We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
120 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)75 637110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 194 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

At the edge of Ao Nang beach there is a variety of seafood restaurants. The best way to chose one of them is by comparing the look of the lobsters in the water tanks.

And Sala Bua etc. is an excellent choice. The Belgian owner does his utmost to not only provide you with the freshest and best prepared lobsters and juicy oysters, but also makes you feel utterly welcome and well serviced.

And the sunset at Ao Nang is without any doubt one of the most romantic sceneries one can ever experience. Sala Bua, absolute tip !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    96
    27
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food that won't disappoint you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I dined at Sala Bua 3 evenings in a row and were happy with our food and service. I wanted to try some "safe " Thai food that wouldn't be too spicy and I was completely happy with my chicken coconut soup and pad thai. My husband had seafood pasta one night and being Sicilian he said it was good :)

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Staff is very kind and helpful. And you don't have to wait for the food long.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had dinner here last night and were underwhelmed. The setting is quiet lovely as with all the other restaurants along the waterfront. The service was good, happy and helpful and the Italian Owner (?) was wandering around and asking if everyone was happy with their food. The prices were above average but we were more than happy to pay for good food but sadly it was not the case. The pad thai goong was gluggy and tasteless with 3 tiny shrimps and the chicken and cashew nut was full of pineapple and not at all pleasant. The som tam was nice but did not make up for the rest of the meal and sadly we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ao Nang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went for two meals at the restaurant Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino and I my opinion it is te best restaurant in Ao Nang don' t listen to the bad reviews, the staff were very pleasant and the food was very nice. We ate both of Thai and Italian menu and we were delighted with both, the food was really fresh and tasty we had pasta for mains and they were excellent. We wished we found the restaurant sooner as we would have gone back more often. The service and the staff were excellent, the location is great as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe the best in Ao Nang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I´ll keep it short...

+ sea view
+ pasta was above Italian average,
+ the pizza was lets say much better than many pizzas I had in Rome
+ service is a miracle compared to other restaurants in and around Krabi

- without reservation you ll have to wait a lot of time

best regards from Vienna

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.