We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant

Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant
120 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
+66 (0)75 637110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 164 Restaurants in Ao Nang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We ate here twice, the only one we ate at more than once. Food was great. It was hot also the beers were cold. Service was very good and it was value for money

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    85
    23
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The seafood is of good quality and very tasty. Beautiful sea view and reasonable prices. In addition, the restaurant is clean and cosy. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One to go back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I try to avoid very popular places, unless there is a good reason not to, the expectations tend to be too high and so are the prices, and sometimes the quality drops. So on the 30th of December, at peak season, and feeling a bit lost in space in Ao Nang, my wife managed to convince me to go there for dinner. The first thought was, no chance, too many people and we hadn't booked a table. However, the staff managed to find us a table very quickly and before we knew we were scanning the menu. We were feeling somehow shy and went for the tiger prawn linguini, pizza, som tam salad, and a bottle of red. The service was spot on, the food came in rapidly and well timed despite the restaurant being so busy. But most of all, everything was deliciuos. BUT, OMG! they don't put amaretto in Tiramisu... So we had to get a couple of cognacs to wash it down. We were so impressed that we dicided to go back the following night 31 December!! Again, the place was packed but got a table straight away, without a booking (later we learnt that they don't take bookings anyway). This time we went for the heavy artilliery, wife had lobster and I had fillet steak. We tried a different wine, also good. It was emotional. An explosion of flavour and greatly timed too. The new manager, a Dane, Dieter is clearly doing a good job. We avoided the Tiramisu on this occasion but he delivered the cognac nevertheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere else
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good setting, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location on the beachfront in "seafood street". They don't take bookings in high season, so we went early and got a table outside and spent a very pleasant evening eating good (not amazing) food from both the Thai and the western menu. The cocktails were fantastic. Can't remember exactly what we had but the salads were huge and fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited in Ao Nang.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Italian and Thai food. We selected Italian. Nice people, smiling and coordinated service. Nice food and some selected wines from primitivo in south to barolo in north italy. If I recomend this restaurant? YES YES YES!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Bua & Lo Spuntino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.