We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility but not well maintained or popular. No beach.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mandawee Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandawee Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mandawee Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   173-4 Moo 4 Nopparatthara 12, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Kansas City, USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nice facility but not well maintained or popular. No beach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The buildings and grounds are quite nice and the rooms about average for a mid-range tourist oriented hotel. My mental picture of a resort includes lots of activities, a beach and lots of people. The beach is a long way off, the activities are mostly tour bookings to go somewhere else, and for such a large facility there seemed to be very few people around. The included breakfast was so bad (the stone cold soft, slimy fried eggs were the worst) that my group of friends preferred to drive 20 minutes to a proper restaurant for breakfast rather than suffer through a second breakfast at the Mandawee. The room was kind of strange with glass doors (like sliding shower doors) and a curtain around the bed and including the air conditioner -- I guess so the sleeping space could be cheaply air conditioned instead of cooling the whole room -- a good idea since the room was facing west and was broiling in the afternoon. Thank goodness the bath had a door both from the bed space and from the rest of the room since the door from the rest of the room into the bath had a broken knob and once locked you could not unlock it from the inside in order to get out. The second door was indeed a major benefit since that still had a working knob. The price was a special price for two nights for $230, which turned out not to be much of a bargain. The shower was tepid, not hot, but that was ok since that relatively cool water felt pretty good after the heat of the day. WiFi was expensive at $3 an hour in the room (though there was a sign in the lobby implying free WiFi was available there though we did not try it, instead we tethered our computers off our smart phones as it was both faster and a lot cheaper than the room WiFi). If the facility was in a better location and if there was a little bit better maintenance, it would be a really nice place but as it is, unless you have a car or just want to be away from it all (and I do mean all!) it is not a very good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the east or west if possible to avoid major room heating from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    15
    7
    23
See reviews for
11
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at pool villa , Mandawee resort. I bought this package for 6 persons from Thai travel fair.
My room (villa) is nice , wide , well decorated , nice pool with jacuzzi but quite old and not clean as four stars resort will be.
Staff are nice and have service mind.
Snorkle diving trip is include in package also , is excellent and comfortable with awesome guide.
Breakfast is OK.
Thai massage is good also.
This package is more value more than I think.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Don’t ever get fooled by the Pic. My Friends and I went there via Deal.com. And we regret it. It is not like what you see in the pic. That very same picture is now, full of dirt and pest. The room toilet was WAY TOO FILTHY! I had to wear slippers to the toilet. Disgusting! The so called Resort was in a middle of a jungle. We had to wait for the scheduled so called shuttle bus which always comes late. Hotel Service was like very slow. They couldn’t even speak English! the street hawkers could speak better! Even with hand signals. They could not understand us. When we asked for travel advice, they didn’t even initiate to give us some info. They just said our tour is at 9am. No map or a piece of information for tourist at all! In the package, food was included. And the food was horrible too. I could get something better for the same money! The heater was not working. The door knob was out and I got locked in for few mins. The room service was too slow. Don’t waste your money going there. NOT WORTH A SINGLE CENT!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Reserved early two rooms for 1800 Baht each at Mandaweee Resort & Spa on 17JAN2013 and arrived 5PM and planned to go to see sunset at Ao Nang Beach. Hotel door server, counter and boys did not greeting and no help either to carry belongings. At information counter 3, 4 girls are sitting but rooms are not ready and needs to wait about 30 min again. We have to carry our backpack and stuffs ourself.Rooms are nice layout design, but did not clean well. One room AC is working and other room is not. We request to change the room and asked to room service boy but he said they can fix AC. At counter service did not offer to replace with other room and need to wait about 1 hr again. Finally we have to ask to talk with manager and get another room and wasted my time about over two hours on simple thing for customer services. my Sunset time was passed and very disappointed. We have our own transportation rental car, so no problem to go to beach, Hotel is very far away to walk to beach and need about 5 to 10 min driving time to get the beach. If you think to use shuttle bus or taxi bike or walking distance , you should not stay in this hotel because very far away and can get the same price with better place with walking distance to beach and markets. Breakfast is so so and not variety of foods available to order.

Room Tip: Website advertising photos and reality are different. Hotel is look like condo apartment.Very far aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon in Thailand. We booked online and the hotel looked really nice.
When the taxi dropped us off we soon realised its in the middle of nowhere! Luckily we always hire a scooter so this wasn't too much of an issue, but if we didn't I'd have no idea how you'd get to the beach it nearest shop.
The 'resort' consisted of bungalow type accomodation and concrete blocks 7 storeys high. This is where we were! We discretley said we were on our honeymoon, so were given quite a nice room! We were on the end of the block si we actually had a really nice view!
The room hadnt been cleaned particulary well, the bathroom and kitchenette we a grubby.
Breakfast wea pretty poor and we only went the once even though it was included!
The wifi only worked in the main reception.
This place could have potential but it's in dire need of refurbishment! The place is old and very tired looking! The bungalows sleep 6 and have their own pool, however our view looked over one of these and I did not like them. The pool was tiny and although it sleeps 6 only had 2 sun lounged. They were extremely run down!
The entire place could do with closing down for 6 months whilst they refurbish!!! I wouldn't stay here again!! No way near worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I personally think that this place is not so bad. Stayed in the villa for 3 nights. Definitely am impressed with the design layout of the villa and the little details added to the interior design. The aircon installed are working perfectly fine. Rooms are clean and they have beautiful toilets- i would think they added moroccon touch to it. The buggy drivers are friendly and they have a really nice pool area at the bar. The meals provided can be improved and free wifi is only available at reception area, if you want wifi in your villa, you gotta pay a certain amount. The resort may be far from many places but it is still accessible and not too far if you decide to rent a bike for 250baht per day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Unfortunately the hotel made my trip to Krabi a lot less pleasant! We had booked the hotel as a package which included a tour to some islands, two meals and drinks and I got very disappointed in the hotel and the staff for the following three reasons:

1. The hotel was very far away from everything and we needed to wait for a shuttle bus which only went a few times per day. There was a schedule for the bus but it was always delayed with at least half an hour so we spent a lot of time waiting for it. They didn't have any information on this on their booking sites.

2. There were a lot of limitations in the package that we had bought, which we only got to know once we had arrived. For example the food that was included was only a few low-budget choices from the menu and the drinks that were included were merely a choice of the three cheapest ones that weren't even on their drink menu. Furthermore, the staff were always kind of condescending when informing us about this and we felt like we had done something wrong any time we showed our drink or food coupons.

3. The place itself has a nice pool but other than that there is only concrete buildings and ground and the environment is kind of depressing. The rooms followed the same dystopian style with concrete walls and empty rooms.

Therefore, I wouldn't recommend anyone to go to this place since there were places with the same price and much higher standards right by the beach. I am really sorry, I have never been disappointed in Thailand before since the places are usually really nice and the staff at other places always been the most helpful and kind people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandawee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandawee Resort & Spa

Address: 173-4 Moo 4 Nopparatthara 12, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandawee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Mandawee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandawee Resort And Spa
Mandawee Hotel Ao Nang
Mandawee Resort & Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandawee Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.