of two, the Phu Pi Maan and the Phu Petra (also very nice). We opted for the Phu Pi Maan because the location was slightly nearer town. We were extremely pleased with our choice, the hotel is stunning. It's sympathetic design blends beautifully with the surroundings. The pool area was amazing. We chose a corner room with floor to ceiling windows and views towards the mountains. The bungalows look wonderful too. Our room was impeccable, cleaned every day and light and roomy. Yes, we often had problems with the smell from the toilet but as soon as we notified reception they would send someone to fix the problem. The food was really good and service was always with a smile. We had a good choice at breakfast and even with one fussy eater, we didn't encounter any problems. Yes, we had a few hiccups with the language barrier but that's all part of the fun, we were in Thailand on holiday after all, in the scheme of things this really wasn't a problem as some other reviewers have made out. The hotel offer a shuttle service to and from the beach area which was an added bonus but the stroll into town was an interesting one! Overall, this hotel was wonderful, far away enough from the hustle of Ao Nang but close enough to experience the crazy-ness. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Krabi.

Room Tip: Corner suites are really light, sunny and roomy. Views on the mountain side are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon trip,

Pros:
- The pool and the views are very nice
- Good gym
- Friendly staff, did not have any communication problems
- Very fast and free wifi that worked perfectly
- Ok breakfast, (toast, watermelon, pineapple, etc., eggs prepared on request)

Cons:
- In overall sense I would have expected the overall state of the hotel / rooms to be a bit more polished / clean on the basis of the hotel pictures / tripadvisor pictures. Seems like they could do the cleaning a little bit better.
- Our toilet did smell a bit, had to keep the lid down and the door closed
- There was some small ants running in our room near the trash bin, could not leave any traces of food laying around anywhere (they also entered the water kettle once). We had to ask for some ant spray from the reception. This was not a big problem though.
- There is a mosque nearby, you will most probably wake up 5-6 am to loud singing that happens every morning
- 15 minutes to walk to the beach (this can be a positive thing also as there is no noise in the night)

This is the only place I have stayed in Ao Nang so I don´t know how it compares to the other hotels. At least there was no noise from outside in the night which can be a problem if you are right in the center of Ao Nang.

We will not be coming to Ao Nang in general again as it´s so full of tourists and also in the evening you get so many people trying to sell you things / drag you to their restaurant from the street. Started to be very annoying.

We continued to journey to smaller island Koh Lanta which is much more nicer. You have a lot of tourists also there but it´s much more quieter and nicer than Ao nang.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here, and found it a very pleasant respite from our hectic schedule of activities. Our room upstairs, overlooking the restaurant, was quiet and beautifully decorated, with a window seat and table area where we could plan our activities or check our email with the free wifi. The hotel is located in a residential area away from the town of Ao Nang, so there's no traffic noise. It was only a 15 minute walk to town, but traffic is frantic and it's always so hot, so we were very grateful for the free shuttle.

The grounds here are lush and green, with lots of flowers. We were too busy to use the pool, but it looked lovely. The restaurant never seemed at all busy, but we were there at odd times, either at dawn (for the included breakfast buffet, very bountiful) or once early in the evening for dinner. The giant mosquitos found us right away at dinner, but the staff noticed us swatting bugs and rushed to solve the problem, turning on overhead fans and lighting mosquito coils. Food was always good, and we loved looking at the koi ponds or over the balcony to the hills.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful at arranging excursions and ferry tickets. The only criticism I have is that we had arranged for the hotel to pick us up when we arrived at Krabi airport, but the driver never showed up. Taxis are so easy to find, though, and cheaper too, so it worked out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet green environment with no traffic noise. It has a nice pool with a beautiful view and free towels. To get to the beach, you can either walk for about 15 min (+/- 1 km) or take the free hotel shuttle. On the way to the beach you find all sorts of shops and restaurants, so we just had breakfast in the hotel. Breakfast was really good, especially the omelette you could order.
We stayed in Phu Pi Maan for 4 nights in february 2012, but extended our stay for one additional night because there's a lot you can do in the area. The first 4 nights we had a room on the first floor with a small balcony, which didn't bother us because we rarely used it. The only problem we had was the shower: the water didn't drain fast enough, so after a shower of 2 min, the bathroom floor would get wet. We let the reception know and they send someone to look after it, but that didn't really help. Luckily, there was also a nice bathtub, so we used that. For our last night we had to change rooms, because ours was already booked. We moved up to the second floor, where we had a better view, a bigger balcony and a shower that drained as it should. In every room you get slippers, bathrobes, some fruit on your fist day and 2 small bottles of water every day.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, they even called our tour guide when he was late, to ask if everything was ok (without us asking for it).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa

Address: 86 / 8 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phu Pi Maan Resort & SpaA small and cozy resort designed into a tropical embrace of nature. Delicately designed villas, suites and deluxe rooms blend the best elements of contemporary design and traditional Thai style together, leading to a relaxing atmosphere of comfort and luxury. Phu Pi Maan offers all amenities and facilities a guest could expect. The spacious and beautifully designed pool area invites guest of all ages to enjoy and relax. Delicious Thai and western food is offered at the resorts nicely designed and stylish restaurant. For the ultimate indulgence in pure bliss and tranquility, the resort offers a health spa with many different thai massage and fitness center. A heavenly sanctuary for you to relax, unwind, recharge and rejuvenate. Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa is located in Ao Nang, Krabi, approx. 30km from Krabi Airport (30 minutes by car) or 160km from Phuket Airport (2 hours by car). Ao Nang Beach can be reached within a five minute shuttle service offered throughout the whole day by the resort. The most beautiful beaches of Tonsai, Railay and Phra Nang can be reached within 15 minutes by longtailboat and the gorgeous beaches of Poda and Chicken Island within a 30 minutes ride. Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa offers the ultimate experience for guest looking for a stay with a personal touch within a beautiful and most quiet nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Pi Maan Hotel Ao Nang
Phu Pi Maan Resort And Spa
Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.