We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best restaurant in Ao Nang!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnivore Steak and Grill

Carnivore Steak and Grill
127 Moo 3 | Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66(0)75-661061
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 187 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Ao Nang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This restaurant was a bit far away from our hotel and the main street but it was worth visiting! We had Tuna Steak, Pork Ribs, Mango Milk Shake and Chocolate Cake and some drinks - all just great. We really enjoyed our evening at this restaurant which has a pleasant atmosphere and a remarkable service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Kat M,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed the tuna steak and our home-made spare ribs.
Our tuna steak is becoming one of our most appreciated dishes in our seafood menu.
The mango milkshake is made from fresh mango and does not come from a can or pack, also our strawberry and raspberry shakes are made with real 100% fruit.

Hope you enjoyed your stay in Ao Nang, Krabi

Gidi Mevissen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    219
    65
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

When you are fed up with Thai food (and after 2 weeks you most likely will be), you should go for something extra. This restaurant has what other lacks: good food, excellent service and a vast sortiment of very good beer that accompanies your beef as good as any wine could do.
We went here after traveling around in the Andaman area for nearly two weeks and we both agreed that it had been a special night, thanks to both the food, drink and the service.
Please, don't miss this restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent steak (at British price) but everything else in menus average! Very good service. Staff welcome and polite.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello Mark,

Thank you for writing your contribution.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your steak.
About the price; at the moment the Thai Baht is very strong compared to the British Pound, U.S Dollar and the Euro.
A few years ago you would get 72 Baht to 1 British Pound, now it is about 45 Baht to 1 British Pound.
Then you would buy one beer for 1 British Pound, now you almost have to pay 2 British Pound.
This makes it for all businesses in Thailand more difficult to be competitive compared to abroad.
We haven't raised our prices over the last 2 years
But 2 years ago, our guests considered our steaks and meals very reasonable.
As the Australian Dollar is also high and our meat comes from there, our meat suppliers can’t give us a better price either.
We are all hoping that the Thai currency will lose a bit of its strength in the next months.

Hope you had a great time in Ao Nang,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Their meat is absolutely delicious and served in a very artistic way. Situated a bit off but defenitively worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hey Christina L,

My staff and I are very pleased that you appreciated our restaurant!
We are, as you mentioned already, a bit of the beaten track, but a 5-10 minute walk or a short taxi ride will bring you to our restaurant.

Hope you will visit Ao Nang/ Carnivore again in the near future,

Greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great break from normal Thai cuisine and a beer menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here twice during our 2 week stay and loved it. The meat was lovely and the selection of beers is amazing if a little expensive. Also the wine was of a good standard and they had rose. (Thailand's choice of wine was limited and expensive generally) I would definitely recommend this as a break from the usual Thai cuisine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidi M, Owner at Carnivore Steak and Grill, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hollyawarren sunny greetings, from Ao Nang,

It was very nice to receive and read your review written on TA about our Carnivore.
As you mentioned already about the drinks; the Thai government considers (imported) wines and beers a luxury product and therefore the import duties are very high.
The fact that the Thai Baht at the moment is also very strong against many other currencies; doesn’t make it easy to be competitive to the prices you will find back in the West.

Hope to see you back again in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnivore Steak and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carnivore Steak and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnivore Steak and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.