We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Tonsai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi Mountain View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Krabi Mountain View Resort to your Saves list
Krabi Mountain View Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   132/34 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 101 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place in Tonsai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay at Mountain View!
The bungalow was great, with a comfy bed and decent bathroom. I enjoyed sitting on the verandah with views of the cliffs and monkeys swinging in the treetops above :-)
The owner was really lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at Krabi Mountain View Resort only for 4 nights but liked it a lot. The location is away from all the beach hustle but within 10 minutes walking distance. The place is quiet, green, lush and pretty much all cottages, especially on the hills, have their own privacy. I had an AC room but didn't need the AC in December/January. Power and i.e. hot water and AC are available from 6 pm until 6 am, and it works just fine. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast, but if you don't mind walking a few minutes and eating a long nice breakfast outside, the place is good value for money. Staff is very helpful and always available. They don't clean your room unless you ask them to, that's how it works.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the hills for view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is Tonsai and to reiterate many other reviewers, you need to have realistic expectations. If you're looking for something a bit more higher end, then head to west railay and pay the extra baht.

For what Mountain view is, it is definitely one of the top 3 on the beach and it is the cheapest of all three. We stayed in a new fan bungalow and the price was 1500 baht. It appeared that if you came on the day, you could get it to 1300 baht without any argument. So not super cheap but...
We came during high season so prices are skewed towards the December to January

Pros: the room is super clean, and if you ask they will clean it every day. The mattresses are firm, there are no holes in your netting and there is great pressure from your double shower. You can have wifi in your room though it is spotty. When available, the yoga sessions are held in the abandoned restaurant which is useful.

Cons: no breakfast but there's plenty of places to grab your fuel of choice in the morning. You do need to ask a lot for anything that you want, but then it is done immediately.

Room Tip: Pick a new fan bungalow. The aircon/hot water rooms have electric showers which is a lot weaker pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Ton Sai, a popular beach not only with rock climbers but also with more laid back backpackers than the crowd on Railey, is beautiful and small and has an island feel to it.
Montain View Resort is located on the only road set back from the beach, in a beautiful green garden. The bungalows are quite spaceous, equipped with a big bed, a ceiling fan and en suite bathroom. There's a limited power supply a few hours in the morning and the evening. Same goes for water. For the money this is the best place to stay at this beach, with a relaxed staff and comfortable porches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is probably where Trip Advisor falls down - you have to realise that the rating is relative to what is available, and in Ton Sai, you're pretty limited! So this is 'very good' compared to everything else - it isn't 5* and nothing here is!

It is climber/backpacker heaven and as such doesn't really have any 'luxury' hotels - and it's all the better for it! We didn't book ahead and so had a walk around a few places which range from very simple bamboo huts with communal bathrooms (for around £4 a night) to slightly more 'high end' bungalows (around £20 a night) and a few concrete rooms in between. We were looking for a room for 3 so were a bit more limited and probably did end up overpaying! Our room was 500baht (£10ish) but the extra bed was 700baht - this seems pretty standard and as we were on a 2 week holiday and not backpacking on a shoestring, we didn't mind paying a bit more for a nice place!

The wooden huts are pretty roomy and have mosquito screens on the windows so you don't need to bother with a net. They are simple but clean, with crisp bed linen and tiled floors. The bathrooms are ok (typical Thai style slightly botched plumbing!) with cold showers and western loos. We stayed in a fan room which is really all you need, electricity here only runs overnight so you wouldn't be able to use aircon half the time anyway. (Saying this, 2 of us did return for the last few days of our holiday and got an aircon room for a treat - it was pretty nice to be cold at night!!).

The staff were pretty friendly and there is a little shop at the entrance to the resort. There is a super cheap linen service and free wifi too (though this obviously only works when the electricity is on).

Mountain View is on the Western side of Ton Sai, part way round the 'horse shoe' (the one track that runs back in to the jungle away from the beach and is only a 5 minute walk from the beach. I would definitely recommend if you have a little more to spend and want a simple, clean place to stay. Just don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the Mountain View Resort 2 years ago when I first came to Ton Sai. This time I came right before high season so I actually payed less than I did 2 years ago! Having been here before it was exactly what I was expecting the second time around: clean bungalows, relatively comfy beds, good water pressure, cozy porch and, despite what I've read in other reviews, really pleasant management. If I needed anything, they were always helpful and swift in my requests. I had my laundry done a few times, always came back in great condition when they said it would. You'd probably pay much less for a similar place in other areas of Thailand, but if you come to Ton Sai, know you pay a premium for the amazing atmosphere of the rock-climbing, chill-out paradise. I'd def stay here again. In low season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Room was fairly nice and location was good as it was very easy to get to everything in the area but then again everywhere is so close together that isnt hard.
Electricity only from 6pm to 6am is irritating but ok if you plan your charging.
The resort was quite pretty and well kept but we couldnt shake off the idea that with just a little morre effort the resort would be awesome. They had a raise restaurant/bar area that was closed full of building stuff and a pool table and chairs pilled up - if they just opened a bar here itd be much better.
No wifi but you have only a few places in this area that do unfortunately.
Decent pl

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krabi Mountain View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Mountain View Resort

Address: 132/34 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Mountain View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Krabi Mountain View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Mountain View Resort Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi Mountain View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.