We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MMMM” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
120 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)75 637110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 186 Restaurants in Ao Nang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“MMMM”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having dined at this restaurant on a few occasions in the past we were very disapointed this time. No real flavours not good service but a great location. Do try it I just hope this was a one off bad time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    94
    26
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate there several times during our stay in Ao Nang ... We would go out with the intention of trying somewhere else but the high quality of food, good service and great location kept us going back for more. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate here twice, the only one we ate at more than once. Food was great. It was hot also the beers were cold. Service was very good and it was value for money

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The seafood is of good quality and very tasty. Beautiful sea view and reasonable prices. In addition, the restaurant is clean and cosy. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One to go back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I try to avoid very popular places, unless there is a good reason not to, the expectations tend to be too high and so are the prices, and sometimes the quality drops. So on the 30th of December, at peak season, and feeling a bit lost in space in Ao Nang, my wife managed to convince me to go there for dinner. The first thought was, no chance, too many people and we hadn't booked a table. However, the staff managed to find us a table very quickly and before we knew we were scanning the menu. We were feeling somehow shy and went for the tiger prawn linguini, pizza, som tam salad, and a bottle of red. The service was spot on, the food came in rapidly and well timed despite the restaurant being so busy. But most of all, everything was deliciuos. BUT, OMG! they don't put amaretto in Tiramisu... So we had to get a couple of cognacs to wash it down. We were so impressed that we dicided to go back the following night 31 December!! Again, the place was packed but got a table straight away, without a booking (later we learnt that they don't take bookings anyway). This time we went for the heavy artilliery, wife had lobster and I had fillet steak. We tried a different wine, also good. It was emotional. An explosion of flavour and greatly timed too. The new manager, a Dane, Dieter is clearly doing a good job. We avoided the Tiramisu on this occasion but he delivered the cognac nevertheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.