We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay, very relaxing, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi to your Saves list
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save upto 40-50%FREE WIFI
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great stay, very relaxing, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Phu Petra resort for 5 nights in August. From the initial welcome with drink and chilled towels, to our day of departure, we received excellent service. The resort is small and very peaceful, however this in no way detracts from it. We initially had a poolside villa, which was very spacious with a very large bathroom, comfortable bed and free wifi. Due to a minor problem with the bathroom door being hard to open, we were upgraded for the remainder of our stay. The upgraded villa included a lounge area and was extremely comfortable.
The staff were always polite and chatty, and keen to help in any way possible. We ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions, and both times had a nice meal in a fantastic setting overlooking the pool area with a backdrop of the cliffs. We took part in the cookery course offered by the hotel and both enjoyed the experience, we have since cooked the meals again for friends to great acclaim. The resort is about 1.5km from the beach but a free shuttle service is laid on throughout the day to about 9pm at night. Despite being monsoon season, we had glorious weather throughout our stay,
This resort was the best accommodation of the 3 hotels we stayed in. We will definitely be returning to the Phu Petra resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

It's so pleasure to hear that you had a super best experience staying with us. We are glad that we are outstanding of all. Our promise for not taking any halt but will go beyond and climb it up over of our guests' expectation.

Your returns are very much appreciated. We look forward to those dates.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    228
    59
    21
    9
See reviews for
116
388
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were booked into the hotel 100 yds next door (Cliff View Ao Nang) for 9 nights and left after just one. The Phu Petra was sublime luxury in comparison and staggeringly only £10 more per night.
We were shown the 2 rooms types that were available after rolling in with no reservation and settled on the cliff view away from the pool. The rooms were huge and modern and the bathroom was the nicest i have ever seen, a deep jacuzzi bath tub and seperate double shower with lots of space. The pool was small but the setting was lovely against the cliff and the sun loungers were comfy and not crowded on top of each other. Like most places though there were simply not enough and this left another couple arguing with other guests over ownership. Something which could have been avoided so easily by the hotel providing more beds. We stayed room only as we found a lovely, value for money german run restaraunt just over the road so cannot really comment on the food, but we did have snacks and drinks. The food was fine and the cocktails lovely, but quite pricey.
The staff were very friendly and the young man who seemed to work around the clock was always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble.
We spent 90% of our time laid by the pool as Ao Nang was tacky, dirty and uninspiring. The beach had no amenities and the sea was unclean due to the hundreds of longtail boats leaving oily slicks. The water was not clear and after we left the beach i was aware of our costumes smelling quite rancid (something which i had never experienced before).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

We are all so much appreciated of having a nice chance to serve you and we feel really good now to know that how much you love our property along with our setting, pool and staff's hospitality. Yes, many of our customers fall in love with our bathroom!

For sun lounger. As we are the luxurious small boutique resort. We have only 25 villas just now. So the size of swimming pool appropriately relate to the numbers of villas. So do Sun lounger that permanenly fit in. However, We have more spared sunloungers. It was possible for our staff's ignorance so they did not realise that some of their guests could not occupy it. If they observe that, they will definitely ask you to wait for just a moment to bring a spare one and place it for you. I apologize for such unawareness. I already informed them to be much more around and observe our guests' needs.

Last but not least, we thank you for placing your trust on us and we will keep doing the best of everything to deliver superb quality of our services to all of our lovely guests.

We look forward to your coming back this soonest!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms are very nicely decorated, everything is clean and and bathroom is the nicest we had during our travel. Huge, modern and very luxurious. Even though we stayed in several very nice hotels in Thailand, this room was the best concerning the design (not the ac, see below). The location of the resort is very nice, in the middle of the nature, very calm, however, it is good to have a car or a motorbike to reach the beach and the town (if you do not want to use the shuttle services of the hotel). We had rented a car, and going into town is fast.The woman at the reception who seems to be the boss is very nice!

The drawbacks: The air-condition did not have a sleep-modus although it was quite new. That meant that it was loud, and blowing directly onto the bed. So we had to switch it off at night, and it was not so easy to sleep because it was really hot. The food at the restaurant was mediocre, the Pad Thai was the worst I had in Thailand. The staff in the restaurant spoke very bad english.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We do feel very thankful for many positive comments you fell in love with our property and our staff's friendliness. We promise to keep it in good shape and even make it a "one step beyond"

For your observation about the air-conditioner that you mentioned of its "a bit loudness", I already informed our technician to take care of it. It has been solved now. You can advise our GSA all the time while you stay with us. We love to fix it for you while you be with us for the rest of your pleasant stays.

Your another remark on Pad Thai, please accept my apology for such bad taste you experienced. As I tried to find out who made it for you, I discovered that our new cook who just start working for couple days did that. This can not be an excuse, yet, we promise to be very careful about recruiting the new team member in kitchen to prevent the same event happen again to another guests.

Last for bad spoken staff at the restaurant, we deeply sorry about bad English communication of our staff in that outlet. As the situation of labour lacking in Krabi, we recruited candidate to fulfill without having time to consider much for the best one. Anyway, only few of them who just came. Many staff are great enough to serve our guests with their proficiency in speaking English. As mentioned above, we will be more careful of picking the fit one and will put all our effort to make our newcomers the best qualified ones too.

Our thank you for choosing us and we appreciate your many returns!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The property has a very interesting setting. We stayed for 3 nights in the monsoon season so you have the cliffs with an overhang of clouds giving you the feel of a mountain property but 1.5 Kms drive and you're on the AoNang beach. This is an especially nice experience when you're in the swimming pool with a light drizzle. The property by itself is probably 3 star. Very simple reception, reasonably big rooms but nothing spectacular, the hotel grounds quite small yet it has a nice feel to it. The setting is what will impress you the most.

This however was the only hotel in our 15 day trip to Thailand where we faced problems with the room rates. We booked everything through Asiawebdirect.com and I had confirmation for my party for 3 nights at a certain rate, breakfast included. When we were checking in, I was told I have to pay extra for the children and that the breakfast was not included on the third day as the rate I had was "buy 2 get 1 free". While this may have been the case, I explained them that this was an internal problem between the hotel and Asiawebdirect.com. My reservation DID NOT mention no breakfast on the third day or that I would have to pay extra for my 9 and 6 year old. Moreover the hotel informed me that even the 2 days that we did have the breakfast, we would have to pay for the children. I travel all over the world and this is the first time a 6 year old was denied a toast and glass of milk unless I paid THB 175 for her breakfast. In Europe we have had experiences wherein people thrown in free desserts for the children. Thailand is usually not like this but I could not convince them that my confirmation clearly stated "AMOUNT X to be paid, all inclusive". The receptionist was very courteous and smiling but her English was very poor and she had no authority so she would talk to her manager and then say "no you have to pay the extra amount". In the end (after about an hour of wasting time with this), I paid for the 2 children to stay in our room (we had 2 rooms and they provided an extra bed in one room but none in the other yet they charged for both the children - why they charged though they didnt provide an extra bed, I have no idea!), didnt get breakfast the third day though my reservation confirmed 3 day stay with breakfast and children didnt get any breakfast any of the days as explained above. Amount involved is not much but Thailand is very tourist friendly and this was the only bad experience I had which means the management should take note that they need to change their attitude and conform to the much renowned "Thai Hospitality".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

We appreciate your positive review on our property. We are small but believe in our quality of 4-star service and Thai hospitality.

We acknowledged your case and very sorry made you felt upset in some areas. We are asking for your kind understanding that we definitely place importance in our honesty. sincerity and dignity in our business. In your situation, you "Buy 2 get 1 Free. We accept half of this is our unclear message delivered to you prior to your reservation. Plese give me a space here to clarify.

1. The room rate of "Buy 2 Nights get 1 More Free Night" is normally per 2 pax /room/inclusive breakfast. If our guests have their children, age 3 or above but not over 12, with them, additional charges will be applied for breakfast upon guests' arrival. (If age 12 or above, we call "Adult", other policy will be used) This is very normal and customary policy especially in Thailand. Obviously, it's our oversight as we thought that all of our guests note this. At this moment, that message already added up to make it evidently clear for both of our guests and the resort. However, in your case you did not want the breakfast for children. Furthermore, in an extra night, we normally not include breakfast. Without our clear notice made you understood in other ways. Please give us a space here to say sorry.

2. For additional fee for additional children, We must say sorry of not apparently stating this too. We are now waiving this policy as it is maby not generally applied in every hotels/resorts. We accept this is our ambiguity and beared to return the money to you half of the total charges. That amount already cut off from our accout since 14 August 2012. We are sorry for this inconvenience caused.

3. You reserved 2 rooms with us that you came as 4 adults and 2 children. You did mention that finally you paid for additional charges for children but one room got extra bed, another had no extra bed. I must explain here that additional charges is fees for additional children (as mentioned in no. 2) that has nothing to do with extra bed. It just has to do with our room "Type". One of your room is "Double Bed Room", Another room is "Triple Bed Room". Double bed room is one big bed (7 feet) and Triple bed room composed with 6 feet bed and 4 feet bed and yes we must say we upgrade one of your room to Triple bed room (in Triple bed room, we called an extra bed attached in room that we will not add rollaway bed anymore except guests will buy more for another extra person). We are a small 4-star resort with only 25 villas made it easily fulled. Simply say, We put another of your room to the roomtype that has extra bed attached in room since we are fulled during the period of your stayed.

Please do not feel terrible of our Thai hospitality. We just tried here to explain what you might misunderstand and felt that we exploit from you with not in our idea at all. I called, it is a "misunderstanding" and our "ambiguity" delivered to our guests that we deeply apologize and will of course be much more careful regarding to our messages and details evidently stated.

With our sincerity, please accept out deepest apology making your stays a bit with disturbance and troublesomeness.

Please give us another chance to serve you again in the future. We look forward to your coming back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This Resort provide us with a wonderful and enjoyable 3 nights honeymoon trip. The resort provide a peace and relaxing environment. During our check-in, personalise guide is provided by the resort's staff to our room with a short brief on the usage of the indication signal outside the room for "do not disturb" or "request to clean up the room". Once we enter the room, it Surprise us! on the decoration of the room with the lovely swan made of towels and the heart shape lay out with flower petals on the bed which really light up our honeymoon trip.

The location of the resorts is about 5-10 minutes via motorcycle ride or complimentary shuttle service which provided by the resort to/from the popular Aonang beach.

Motorcycle renting, massage service, swimming pool, F&B outlet, room service and variety of land tours is provided by the resort with the helpful and friendly assistance provided by the resort staffs at the front desk, my wife and I had booked a half day waterfall hot spring + elephant trekking tour with a reasonable price and we really enjoyed it.

Toward the end of our first stay in Aonang Phu Petra Resort, the most unforgettable are the excellent service provided by all the resort staffs. The relaxing and wonderful environment with the clean and spacious room in the resorts.

Aonang Phu Petra Resort will alway be our priority choice to stay in for our next trip back to Krabi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

Our cheerful note of your wonderful stay with us for the whole period of 3 nights. We are glad to know that our standardization met your expectation. All were neatly set and detailed focused include your special honeymoon bed decoration. We do it for you! I will pass your priase to all staff concerned. This fills up their spirit and keeps them devoted to fulfill all guests' needs.

We will continue do it best on our jobs. Our guests' happiness is thing we give a special attention.

We thank you for choosing us and look forward to your soonest returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked 7 days in een hillside villa early August via Hotels.com. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a poolside villa. The room and bathroom are very very spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. Decent sized pool.
As we were there in low season, breakfast was freshly prepared in the morning, one day when there were many guests we had a buffet. Both were good.
The hotel is a 5 minute ride from AoNang centre and the hotel offers an hourly transport service. Walking it takes about 25 minutes. We rented a motorcycle for more freedom and independency.
We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay another 3 days.
Great hotel, recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear our lovely guests:

Our pleasure to hear that our property and services initaion met your needs. Thank you for extending more nights at Aonang Phu Petra Resort and our appreciation for placing your trust on us.

We will maintain our hospitality standards while continue to listen to our customers' needs to always be "One Step Beyond" services.

Please come back in your next returns.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located away from the town, which is very good to have peace and rest.
The spacious rooms decorated with taste are pleasant for a long stay.
The staff is very kind and friendly, looking after you without bothering you to consume whatever tours or drinks, or snacks.
We were so lucky that we were gratified with a "special dinner" right beside the pool!
The complimentary shuttle to go to Ao Nang beach is very practical too.
We have really enjoyed our stay with the family and found at the Phu Petra what we were looking for to end our holidays in Thailand: peace and privacy!
Warning with Barracuda tours, not as good as the hotel, despite the recommendation!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vipada, General Manager at Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear our beloved guests:

We thank you for your nicest review and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the whole things, as you raised a location, rooms, staff, dinner, shuttle bus service and so on, at Aonang Phu Petra Resort to the end of your holidays. Yet, please accept our apology for choosing the wrong agent for you. Please note that we already informed them your complaints regarding their unpunctuality of picking you up on the way to the Island. They said they have lots of guests and of course this can not be an excuse. They finally took it for further improvement. Apart from their unpunctuality, we are please if you will let us know other areas of improvement regarding to their service unstandardization. We will definitely have a talk with them to push them to the state of correction.

Last but not least, we are happy to serve you and of course look forward to your next return. Please come back this soonest!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi

Address: 521 Soi 11 Moo 2 Tumbol Aonang | Ampur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Phu Petra Resort is 4 star where is to be discovered lying just ahead of panoramic mountain view on Aonang Beach in Krabi. The resort designed in contemporary style combining the idea of modern décor and tropical southern lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.