We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, room should be okay but...th smell of wood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   395 Moo 2 Soi 13, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Ao Nang
Bangkok
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice pool, room should be okay but...th smell of wood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The resort itself has been designed nicely. There is a little beautiful pool with bungalow surrounded. The resort is nearby a beatiful mountain, so when you swim, it's a fantastic view.

The room is made of wood... condition is okay, but it smell unpleasant because of the wood in the humid climate. This is the thing that I don't like.

However, the staffs are very helpful, friendly and well-trained. Breakfast is also ok.

The location is not in the center. You should be prepared for additional cost of transportation. However, if you prefer a peaceful place, it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
102
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lovely place "in the jungle", only 10 minutes walk away from the masses.
Small place, just a few "rooms" which actually are bungalows made of wood surrounding the pool.
We stayed in two connecting rooms with our kids in a bungalow next to ours, connected with a door.
Really quiet place in lovely surroundings.
We stayed here for 4 weeks, and will return.
Great staff. Very friendly and service minded.
Highly recommended if you´re looking for a quiet hideaway.

Looking forward to be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Country
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, the hotel itself is really nice, great location, when we arrived I had requested an upper 'tree house', but we were shown to a ground floor room, when we pointed out their error this was quickly resolved and we were upgraded to a high floor room. very nice. clean, and really large with a TV and fridge, good clean bathroom. great pool, and the staff sweet.. however when we went for dinner, we ordered drinks, eg a beer and an orange juice. we were told, sorry no beer or orange juice, no alcohol served at all, and no alcohol mentioned on the menu.

we then asked for two cokes, sorry no cokes either!! when we looked in the bar fridge there were about 4 soft drinks total. totally bewildered, we were not sure what was going on, so we had pinapple juice, the only drinks besides water they had.

if you are a 'dry' hotel re alcohol surely you should mention this on the web site? and not to have any drinks at all is strange and bizarre, this situation didn't change the next day either.
and we couldn't get to the bottom of the problem. so we just bought some soft drinks to take back to the hotel. breakfast ok,. although I liked the hotel, I wouldn't return or recommend it as a hotel should at the very least have soft drinks to offer guests, in this extreemly hot and humid climate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, but would have loved to add another few.
The staff the service, the resort and the location all marvelous.
Service with a smile at a amazing location, if we have the change we will be back here for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

For those who are looking for relax holidays this is the place. Although the hotel is muslim (which I think bizarre in Thailand) we were amazed there! Nothing is wrong at this hotel: staff is very friendly, landscape amazing, nature is charming, breakfast delicious, pool is great though it is small, rooms are clean. The Hotel is located quite far (walking) from the entertainment district of Ao Nang but there is always available free Tuk Tuk bringing you to the beach. Also you can rent a scooter nearby as it is cheap and really convinient!

Maybe the only disturbing thing is the insects during the night... But I think it is logical in the Jungles ;)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have been travelling to Ao Nang and the surrounding areas for many years, and always try a new place every time I come. Sometimes this can be a bit of a risk but with Phu Pha I think I may just have to come back. Only a short ten minute stroll from the main drag and you would think that you were on a deserted island! The gardens have been beautifully landscaped in a subtle but distinctive way, completely sensitive to the jungle that would have covered the area in the past. each room is within a block of four with two on the ground and two up some stairs. The huts themselves are beautifully crafted in a hexagonal shape from different kinds of indigenous wood- each block is named after the wood it is made from.

The service is fantastic- English may not be the best but the staff have the best intentions and there a couple of staff members who speak English at a good level.

The beds are super comfortable and huge, with beautiful white linen. One of the best thing is the light duvet that is provided. It adds that little bit extra comfort than a sheet and is great for when the AC is up high all night. My only criticism of the room is the TV- they are very old and the reception is not great. There is also no DVD player.

The pool area is amazing- clean, tranquil and with amazing views of the cliffs. Staff are happy to bring you food and drink to your sun lounger.

Overall I would definitely come here again and would highly recommend it. Some may be concerned with the distance from the beach and main road, but this is actually a plus point as you are away from the noise and traffic. Staff are happy to shuttle you back and forth and very cheap motorcycle rental is available.

STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel that is clearly new to this area. The rooms were of an excellent standard, the service was good and the staff friendly and helpful. There was a good selection of trip s available from the hotel but i found these were cheaper in the town to book. I would definitely stay here again and I've recommended this hotel to lots of friends!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa

Address: 395 Moo 2 Soi 13, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Pha Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort And Spa Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.