We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandinavian Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Scandinavian Residence to your Saves list
Scandinavian Residence
278 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 101 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Vellberg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in the scandinavian residence with my spouse and we liked it a lot.

The ownercouple and the stuff are very friendly and helpful, roomes are clean, spacious and are cleaned every day. In the room there was a wardrobe for all our stuff, a big shelve, tv, a small fridge and a writing desk, which we found very helpful for writing our mails and sorting out the photos on the computer. aircon was working very smoothly, so it didnt disturb us at all. We found the beds very comfortable, no problems at all! when you want to sleep in, breakfast is served all day long.

I particullary liked the little terrasse right in front of the room (which was for our private use only) and the beautiful view over the tropical garden.It always gave me the feeling to be in a little oasis. the clean swimmingpool gave refreshment, when you needed a "cooldown".

The hotel is a bit outside from the ao nang center, that makes it much calmer than in a centresituated place. When you hire a motorscooter, no problem at all. But even without scooter you can stop a bhat-taxi right in front of the hotel, which brings you for 20 bhat (50 Euro-cents) to the beach and ao nang center. but you even could walk down, takes you about 30, 40 minutes. But when you want to go out for a meal, you dont need to go down the whole way, there a lots of restaurants along the street down.The first bit you just walk on the little sidestripe, we never found it difficult to walk there. Then soon you come to the road, which leads you to the beach and the centre, there are pedestrianpavements.

right opposite the hotel is a little supermarket, you can get all the little things you might need.

There are lots of things, you can do in ao nang. I loved the beachscenerie and the many little shops, you can stroll through. The hotel offers the organisation of various excursions. And if you hire a scooter, I would recommend, just ride around to explore the aerea, you`ll find beautiful remote spots.

and a hint for those, who love a glas of whine : try the read housewhine, its delicious.

Room Tip: there are rooms on the groundfloor and rooms on the first floor. groundfloorrooms with private terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteenBoes, Owner at Scandinavian Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Jutta
Thank you very much for taking your time to make a review of our hotel.
We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Scandinavian Residence and that everything was working out well for you.
As you pointed out amongst other things, the area around the hotel is getting more inhabited, so that we now have a minimart and several authentic Thai restaurants very close, serving good Thai food at very modest prices.
Another positive thing is the Baht busses passing right outside the hotel entrance, taking only 5 minutes to the Ao Nang Beachfront for Baht 20 and to Krabi town for 70 Baht.
Sleeping quality has been improved considerably after we recently changed mattresses in all the rooms.
We all wish you a continued wonderful holiday and hope to seeing you again..You are warm welcome.
Warm regards
Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
14
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krabi Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My friend from Denmark stayed here for a few nights and I visited a few times.
It was a nice place and nice rooms and overall a nice experience for me.

Just until I went to the restaurant with my friend and ordered 2 danish drinks named "snaps"...
Then I got the bill which said 400 THB for 2 drinks!!! What!!??
OK, the drinks vere large, but heck man, this is almost 300% more expensive than I pay for a similar "snaps" in any other Scandinacian restaurant!

When I looked at the bill and told the waitress "WOW, that was bloody expensive!" she just looked at me and laughed like it was funny!

I told my friend: "I will never come back here!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteenBoes, Owner at Scandinavian Residence, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Christian
Thank you for your review, even if you never stayed at our hotel. I suppose that your friend supplied you with the information about the rooms , sleeping quality, and more, things that you yourself could not possibly know about, but I don't know. At least he seemed very happy when staying here.
As you mentioned. A good Danish original snaps measuring 10 cl is not cheap. It's 2,5 x 1 normal shot, and accordingly the price goes up. Don't have to be a nuclear scientist to figure out that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It sounded enticing and a discount was offered but...I felt I wasted time and money . I had hoped to use this hotel as a base during visit to the region but could only tolerate one night. The bed was as hard as rock - and this is a camper speaking . It's a little out of the way but the bigger problem is that the kitchen on site is limited in menu and hours of operation. The rooms are small and without charm although the setting itself is pleasant and there is a nice little pool. Noise was also an issue at night when other guests returned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteenBoesHansen, General Manager at Scandinavian Residence, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Elizabeth. Discount 35 %. You get what you pay for. Price for your a/c room was 715 THB only, in high season
As you mention all matresses are brand new. Location close to everything but still in a quiet area of Ao Nang. We are a B&B guest house and therefore the dining- and menu is limited. We serve breakfast all day and Scandinavian specialties as you can expect in a Scandinavian Residence. Happy people may be a bit loud returning from a night out, but I think you will find this phenomenon everywhere No more no less. All information is easily available on the internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night only, since we wanted a break from Ao Nang, and hoped that their "Scandinavian style" beds would treat our backs better than the rather hard Thai-style beds.

That was a mistake.
The place it self isnt that bad, I liked it, actually, but the beds was a disaster. Hard, firm mattresses, and they were still covered in plastic, so this made the sleeping experience a sweaty and unpleasant experience. Dont know why they have covered the entire mattress in plastic, maybe to make them last longer?

The location is a little bit off, which we were aware of, but our planned walk to nearby shops/restaurants couldnt be done since the road didnt have pavements, and the traffic is pretty heavy.

We were treated good by the owner, he picked us up where we currently stayed, and we would consider to stay here at a later occasion if they actually upgraded to scandi-stayle matresses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteenBoesHansen, General Manager at Scandinavian Residence, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Scandinavian Residence is a Thailand based Bed & Breakfast guesthouse. We have never promised Scandinavian style beds anywhere.Matresses are brand new,covered with plastic for your convenience and antiseptic, guaranteed clean. As you mention the main road between Ao Nang and Krabi, just outside the main entrance is a paved road but no special arrangement for pedestrians, but transportation is plenty by songthaews and TukTuks, 4 min's to the beach in very quiet surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Scandinavian Residence over the New Year's. The Tripadvisor rating weas excellent, the booking process by e-mail with the manager "Dr Steen" went smoothly. The disappointment came when we entered our room. As demonstrated by the uploaded photos, there were disgusting (blood?) stains on the wall, the cushion cover was ripped, there was trash and some type of fungus at the base of the mini-fridge, and the blanket in the closet was smelly. The bathroom was even worse: dirty sink covered in limescale, from which water would leak onto the floor, all the metallic parts were rusted (from the faucets to the drain cover) and mold in the corners and the ceiling.

On their web site they claim that "A complementary daily selection of fresh fruit" is provided. This is a LIE! We asked about the fruits the next morning, and we had to explain for 5 minutes what this meant to the Thai lady on duty who barely spoke English. When she finally got it, she said that we would have to pay, showing us the menu where a fruit plate costs 60 baht...

This place was so bad that after dinner every evening, we would stay out until as last as possible, just to make sure we spent strict minimum time in our room. The worst part is that we had paid the peak season rate of 1,950 baht per night, i.e. in the same price category as the excellent Villareal Heights in Kata where we had stayed just before.

Advice: only consider this place if you need a room for several weeks in the low season for yoga or Muay Thai training and you are on a very tight budget. If you are visiting Krabi as a tourist for some days, there are much much better options!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteenBoesHansen, Owner at Scandinavian Residence, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for your review. But what took you nearly 9 months to file your disappointment as you could have done it directly to me (I am availabel 24/7 in the high season) and your problem would have been solved directly. The housekeeper attending your room clearly was not aware of the complimentary fruit thing. I must say, that personally I would not stay in a room that I disliked as much as you obviously did. I would change hotel immediately. But you probably learned that Scandinavian Residence is a very price worthy alternative, not only during the peak high season
As for the formation of mould in the tropics it's a universal problem due to the very high humidity.
Calcified water is very common in Ao Nang as all deep drilled wells (as ours) brings our guests crystal clear and clean water with a high content of calcium. Just 1 drop of water will leave a calcium "stain" especially visible on coloured bathroom fittings.
"The disgusting blood stains" you mention is only the painters discrete spillings TIT :-))
Warm regards
The manager

"There is no unique picture of reality."
Stephen Hawking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this lovely accommodation and It was a very good choice!

Room was clean and spacy, you get bottled water every day which is very nice. One night i came across to a gekko in my room, but hey If you live on an Island you are bound to meet up some wild life anyway :)

The staff is excellent. The owner Steen and his lovely wife will happily help you with every question that you have. Where to go or If you need Any assistance no problem they will Be sorted. 

There is a little, but nice pool area If you don't fancy going to the beach (there are loads of good beaches though). I would recommend to rent a motorbike as the guesthouse is not in the Center of the main area. You can get a get a good bike from Steen At a reasonable price, easy beazy :)

At the time the wifi wasn't perfect, but there was a bigger problem all over the island and Steen was taking caring of It. 

I did only the breakfast in the guesthouse. It was good helps you get the day started! There are many restaurants nearby At walkin distance or again the motorbike will come handy. 

In the end of the day If you prefer guesthouse with a reasonable price just contact directly Steen by calling or website/email and you will get a good price from him! Definitely going there also next time, If travelling again to the Beautiful Ao Nang. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed there in the end of my trip to Thailand, it was really great. Good rooms, clean and nice. Fridge, possibility to order food from the hotel reception. Pool outside! Really nice owners also.
It is not located near the Ao-Nang beach so it is nice and quiet, private also.
You could meet other people hanging out there near the pool.
Staff was helpful and i hope i can come back one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandinavian Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandinavian Residence

Address: 278 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse, located in quiet surroundings, 2,3 km. From The Ao Nang Beach. Plenty of Thai restaurants and food stalls in walking distance. In high season songtaews are passing every 5 - 10 minutes right outside the hotel to Krabi Town and the beach. Swimming pool, tropical garden, games room, bar, restaurant. All 14 A/C rooms have en suite toilet and shower with hot and cold water, terrace or balcony most rooms are facing the pool and garden area. Cable TV with 60 Thai and international channels, Air condition or fan, single beds or double beds. Free WI-FI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Scandinavian Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavian Residence Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandinavian Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.