We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Camp and Day Cruise

Andaman Camp and Day Cruise
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
+660878851125
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer private, customised day trips at sea and on land, designed to show you the the local area and lifestyle in a relaxed and friendly way. We also do camping and extended trips around the islands and can arrange accommodation, transfers and activities. Families with young children and older or disabled travellers are welcome, and special needs can be accommodated. For more information, visit our website or email any time for a prompt response.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Based on past reviews, we booked a one day private long trail boat trip. Sun our guide (and later learned also a co-owner) picked us up promptly. On arrival to the pier, we where introduced to the crew members. The long tail boat was very large which was good as to reach our destinations required a journey on the open seas (can be very rough). The captain did a very good job in keep the boat as steady as possible. Sun was excellent along with the rest of the crew. A cold lunch was included (Sun prepared the meal himself at home - nice job Sun!!!).

The boat is your basic but large long tail boat equipped with life jackets and snorkel equipment (which they forgot to bring but offered rent some at our first stop) - this was not an issue as we travel with our own equipment.

We had a nice day and we recommend Andaman Camp and Day Cruise.

Tip #1: Long tail boats are powered by an external engine. The engine is very loud which makes the trip quite noisy. We did not expect such loud noise which made the journey somewhat unresting for a whole day at sea. No blame on Andaman Camp and Day Cruise, just a fact on long tail boats you should know.

Tip #2: The trip took us to very nice snorkelling and beaches. There is no washroom on the boat. Washroom access was at the national park - not nice facilities at all - actually pretty run down - We know we are in remote sites, just expected clean facilities at a national park.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    34
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our best day in Krabi...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

When you book tours, you never know for sure what you're going to get. All the research in the world could turn out for naught if something goes wrong. Our tour with Andaman Camp & Day Cruise was everything we expected, and more. Sun was our guide and was more than just a guide. He was fun, funny, informative and genuinely interested in what we wanted to do. He and our crew (total of 3) took care of our every need. We were on a long tail boat that fits 30, but it was only my wife and I, plus Sun and the crew. The company provided snorkels and masks, and all the water we needed plus a great lunch home made by Sun. We stopped at the islands we booked, and spent as much (or as little) time as we wanted. Sun and crew were totally flexible and did what we wanted to do. Some of the islands have little bars where local beer was available...a nice refreshing find after hours in the hot sun.
On our way back to port, Sun and I sat on the bow of the boat talking about life in our respective homelands (Thailand and USA). He's a real guy...a real person who genuinely enjoyed being with us. And, I can assure you, we genuinely enjoyed spending the day with him and his team.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relax n chill by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Sun was our guide for this Hong + 4island trip. Service was good even though the islands were not as clear or as many corals or fishes as I thought to be. He lend us a kayak for free for some of my friends were not able to snorkel on that day. Overall experience was much better than those trips where we have to squeeze with many pple. Onlookers peer enviously on our sunset BBQ dinner. Worthy experience best to enjoy with friends who likes to relax and chill by the beach.

Note: Beer is not included in the tour price. We didnt get to drink any juice either. Beverage provided were mineral water, Coke and Sprite.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Highlight! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We took the 3 Island Tour - this was the first day of our honeymoon at Krabi.
We were blown away by the sights and picturesque locale. Definitely a must visit
The whole trip was arranged in a professional manner - with good balance of leisure and activities.
We did snorkelling and swimming for a bit
Had a delicious lunch with cut fruits and juices
Lazed on the beaches and explored the nearby caves
All in all, a very memorable trip!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolute must-do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I booked AC&C for two trips during or 4 days in Krabi for our honeymoon. Elizabeth was beyond helpful in giving trip suggestions and allowing us to customize our dream excursions. You can tell that friendly customer service is a priority to her and her team and that making sure you get the best out of your experience is most important. Everyone we dealt with was a dream and felt like a long-time friend.
Our first trip was a private long tail boat tour to the gorgeous Hong Island and other surrounding islands. Elaine, our guide, and the boat crew were so accommodating and took wonderful care of us. We were supposed to go snorkeling at Red Island first but the captain took one look at the choppy water in the morning and knew that visibility wouldn't be great and it wouldn't be as enjoyable for us to snorkel then. There were other companies who still let their guests go snorkeling at that time and it didn't look like they were having much fun. When we returned later in the afternoon we had perfect visibility and the water was perfectly calm. This was an excellent spot to see all the tropical fish. We are lunch on the boat which was prepared by a fantastic cook. It was absolutely delicious!!! Elaine was a wonderful guide and had a great sense of the areas we would enjoy. We loved this trip!
Our second excursion was one of our highlights of our entire honeymoon by far! This was the Thai Guided Life Tour. It was the only time during our honeymoon that we felt that we truly got a sense of what living and growing up in Thai villages was really like. Sun, our guide and Krabi local, told stories that painted such vivid pictures of his life growing up in the village and transformed the Krabi we see today to the Krabi of the past. We got to visit his old village and areas where most tourists don't ever get a chance to see. We also went Kayaking in the caves and ate another delicious lunch which Sun helped prepare. Ask for his Seabass recipe, it is out of this world!!
It would be a mistake to book with any other company for tours in Krabi!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andaman Camp and Day Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Andaman Camp and Day Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Camp and Day Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.