We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steak in Ao Nang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
120 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)75 637110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 142 restaurants in Ao Nang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best steak in Ao Nang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A great choice for a treat, the food was beautiful. The service was friendly and the it was a lovely spot. I would recommend it for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    109
    83
    23
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great views, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great place overlooking the seafront.
A choice between Thai and Italian, cooked by separate chefs.
We tried the Thai and it was great, so we're going back on our last night to try some Italian.
Service pretty good, a little pricey, but worth paying for the views and quality food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went to Sala Bua following recommendations from both Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor.
We could have not felt more disappointed after all the hype from the reviews. This turned out to be a rather mediocre restaurant with average food and poor service.
There is an overall sense of complacency about how the restaurant is managed. There is no doubt the reliance on customers provided by positive reviews on LP and TA has made the restaurant to lose all interest in providing good service and authentic food. As you go in, there is a sign unashamedly displaying the LP and TA recommendation in a very visible manner.
The service is slow (you have to keep asking the waiters), the Italian food was bland (you can find much better pizzas in other places in Ao Nang), the thai food tasted westernised and the prices were rather steep for Thai standards.
Will never go back. We had great meals in many other restaurants in the Krabi region. That was not the case in Spuntino. Do not be deceived by the reviews.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Good food, service and sunset is so nice over there. If you don't mind to pay a little extra money for service, location and style this is the place to be in Ao Nang. Menu offers a lot of different kind of food (a little toooo much for me....).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a return visit to this restaurant and was very dissapointed with the food. We were told most things were off the menu in peak season. The food was bland, service average the only thing that saved this from being a very ordinary meal was the sunset.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.