We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, Awesome HOTEL, Totally recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Save Saved
You added Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save upto 55-65%FREE WIFI
Ranked #2 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Great value for money, Awesome HOTEL, Totally recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I stayed there for 7 nights. The best hotel Location was great for us, might not suit others. It’s nice being away from all the hustle and bustle. It’s a bit of a walk to the main road. Shuttle was provided to beach hourly. Only 3 minutes to reach the beach. That’s great and easy to get through. I was really impressed with the hotel's staff - they were extremely helpful & friendly...All understand English very well. Because of long stay guests, manager offered 2 glasses of cocktail and 2 a la carte dishes for us. That was awesome!! I never expected them to treat us the best but they did. Room is spacious and well equipped. There are a few TV channels but enough for me. Toilet is clean and comes with nice smelling towels.The breakfast was amazing but the food should have more various items.

Would recommend this hotel to all kinds of travelers! I will stay here again for my next trip to Krabi.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    186
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
84
282
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

First time travellers to Krabi Thailand. I found this resort through facebook. Everthing looks great at the first sight. After that we tried to book room by chatting via facebook. I can say that this resort is the one that I am looking for.

All staff always smile. They were always polite and nice and willing to help. They never made you feel as if they were doing you a favor. They made it seem like it was their job. And that is what I call excellent service. They treated us as King and Queen there.

The breakfast was served at our room in the morning because we are only ony honeymooner at that time, they said.

The room was nice, clean and modern with colorful and all toiletries and towels were replaced daily. The food is yummy every time and reasonable prices.

The location is secluded and quiet. I love it but there is no light at night time. It made me so scared of walking in the dark to the resort. Tuk Tuk charges at 50 baht/person. It is not too expensive to come back to resort. The resort provides free shuttle to aonang beach hourly but only 4 times to pick up back to resort. They should expand timetable.

THAT'S EXCELLENT HONEYMOON. I RECOMMEND THIS RESORT IS THE BEST FOR HONEYMOON...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We loved this hotel and can't understand the bad reviews. It is very peaceful, set amongst rainforest, and has a lovely view of the forest and mountains from the pool area. You can hear the sounds of the jungle, such as the monkeys hooting in the mornings.

All the rooms are separate bungalows with their own deck and are enormous. We stayed in the cheapest one, which was huge, so I wouldn't bother paying more for a suite. It was beautifully decorated with modern Thai decor. Bathroom was luxurious and enormous. Everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable.

Pool is gorgeous and we had it to ourselves most of the time as the resort is very small.

We booked through Wotif and it worked out to be about NZ $75 per night including breakfast, which was a bargain. We went to Phi Phi afterwards and were paying much more than that for a very basic room and longed to be back at Phu Petra!

Yes, it is outside Ao Nang town, but who would want to stay there? It's loud, busy and the beach is dirty so you can't swim in the sea. We enjoyed going into Ao Nang to eat, shop and do day trips, but loved returning to the clean and quiet haven of Phu Petra at the end of the day. The hotel provides a free hourly shuttle and there are many tuk tuks and taxis to take you back outside their scheduled times. Don't pay more than 50 baht for a tuk tuk.

If you're looking for a resort with swim up bar, party scene and beach activities, then this isn't the place for you. If you want to stay somewhere quiet and relaxing with lovely scenery and good value for money then don't hesitate - it's perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

After arriving directly from another hotel where we paid a 5 star price and got a 3 star hotel, we were quite impressed with the Phu Petra as it was a new hotel.. For our first visit of 9 days we paid a rate that we felt was somewhat high for the resort but it seemed much better than the hotel we had arrived from. We left for one week to another hotel of the same rating as the Phu Petra, and were very impressed with the resort (Anyavee Tubkaek) but the resort was somewhat remote and a bit more expensive. When deciding to stay longer at the Anyavee or to return to the Phu Petra we based our decision on price. Although we were offered a fairly good rate from the Anyavee for a long term stay, we decided to go with the Phu Petra as I was assured by the assistant manager Nat that we would be getting a price we would be very happy with.
So we booked another 9 days at the Phu Petra. and paid the amount in full when we arrived. We happened to be checking for rooms in another area of Thailand and noticed the rate at the Phu Petra was substanttially lower on the internet than the management said was a "rate that would make us extremely happy". Of course we were quite upset as our total stay at the Phu Petra was approximately 3 weeks. We were offered a voucher for food and two complimentary cocktails as part of our special deal as repeat customers. We ordered our meal and drinks at the restaurant and when time to pay arrived, we were told we could not use the vouchers as they were for a "special menu" and cocktail vouchers had to be presented beforehand in order to be used. Needless to say we felt very cheated, particularly as our stay would be a total of 3 weeks. When we spoke to management they insisted that there was nothing that they could do about the fact that the internet price was lower that what we had paid and advised that a refund could take up to one week. Needless to say we were not espescially trusting of that situation. So we stayed out the final nine days. However, beside the fact that although we were repeat customers and were staying a total of 3 weeks and were being charged more than guests arriving for one day, we had other issues as well. When we returned we were assigned a villa in which the shower did not drain. We slopped around in several inches of water each time we showered. When we asked them to do something about it they sent the chamber maid and she pushed it into the drain with her foot. We also had real problem with mosquitos and other bugs in the room. We asked several times to have it sprayed, but we continued to be bitten by bugs. All in all, what we thought was a fairly good hotel ended up being a huge disappointment and overpriced for the what you were getting. The service staff seemed to try hard, but management had a fairly bad attitude to build customer relations. Hotel was far from beach although they did provide a shuttle several times per day. Other fellow costumers seemed to have the same complaints we did, so I don't believe that we were being too picky. It was new, but other than that it didn't have a whole lot going for it and we regretted returning. We would not return to the same hotel in the future. In our opinion, we were paying four star prices for at best a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

The hotel is only a few months old, and is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, which makes for a very peaceful and quiet holiday. We were in a Majestic poolside villa. Huge room, beautifully decorated in a traditional Thai fashion, with a big verandah, complete with two wooden loungers that unfortunately had no cushions and were therefore extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom, whilst being decently-sized, appeared unfinished as far as decoration is concerned - most of the walls were finished in a cement render, and not painted or tiled, which lead us to think that keeping the room clean was not the main consideration! Smelly drains were reported, but remained smelly. Take care in the shower, because the water can occasionally come through scalding hot, just when you're not expecting it! Don't arrive late at night and expect to sleep in and have breakfast in your room - that is not available, and breakfast in the restaurant is packed up and cleared away promptly, some days by 1015. Some of the hot food available in the food-warming dishes was patently not acceptable, by virtue of being dried out and stuck to the bottom of the pan, while the noodles were sometimes just a congealed mass - not good enough. The specials board in the restaurant had two meal options, which have now not changed for over a week.The in-room tea/coffee making facility is replenished each day, and was limited to the supply of ONE, yes 1, teabag and two coffee sachets per day. The Phu Anda lounge does not appear to be in use - it contains a couple of chairs and tables and seemed to be used as a dining area for hotel management.
The whole hotel, despite being a very striking collection of buildings, lacks any imagination in planting to complement the buildings. There are no flowers in the grounds at all - lots of trees, but no colour just to set the place alive. There are many other hotels in the area that fully warrant a 4* rating both in facilities and price, which sadly can not be said of the Aonang Phu Petra.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

If peace and quiet is what you are looking for then Phu Petra is for you. The main reason that drew me to this resort was it just opened...no need to worry about poorly maintained properties which was usually what you find in this region. Phu Petra being very new was very clean and very nicely done up. I stayed in one of the hillside villas and did not regret not topping up for a poolside villa. The views of the cliffs are amazing especially at night. The resort is very small and so the pool was only a few steps further away. It looks much bigger on their website as the new building was not even being constructed but I think they are starting construction and so the hillside villas might no longer be so quiet and peaceful in a couple of months.
The rooms are huge. The bed is huge and so is the bathroom. You could fit a London ensuite room into their bathroom lolz. Its got a nice bathtub and separate shower area. The deco of the room was modern thai with lots of space for you lounge around in. I spend alot of time on the private patio as the pool was really too hot even with the sun shades. I just walked a few steps to the pool for a dip when it gets too sweaty :) Please wear your shoes or risk burning your feet.
Although it was not located within walking distance to the main beach area, I don't mind as it was really too hot during the day to walk around town. I much prefer to enjoy the resort and go out only in the evening. The resort provides hourly shuttle to the beach which was really useful. Similarly I wish they could provide hourly return shuttle to the hotel. The only time I took a taxi back it costs me only 60bht.
The breakfast provided was adequate. The local dish was the worst ..some dried out fried noodles (yucks) but I like the eggs and bacon station which they prepare for you upon ordering. Use those and make your own bacon and fried eggs sandwich....yummy. Their coffee was very good, really strong and thick.
Overall the resort met my expectations. This is the 3rd time I visited Krabi and Phu Petra has the best rooms but the worst location. If you like convenience, look for a hotel near Ao Nang beach otherwise Phu Petra will do very well for a nice, quiet holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We were lucky enough to be among the first to stay at this wonderful hotel. The staff were friendly, attentive and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were probably the best we have stayed in, and great value for money. We could not believe how big they were! Having travelled extensively throughout Thailand we would thoroughly recommend a Stay at Phu Petra and Krabi in general.

The scenery is terrific and the pace on the street is not as hectic as in Phuket. Everyone is still fairly laid back and we found the shopping cheaper than at Phuket.

The food we had at the resort was always fresh and great quality. The kids had a great selection and the prices were very reasonable.

The location was just a short (2 minute) drive from the main shopping area. You could walk it if you were keen but we took advantage of the free shuttle into town. It was close enough for convenience but still able to be private when needed.

We really could not recommend this hotel strongly enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Phu Petra Resort is 4 star where is to be discovered lying just ahead of panoramic mountain view on Aonang Beach in Krabi. The resort designed in contemporary style combining the idea of modern décor and tropical southern lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.