We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
120 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)75 637110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 186 Restaurants in Ao Nang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ordered thai food so don't have a opinion on the western menu . the thai was pretty good, very nice view. Do not expect too much about the food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    94
    26
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good view from restaurant with so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I read the good reviews & thought of checking out this restaurant when I was at Ao Nang one day. We ordered the Thai food like spring roll, pad thai, etc. I do not know if I ordered the wrong dishes because they weren't as great as the other reviewers had mentioned. I think I had better Thai food elsewhere in Krabi, & the restaurant wasn't even on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

At the edge of Ao Nang beach there is a variety of seafood restaurants. The best way to chose one of them is by comparing the look of the lobsters in the water tanks.

And Sala Bua etc. is an excellent choice. The Belgian owner does his utmost to not only provide you with the freshest and best prepared lobsters and juicy oysters, but also makes you feel utterly welcome and well serviced.

And the sunset at Ao Nang is without any doubt one of the most romantic sceneries one can ever experience. Sala Bua, absolute tip !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food that won't disappoint you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I dined at Sala Bua 3 evenings in a row and were happy with our food and service. I wanted to try some "safe " Thai food that wouldn't be too spicy and I was completely happy with my chicken coconut soup and pad thai. My husband had seafood pasta one night and being Sicilian he said it was good :)

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Staff is very kind and helpful. And you don't have to wait for the food long.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had dinner here last night and were underwhelmed. The setting is quiet lovely as with all the other restaurants along the waterfront. The service was good, happy and helpful and the Italian Owner (?) was wandering around and asking if everyone was happy with their food. The prices were above average but we were more than happy to pay for good food but sadly it was not the case. The pad thai goong was gluggy and tasteless with 3 tiny shrimps and the chicken and cashew nut was full of pineapple and not at all pleasant. The som tam was nice but did not make up for the rest of the meal and sadly we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.