We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been much better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Palm Paradise Resort

Save Saved
You added Krabi Palm Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Krabi Palm Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   165 Moo 3, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 84 hotels in Ao Nang
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could have been much better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The semi-detached villa rooms are comfortable, price reasonable and food very good. However, we had to change a few rooms before we got a satisfactory one as some were dirty/dusty (probably not used for sometime), run-down, or full of ants. In the end, we got ones that were quite clean, everything worked, and only ants outside bathroom windows.

The description on their website said it's just a few metres from the beach but in fact, it's like more than a kilometre. They had free shuttle bus to go to their sister hotel by the beach, in shopping strip which was convenient but sometimes we had to wait for a while (They had timetable but didn't seem to stick to them. Sometimes it's in our favour as they offered to leave straightaway when it's not even the time). We're a bit unhappy about the airport drop off after check-out, a service that we paid for in our package but they made us wait for other passenger and those on market tour. We're so anxious that we might miss our flights.

We paid for breakfast and dinner for our stay which was handy, considering the place is over a km away from shops. The food was good but there're some limitation which the staff weren't clearly able to or willing to explain eg. drink extra, certain choice of food extra, etc. Some staff seemed to be unhappy that we didn't opt for those that would cost us extra.

Staff were a bit of hit and miss. We had some who were so wonderful and helpful and some who couldn't careless and unfriendly.

If you like to spend quiet time relaxing by the pool and don't need the beach, shopping or views, This is a good value place to stay. Otherwise, there're other more suitable choices in Ao Nang.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place is so dark at night i think they are saving electricity, bad location, the staff are so unfriendly and one of them look like she wanted to eat you... When we arrived, the resorts are so empty, yet they gave us the room that's very far inside. We r unhappy because we brought some heavy luggages.

Once we asked for a plate and knife, the receptionist say the kitchen is closed, then she told us we need to come to the receptionist to get the plate n knife, i replied, what? I dont think so, u should deliver to us. Then she called back and say she's the only one on counter so she couldnt deliver. Lol.

The next morning we wanted to check out, i asked a for bell boy, they say they have no bellboy at all. I told them i dont care you have to help us, then the lady asked the waiter to become a bellboy. We pity the waiter, he's the only one who is nice in the resort. We gave him lots of tips.

The good thing abt this resort? Manicured lawn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights this july. I was very happy with my cabana/bungalow, so big and clean. Also the tub in the bathroom was really nice. Lifesaver after a day in too much sun.

However, in the low season you should be avare that the hotel is far from crowded. I booked it in advanced, so I didn't know where in Ao Nang it was. That in combination with being a bit far from the center and beach can make it a bit dull. I think the atmosphere will be better in the high season. I didn't use the pool, but it looked clean.

The fitness center is free of charge when you are a guest there. So is the 2 computers in the restaurent for internet use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

A lovely place, great rooms although the bathroom was a bit dirty. Quite a walk to the beach but plenty of tuk tuks drive past. Breakfast not great but okayish

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is the second year in a row we stayed at this hotel. There are many issues. First of all we paid more than last time for the same package. And this time the whole resort seemed to be a lot "cheaper" than last year. Second, we did not get the bungalows we agreed to and our group got split up. Then the food were not the way it used to be. Also we had to pay for soda pop this time.. (60 baht.. which is a lot.. considering it is 15 at a seven eleven).

The tours we were promised was not delivered and ended up not getting the trips we wanted, and also we had to wait forever for the boats. Then they seemed to try to get more money out of us after we booked the trip, and said we were originally quoted prices for Thai People??? We went to a Canoe trip and were suppose to go hot spring after a forest walk. Our driver tried to talk us out of going to hot spring because he had to pick up some other people that were shopping in some mall??? (hello! we paid for the trip, give us what you promised, its not our fault you cannot coordinate)

This place is far away from the beach and the city so you have to take some kind of taxi. One time we wanted taxi 6 PM we were told the Driver was sick. We saw him at the resort 5 minutes later, he said he was done for the day???? So now the staff keep lying to us again to save money. (happened with the trips as well)

The hoses on the showers were too short so we had to sit to reach our hair!!! (they were longer last year.. must be replaced by someone who do not care for details)

Beware, they seem to squeeze every little dime, which is probably what people put up with since they are on their one time a year vacation budget. But, the Thai people in our group were shocked on how they treated us!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the Bungalow next to the Pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth ,england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

ok yes it is a walk to the beach ,but a tuk tuk comes every 2 hours and i found it nice to stretch my legs......the room we stayed in was a garden chalet,bed was very comfy,big pillows ....shower great ,hot water everyday......had trouble with the electric for 1 day but they let us know in advance....so just spent the day out(as u probably would on holls).......tv was a 32" widescreen with dvd player......only little problem was the lack of english programs (bout 3 and all news ones) but as we were on holls didnt spend that much time in room and bought some very good quality dvds at a store.......the pool is very good size, breakfast is nice ,some say the same everyday ...yes it is but you have freshly cooked omelet ,bacon,sausage,ham,.rice ...a selection of fruit ,white and brown bread to toast and cereals ...dont know bout you but thats enough to keep me going......staff were very helpful....booking trips ,seeking advice...etc......the rooms are cheap in price.....so for what you get i think its very good..... you will get better hotels than this but will pay a lott more.....i would definetely go back....

Room Tip: if staying in garden chalet ask for one closer to the pool ....the others can be a bit of a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our family stayed there for 5 days late December 2011. Our first impression of the hotel was not great. The hotel location was quite far from the town centre. There is a free hotel “tuk tuk” from the hotel every two hours, so you have to time it perfectly to get to the town centre and back.
Our first chalet was out in the gardens. When we arrived the TV was not working and we had to wait for half an hour for the electrician to fix it. The bathroom shower head was not attached to the wall and that made for very interesting showers. The rooms were clean but very average.
Next we were moved to a room on the 3rd level so we could be closer to our group. The noise from the hot water system was horrendous. The loud thumping every time someone in the hotel had a shower was intolerable. We go to sleep with the noise and get woken up in the morning because of it and our key holder was broken it turns off the electricity at random.
Breakfast was also an interesting concoction of fried rice and salad. We were there for 5 days and they had the same fried rice and salad the whole time. The cook prepared eggs to order and that was a saving grace.
The staff members at the hotel were very helpful but did not have any knowledge of the area and they had to call the manager for everything. The staffs were petrified of the manager and made us feel so sorry for them.

Will be back to Krabi one day, but will give this place a miss.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krabi Palm Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Palm Paradise Resort

Address: 165 Moo 3, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Palm Paradise Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Krabi Palm Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Palm Paradise Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Palm Paradise Resort Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Palm Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.