We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude; fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   395 Moo 2 Soi 13, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Vadodara, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solitude; fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Positives:
1. Fantastic location. Away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang, the property offer a perfect setting for those who wish to be in a perfectly natural setting
2. Good quality breakfast.
3. Smooth check-in and check-out
4. Great pool area with beautiful view of the hills in the background.
5. Medium sized rooms with almost everything one could ask for
6. Free shuttle service
7. Very friendly and accomadating staff. All reasonable requests were fulfilled with minimal fuss.

Cons:
1. One has to go to right upto the reception to avail room service. (there are no phones in the rooms)
2. As pointed out by quite a few reviewers, the location from the beach is definitely a lot more than most other properties. However, the free shuttle service makes up for that.
3. (AND yes, we did find one cockroach in our room. Had to chase it out, but we had come prepared as we had read about it other reviews. The greenery, the flora and the natural setting has its baggage)

Overall, we had a great, comfortable stay at this charming little resort.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have a great view in the balcony and are worth the extra penny spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    76
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner from the 12-15 March 2013 for our belated 2nd year anniversary.

When you reach the Krabi International airport, you can choose whether to take a shuttle bus with a minimal fee of 150 THB per pax, or have a comfortable private journe y in an air-conditioned cab to your resort/hotel. You gotta pay up first at the booths which you can easily find in the airport building. They will then issue you an official receipt to show the in-charge at the taxi stand or when you wanna board the shuttle bus. We took the latter as we had big luggages with us. The taxi drivers are all gg to 'drop by' their taxi place and tell you that they have to do something for a bit in the office. Another man will then approach your taxi and introduce himself, asking you to look around inside for more information on the tour service they offer. It's part of their sales & from there they will get commission. We bought a full day package in the end & asked for a bargain ofcourse. Just ask for more of their service like what we did was ask the same guy to pick us up from the resort during our checkout to go back to the airport. Worth it.

To Phu Pha (which means mountain in Thai) Ao Nang Resort, it should take about half an hour's journey. Once we reached the resort, we were given welcome drinks (orange juice), the wifi password which was stapled tgt with the free shuttle service timings from resort to ao nang beach, & back. Wifi is free within resort compound.No reservations needed for the shuttle service, but be at the lobby as early as possible. If you intend to take the tuk-tuk back to resort after a tiring day out, make sure to take the small one. It should cost you only 60-80 THB from the other end of Ao Nang Beach. If they charge you 100/120 THB be sure to bargain. Big tuk-tuk is too pricey & you might as well walk back on your own. Bac to hotel. Since we made reservations from Booking.com, we have to make payment in cash (THB) at the resort itself. You can choose to pay either when you are checking in or out, doesn't matter. We chose the former, so it's easier for us. The lady at the counter will then escort you to your room and show you what they have inside your room.

Fyi, they don't have phone lines in the rooms, so if you have any problems or queries, you have to go straight to the lobby & approach them directly. The only channels they have on are russian movies with no subtitles, russian, british and thailand news, & when the network is good, they show 'lotus macau' which is equivalent to our 'fox movies'. There's a small balcony attached, good for smoking out in the middle of the night, have dinner or just drying your wet clothes/towels when the sun is up (should be about 6 am thailand time).

There are 4 rooms that make out a clutter, 2 rooms on every story in every clutter, & there are two stories for every clutter. All the rooms surround the pool, which caters to toddlers as well. There's a hut beside the pool which tourists hang around to eat the food they bought from the streets/restaurants nearby (about half an hour's leisure walk from resort), read (there are awesome vintage books provided on the shelves), or just get tgt for a nice cigarrete & a game of poker.

The resort is owned by a muslim (the whole of Ao Nang actually consists of a majority of muslim community), so no alcohol is served in the premises. We only had complimentary breakfast for the consecutive 3 mornings, & by village standards, they cook very well. The rice & noodles aren't spicy, yet they have this unique taste about them. There are two sides to dine in if you wanna eat in. The area facing the lush greenery, or the area where all the food is spread. Food is halal, so no worries.

During our last night there at around 8-ish pm, there was a power failure due to the mild shower, & it was a first experience for us. It was totally pitch black, so we had to use our phone's assistive light function to lead us to the wadrobe where there's a huge flashlight which has multi-functions. The battery can last you a whole night. The staff were efficient and tended to all their guests, making sure everybody is safe and unhurt. They didn't tell us what will be done, but generally what will happen is they have to contact the power grid person & since the resort is far off from the main road & it's really a rural area, it will take about an hour for them to reach us. Trouble-shooting should take about another hour or so, & alas we got the power back on slightly before 11pm. We just kept the balcony door open wide. It's not humid, so we just made do with the wind from outside. The bugs will start comin' in, being attracted to the lantern light from the flashlight, so be sure to put on your insect repellent.



Shopping-wise, be the first customer for the day & they will sure give you good discount. Buy more, get higher discount. There's a good shop in walking street in a small lane where this lady weaves & knits her own totes, wallets, etc. Very pricey but really one of a kind. I tried bargaining a huge sling bag (very unique) from 1890 THB to 900 THB. That's about 37 SGD. Whoop! For other shops if they refuse your bargain, walk away then they will sure pacify you with better deals. Heh. If you wanna find unique thai bookmarks, get from the airport departure terminal. 40 THB each.

Okay food wise, MUST TRY will be the mango sticky rice. Don't take away. Don't wait til it's cold. It must be eaten hot. The banana nutella crepe as well. Can find it everywhere. Street food is about 80 THB per couple. Very satisfying. No use trying their western since you're there you might as well eat thai food. BUT their chicken breast with mushroom in cream sauce is very nice!



Right. So overall, we enjoyed our stay there. Sight-seeing worthy. Take the tours. Bargain. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed just 2 nights here. The hotel is off the main part of Ao Nang Beach so you avoid the crowd and busy roads. The resort provides a bus shuttle 4-5times a day into town at set times, or you can walk to the Beach, if you're prepred to walk uphill and in the heat. Staff also arrange scooter hirers for you for abour 250bht per day.
Ther rooms are quick large with aricondition and a very comfortable bed. They didnt clean our rooms however or re-fill our water which was a shame.
The pool is lovely to sit by during the day if you're too exhausted to go out.
Breakfast is average and wifi pretty lousey.
Overall a good stay, but Personaly I would prefer something closer to the main street and beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This lovely resort is about 8 minutes tuk tuk ride from the central of Ao Nang. Which makes the environment quiet and serene.

Check in was very fast. We requested for the room on the upper level. It was lovely! Complete with a cute little balcony facing the cliff.

Breakfast is good and staff are very attentive. They help me to arrange the Phi Phi island tour which is really good! Free wi-fi provided in the room.

The pool is small but lovely and its facing the cliff. Just nice for the hot weather.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 week in this hotel to discover the islands from the south west. It is well located as many boats leave from ao nag to phi phi etc.
The hotel was clean. All rooms are the same and look exactly like the pictures of the website. Howeveyr some might be noiser as others as the hotel is actually quite small,the rooms are located al around the pool. Some rooms have a direct opening on the restaurant ... Luckily we stayed at one at the front,nearby the entrance,which i thought would be noisy but wasn t,except form the monkeys screaming every morning!but they seemed pretty far,not to worry
When you are i.the hotel you feel like in the jungle because there are trees everywhere however it is not a real jungle,so no creepy crawlers!
The best is when you are in the po,you have an amazing view on a high mountain.
The restaurant is not that great but the personnel is very helpful and nice. You might prefer to eat on the streets as we did! For that or to go to the beach you will have to take the shuttle. This seemed like problem at first but you realky get used to it even if the timetable is strange (why leave at 19:10? And not 19:00?!) But we made the way back hime walking most of the time at night (25minutes).there is no real beach nereby,you would have to take the shuttle from the hotel to the center and then a long tail boat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A great place to stay away from the busy Aonang area. Easy walk into town and the beach front area. Shuttle bus available if you prefer. We loved our stay here, We stayed for 7 nights as we had been travelling around prior to arriving here. Excellent laundry service, quick and well done, cheap too. Friendly staff always smiling. No bar here which means its quiet but there are plenty of bars into to enjoy. Beautiful garden setting, bring deet or you will be bitten by mosquito's, it rained e few days during our stay hence the presence of mosquito's. We would definately stay here again.We didnt use the pool, why use a pool when you have the ocean close by!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very dark, maybe ask for a top room if you have good mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish we had longer. We are backpacking and decided to have 3 nights of luxury and I'm glad we did. Great resort. Its quiet which is just what we wanted. The rooms are clean and private but also feel like you are in a top resort. The pool is quite small but big enough considering not many people are around the pool area. Breakfast was decent also. Although it is slightly further away from the beach than other resorts this is not a bad thing. They offer regular shuttles and should you wish to return before a scheduled shuttle then the price to get home is only 40-60 Baht so hardly breaking the bank. Overall a great stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa

Address: 395 Moo 2 Soi 13, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Pha Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort And Spa Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.