We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort in a Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi to your Saves list
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save upto 40-50%FREE WIFI
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a lovely 10 day stay there a couple of weeks ago. The resort is off the beaten track, but I don't think in Ao Nang that that matters. There was a shuttle in every hour (free) and to get back was 100 bt on a motorbike sidecar which was a laugh.
We ate at the place twice and both times the food was excellent and was decently priced, not much more than eating in Ao Nang.
The room, we had a Poolside Villa was brilliant. Really spacious, great bathroom, and lovely big bed.
The pool although not massive is adequate and has a beautiful mountain view. We never found a time when it wasn't easy to get a couple of loungers. On quite a few days we were the only ones at the pool.
No negatives really, the staff are lovely and helpful, especially one of the shuttle drives who never seemed to stop smiling, and when he saw us one morning worried about our trip people not arriving to go to Phi Phi took our booking form and one of the girls on reception pohoned them to make sure they were on their way...
Only thing I would say is that the place needs a little refurbishment, only on the staining side, as alot of the wooden floors are worn out and would look much better with wood stain on them....oh and the fish feature in reception...the pump is desperately in need of a clean, or at least hiding with some water plants.. also I think the price list in the room for any "damaged" or taken items, from sheets to towels etc etc is a bit over the top. Whether they are having people nicking all their stuff or having all their sheets badly stained I don't know, but that's the first place I've ever stayed that has said you would have to pay for bedding etc where they cant take the marks off. After paying well over £1000 to stay there I think this is a little unnecessary.Anyhow as you can see only minor things, and I would recommend it strongly. If you can stray in a poolside majestic suite.

Room Tip: Poolside were our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

We are very appreciated for a very top score you rated for us. Your satisfaction and happiness make our days. Please be noted that your compliment on our staff was passed on to them. They smiled and delighted to hear that their effort made the days for both of you.

For your remarks on the matters mentioned, We always listen and definitely take it into our team discussion for further renovation and development. For some other observations, we have the reason behind that policy. Hope you understand our good intention.

Last not least, it will be our honour to have a chance to serve you again in this nearest future. Please think of us whenver you come to Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    208
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
103
334
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
gent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Quiet location in Noisy ao nang.

Rooms are very spacious but need some refreshment. À lick of paint would do the trick.

Good breakfast and pool.

Very friendly staff which helped us booking our tours. Cocktails are good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We honour your trust on us. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay at our property. Your observation in a matter mentioned is our kind appreciation. We listen to all comments and take those to make a betterment for a step beyond services.

We hope for an honour to receive your trust again whenever you visit Krabi.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for four days during our anniversary during which period we also stayed at the Marriot in Phuket and Centara in Bangkok. However, Phu Petra was one of the more memorable stays we had during our 10 day visit to Thailand.

Beautifully located amidst lush green locale with a mountain view on one side and the pool side view on the other, the rooms offer great comfort besides being cozy and intimate. Just the perfect setting for an anniversary trip :-) The resort is about five minutes drive to the main Ao Nang town which is again another beautiful place especially if one is a foodie with restaurants lined one after the other. Pick-up's and drop every hour in the morning and evening adequately takes care of the five minute drive into town organized by the resort.

All in all, a lovely experience and will certainly recommend strongly.

Room Tip: Cottages on the mountain view are relatively quieter since one will be away from the crowd in the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear our beloved guests:

We sincerely appreciate the time you spent reviewing very positive review for us. It is so please to note that you have a superb wonderful time at our Resort. We promise to maintain our hospitality standard while keep climbing up a score of our service professionalism to an upper level.

We are very appreciated for a chance to serve you and look forward to your returns whenever you visit Aonang, Krabi.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Aonang Phu Petra recently with family and friends and it was quite a memorable experience.

The cottages were very spacious with lots of open space and large beds (good enough for 2 adults and 2 small kids). The pool is nice as well. The kids had fun in the pool and in the rooms generally with the amount of empty space. Sitting area outside the room is also quite nice to spend a quiet evening / morning relaxing and enjoying the environs. The hotel grounds are quite well done up and beautiful with orchids growing on almost all trees.

The breakfast spread is not great but good enough to provide enough options. The staff are friendly and warm generally. Generally there is live music (one singer with eletronics for music) on all nights at the restaurant, in case you are planning to eat in the resort.

The place is a little away from the main town but the resort runs regular shuttles every hour so not a big worry. Worst case, tuktuks can be called. The distance ensures that it is quiet thru the day / night.

Lots of activity to do around Ao Nang - island hopping, scuba, snorkelling etc. or just spend some time at any of the beaches. Best to organise these trips from the main town area as you will find many options and price points to chose from. We covered Poda island, Hong island, Chicken island and it was great fun. Each of the islands offer its own set of activities esp Hong.

Things to watch out for at Phu Petra:
- there is no housekeeping after 6/7 pm
- there is no service in restaurants or room service after 10.30 pm (even if you are one minute late)
- bathroom has no latch / lock inside and that could bother some folks
- Elephant safari is a waste of time, unless you want to do it only for the experience of sitting on the elephant or for the kids

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

On behalf of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, we would like to extend our most heartfelt appreciation to you for being our lovely guests. Your very positive comments fills us a spirit to deliver our hospitality and service professionalism in an upper level. All management team and staff are willing to work hard to fulfil your needs and make you happy.

For your observation on some aspects, let me clarify each of them:

1. Our housekeeper team works from 8.00 am. - 5.00 pm. but in some day the Supervisor will extend her working hours to be at 7.00 pm. Approximately. In case that you need to call for our room attendance after 7.00 pm., there is always people from Front Desk to assist and fulfil your needs. However for a case that you forgot to turn the sign of making up room, our room maid will not come into your room. Sometimes our guests go out and come back very late at night or after 5.00 pm., there is no maid in the resort. In such case you will find new towels and drinking water put on the table at balcony. Should you want things more, our Front staff can assist you except cleaning the whole room that you may need to wait 'til tomorrow.

2. No rooms service after 10.30 pm. Even you late in one minute
Our last order will be at 10.30 pm. Should you order only one minute late, we will take that order. We will definitely inspect what happened and why our staff informed you that room service is closed. Thank you very much for your kind notice.

3. Bathroom has no lock inside
That our theme of the resort. Our attention is to make it in more romantic sense because we have highest percentage of honeymooner stay at the resort.

4. Elephant trekking
The activity for Elephant Trekking is to ride on the elephant back with mahout who keep it for the elephant to walk on the right direction. The joy is when you are that top on the back of elephant and let him take you around to look for the view of the forest. I assume you think it is boring. We personally went by ourselves and we did enjoy it very much. It depends on our guests' preference which we always inform of what activities they will do for each program. For your information.

Last but not least, thank you for the trust you have given to us. We will continue to work hard and make it superb for all guests' expectation.

We look forward to your returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Most recomended, little pricy but worth it.
The only downside was that they fined us with 390 Baht for accidentally breaking small bath foam dispenser, not very nice.
The location from the center is,an advantage Because its very calm and quite. Otherwise the foam bath charge, everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear our lovely guests:

It's our pleasure to note that you had a great and enjoyable stay with us. For your notice on the charges of pottery bottle have been made with you during checking out. We are sorry to make you feel inconvenience in a matter but the broken pottery really needed to be charged since it's real hard to find the same set (the pottery bottle came as a set and it is a special type of hand made made, need a pre-ordering) We hope for your kind understanding in a matter.

In addition, we thank you very much for your recommendation us to the others. We do appreciate your kind support. Please make your return here next time you come to Krabi.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Aonang was our first stop when we arrived in Thailand just last month, February 2013. Knowing we’d be jetlagged, we chose this hotel because it looked quiet and comfortable. It was one of the more expensive hotels we booked during our two weeks in Thailand, so we were hoping it would provide a little more luxury to kickoff our vacation. Unfortunately, there was nothing really special that stood out during our stay.

Pros: The hotel owner is very helpful and speaks good English. The grounds are well maintained, and the property is quiet. The rooms are updated and spacious. The staff are professional and try to converse with guests, but we found it difficult to communicate since they didn’t speak much English. The transportation to the beach is a huge plus. We did the 15 min walk back from the beach one day, but I wouldn’t suggest walking at night – and the heat (and trash along the roads) makes walking less than desirable.

Cons: The hotel is pricy for the location, and the hotel food and drinks are expensive. We enjoyed the food, but the drinks were pretty weak. We learned our lesson and stuck to beer for the majority of the trip. The pool is cold – some days it was refreshing, but others too chilly to enjoy. Also, the live music in the evening was a nice touch – but not enjoyable.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but as others have mentioned – it’s really missing that extra touch. There was nothing special about our stay that would encourage us to return. If you’re looking for a good night sleep in a clean/spacious hotel – this is a great choice But, there are probably other hotels closer to the beach with a better view.

Room Tip: Didn't find any rooms better located than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

After read through your review, we are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in the following areas.

1. Staff speak weak English.

We are so sorry about that. We just received the newest staff during your stay. We promise to give all new staff more comprehensive training sessions.

2. Pricy room rate for the location

We are so clear from the very beginning and with all media that we are secluded luxurious small boutique resort. We stress on privacy, safety, fullest rejunevation and keep all sense of boutique Thai style service. You can not find place like us on the beach. You will expect something different like building, bar, fun places and lot of entertainment and of course those hotel can not provide certain character like we do. In addition, we are sure that we give a competitive room rate compare to the others of the same category. We hope your kind understanding in a matter.

3. Drink is pretty weak

Thank you for your kind remark on the drink. I already took the matter to discuss with F&B team and they will take the problem into a stage of solving immediately.

We express our sincere apology for that we failed to serve your needs at a step beyond. Your observation and anticipation in the above will take us to the step of further improvement and development. Specially, thank you for sparing your time in completing your feedback and bringing these matters to our attention. Your comments will help us serve you and all our guests better in the future. The resort is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be valuable for us.

Please be sure that we continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was really excited to stay here after reading the reviews and seeing the pictures of the amazing cliff views. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Thailand but I was insistent on staying here because it looked so nice. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay.

The hotel is a little out of the way, but there is a free shuttle into town every hour (although the return shuttles are at odd times, so we got a tuk tuk back for about B100). We found that while the staff were helpful, they weren't nearly as friendly as in the other hotels we stayed at.

We were given a hillside villa, which I had assumed meant we would have a romantic secluded room with a view of the amazing cliffs like in the pictures on the website. Instead we had a view of a children's play area and were placed in a room next to a family with noisy small children. Having booked 8 months in advance and being a young couple with no children, I would have thought that we would have got a better room away from the children's amenities. We were also quite close to the main road. One advantage of the hillside area however is that it seemed more private than the poolside area.

Our room itself was huge and nicely decorated. The bathroom was big with a bath and shower. We had ants in the bathroom but once we informed reception they quickly came and sorted it out. You have to sign an inventory when you arrive, you get two free bottles of water a day but the drinks in the fridge aren't free. There are signs and price lists all around the room, which was far removed from the more laid back attitude our other hotels had.

The pool was nice and clean, although get to the pool early if you want a sun lounger! They are all gone by mid morning.

We had massages onsite which were good and reasonably priced.

We ate at the restaurant a couple of times, both Thai and English food, and the food was decent. The fruit smoothies were lovely but the cocktails weren't great, they tasted of pure alcohol without any mixers. The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of choices for all tastes.

While you're in Ao Nang you must book a trip with Andaman Camp and Cruise, we had two brilliant trips with them and highly recommend them.

In summary, this is a nice enough hotel but just not what we were expecting, and we were disappointed with our stay. We could have saved money and stayed somewhere cheaper for the same experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear our valuable guests:

On behalf of the management team and all stafff of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, please accept our apology for not delivering a beyond step of our service professionalism.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during your travels and we seemed to fall short of our goal this time. However, there are some aspects as per below clarification we need your kind understanding.

1. Location compare with room rate charged
You raised that the rate we charge you is too expensive comparing to the location we have been set. We are small luxurious boutique resort. We personally serve our guests and be very detailed in what our guests need. We sell a superb service, not a place to sleep. We stress on our guest privacy, safety and their fullest rejunevation. We are not on beach the but it takes only 5 minutes to the beach by our shuttle bus so it's far enough form bustling and messy thing. Honestly, we are so clear about our location in the very beginning. You can not really find a villa with outstanding panoramic mountain view and private sense like us on the beach of Aonang.

2. Strange Shuttle Bus's timetable
We think you mean that we have less trips back to the resort compare to the way out. Thank you for your remark. We will take it into our consideration regarding to increase the numbers of trips back to the resort.

3. Unfriendly Staff
Thank you for your notice but we think there is a misinterpretion of facial expression. Our staff smile easily and welcome all guests all the time. It can be that we are so focusing with the things made our face seems to look like we are unwelcoming. However, we will of course take this remark to our staff to be much more aware of their facial expression to guests. Our wish for your kind understanding also that we can not really smile all the time. Sometimes we concentrates with the thing in front of us and forget to smile. It does not really mean we are uninvited. We will improve and be much more conscious to the matter. Thank you again for your kind information.

4. Price list attached in room
The only reason we attach all needed detail in guest rooms because we don't want them to know it later. We simply want to give guests the fullest details so they know it immediately what it is or what they should do with stuff for their own convenience. The message delivered just to give an "information" With our honest and dignity, we inform guests only the truth. We hope your kind perception in this count.

5. Sun Lounger is not enough
We have only 27 villas so sun loungers are actually provided enough to serve for all guests. We also have three more of spared sun loungers. During Peak and High season. it is possible that they are not enough. We are so sorry about that but please be sure that we can fix it in the fastest manner and find more of them for you. Please just to inform us because we sometimes fails to unaware of our guests' needs.

6 Cocktail is weak
We already took your observation in the matter of cocktail to discuss in F&B team. We thank you for your indication and will fix it immediately.

We promise to take a serious step in improving in the areas you remark to us. We hope you will see such improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visits.

Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Phu Petra Resort is 4 star where is to be discovered lying just ahead of panoramic mountain view on Aonang Beach in Krabi. The resort designed in contemporary style combining the idea of modern décor and tropical southern lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.